We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service is the Hallmark of the Palermitano” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palermitano Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Palermitano Hotel to your Saves list
Palermitano Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Uriarte 1648, Buenos Aires 1414, Argentina (Palermo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 436 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Paarl, South Africa
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Great Service is the Hallmark of the Palermitano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

The Palermitano is excellently located for tourists who wish to locate close to restaurants, bars, upmarket shops, etc. While at first sight, the area seems somewhat shabby and untidy, experience will vindicate it as a choice. We used the Palermitano as a base for our South America trip, checking in and out on no less than four occasions. We found the reception staff to be the most significant positive factor at this hotel. They were consistently helpful and always willing to help out, whatever the issue. We were allowed to leave surplus bags for safe keeping while away, which was something that helped with our shorter trips to other parts of Argentina. We had experience of the two suites, front and back. Both were excellent, although our preference was for the one at the back. Breakfast was excellent always, although the restaurant staff seemed somewhat disinterested at times.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    96
    25
    5
    5
See reviews for
29
163
17
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Really nice hotel in Palermo Soho, few minutes away from Placa armenia, one of the coolest spots of B.A in my oppinion. Good rooms, showers, bathrooms etc. Not very spacy, but big enough. Nice pool and sundeck on the top. Really good breakfast, one of the best I had in South America so far. good variation of bread, cheeses, hams, yoghurts etc.

Will for sure come back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

Wonderful hotel, clean, confortable, nice bathroom, beautiful breakfast, very kind attendant staff, a perfect location if you want to enjoy night life, shopping and excelent gastronomy in Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

4 night stay on holiday. Great location in palermo,nice and close to plaza serrano, reception staff very helpful, always willing to spend time advising in great English. Lovely selection for breakfast, but staff not quite as interested/friendly as rest of hotel staff. Small but nice wee pool area on top floor which you generally have to yourself. All in all, highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

Just go back from Bs. As. and had a terrible experience with Hotel Palermitano.

I booked and PAID my room on july 27th via expedia for 4 nights on november (11th-15th).
After a long flight from Sao Paulo, (1 hour delay, another 1 hour at the airport exchanging money) i arrived at the hotel around 1:00 am.
What was my surprise when i tried to check in and the guy at the door told me he had no available rooms. He couldn't quite tell me why just that he had no more rooms.
After calling someone, he told me they had made arrangements for me to stay at a different hotel in another area.

I was completely shocked with that. How can someone sell the room twice ?? and now, at almost 2am i had to go somewhere i did not want to go, and stay in a hotel i did not choose

I started looking for other hotel at the reception, but couldn't find anything nearby. I asked the reception guy to call the manager, but he told me he was sick. That the best thing for me to do, was to go to this other hotel, spend the night, come back in the morning and try to sort my situation.

I really didn't want to do that. I don't want trouble when i am travelling on vacation but i had no choice.

I arrived at the other hotel around 2:30 am, and here is a very funny part of it all. Me and my wife were both starving, and i asked the guy at the reception where i could get something to eat, and he told me "you know the area you were in, near palermitano hotel, that would be the best place to go..... around here, you wont find anything atm" GREAT !!!

Went to bed around 3:30 am, without eating anything. I was really mad at the situation, and really couldn't sleep that night. Woke up around 7am and called the hotel. I talked to Mathias, the reservation manager. He told me he was really sorry, that some errors were made and all that..... and that he would try his best to find a hotel that was suitable for me. BUT the city was packed.

He tried to compensate with a complementary dinner at the hotel Palermitano and taxis in BA, but the truth is that you do not want to go tru all that when you are on vacation. I probably lost money with the difference in the hotel prices, and more importantly, lost 1 day of my trip, which is something that you can't get it back.

When you make a reservation, and pay for it, you expect to have it when you arrivel. Which is something that Palermitano hasn't quite yet understood.

I don't know how you all will that this review, but i would think twice before booking this hotel again....

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gerente at Palermitano Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Dear reader
First of all, the entire team of the Palermitano would like to express our sincere apologies for what happened. As the guest mentioned, we had to send the guest to another hotel because a water pipe broke inside the hotel, and many rooms were affected, therefore we had to send not only this guest but other guests as well to another hotels. We do understand that when someone selects and pays a reservation, the least a person expects is to have that room at the hotel, however, the breakage of the pipe really affected the hotel and didnt have any other choice but to send some guest to another hotel.
We would like to mention that part of this experience was omitted, like;
1. The Palermitano looked for many options of hotels that the guest asked for such as: Intercontinental, Hilton, Hotel Madero or Hotel Fierro in Palermo.
2. The Palermitano made reservations at the Fierro hotel, with an upgrade to a Suite, and the hotel paid the difference.
3. The hotel put a taxi at the guest disposal to move around Br. As.( the hotel also took care of that cost), for 4 days
4. The hotel also took care of the cost of the transfer to the airport.
5. As the guest mentioned, we also made reservation at the hotels restaurant for a diner at the hotel expense.
6. The hotel took care of the extras charges that the guest had at the Fierro Hotel.
And finally and most important the entire staff was at the guest disposal on his entire trip. Always calling to ensure he was ok all the time, as a matter fact, he had the celular phone of the managers.
Once again, the hotel is extremely sorry about what happened. We understand that sometimes the most important aspect of a trip is the selection of the hotel, and on this situation, the hotel couldn’t deliver that part of the agreements. but on the other hand, we think that the hotel didn’t leave the guest alone but instead ,the entire staff was on top of his request to make his staying more pleasant up to the last minute, when the Reception Manager took care transfer to the airport himself. ( the point above express what the hotel have done)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

This hotel exceeded my expectations. The hotel staff spoke excellent English and were super helpful. The location of the hotel was perfect for exploring the interesting shops and fun restaurants. The hotel was very clean and the wifi was the best I had in both Argentina and Chile. The breakfast was an awesome spread and never felt rushed. I will stay here again in a heartbeat! The rooms were a fair size considering the rest of Buenos Aires and the smaller sized room forced you to go exploring!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

I recently stayed on a Business trip at the Palermitano. Very good location if you like to be in Palermo. The rooms are nice. The ones facing the street have a reasonable size, but quite noisy. The indoor ones are a bit too small, very quite but you will have to keep the curtains at all times since they face an indoor patio and has a skylight that open to the restaurant.
The front desk staff are very pleasant and nice and they go the extra mile to help you on what you need.
The hotel has a very nice Peruvian restaurant, although a bit pricy for Buenos Aires. Breakfast is served at the same restaurant. Selection and quality is very good, restaurant service is very poor compared to the rest of the hotel staff. Would be great if they had a gym.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palermitano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palermitano Hotel

Address: Uriarte 1648, Buenos Aires 1414, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 436 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palermitano Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious boutique hotel designed by David Collins with a unique concept in design. Located in Palermo Soho, four blocks from Plaza Serrano and eigth block from the metro.The hotel features 16 stylish and unique guestrooms: 2 Suites, 6 Superior rooms and 8 Standard rooms. Private balcony in 4 rooms. Pool on the 4th floor, Free WI FI, LDC, minibar, safe, Air / Heating Conditioner, smoke detector, Carrara Marble and organic amenities in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Palermitano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palermitano Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.