We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful building in good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mundial

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mundial to your Saves list
Hotel Mundial
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de Mayo 1298, Buenos Aires 1085, Argentina (Montserrat)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #291 of 441 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Barcelona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful building in good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

The old building has been nicely renovated. Elevators might not always work. The rooms are modern and clean. Nice bed, working A/C and wifi. The check-in is quite late. The breakfast was a bit chaotic with plates and food missing all the time. The location is great with nice restaurants around. El Cortijo on Talcahuano street is close and highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    192
    137
    30
    41
See reviews for
126
142
43
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

We stayed at Mundial for the weekend. Our intention was to stay at a cheap hotel, near the city center, Calle Florida, Casa Rosada and Puerto Madero. In that sense, location is great. It is the city center, which means streets are filled with people and not very clean. The pro is that all the major attractions are easily reached by foot. By the way, walking is by far the best way to know the city. Rent a bike if you prefer, but don't miss the chance of walking around. It will be worth it.
The hotel is in an old building, with carpet everywhere. Room was ok, but a little too dark and old. Ok to sleep, but not the place if you are looking for some extra comfort. Bathroom was not more than ok, enough for a shower after a day out. Breakfast was average, but I have to admit there were several options of hot and cold drinks and a good selection of pastries. Free wireless internet, although the connection was not that good. You will probably need and adaptor for the socket: buy it at Florida - the hotel has a limited amount to lend and they will much likely be already taken.
To sum up, ok for a short trip when you only need a place to rest after a day out. If you are planning a romantic trip, on the other hand, I would recommend somewhere else, since the city has many options of not that expensive design/boutique hotels.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

It is right on the Av. de Mayo, which makes you very close to subway lines and also just in the heart of the city. The service was great and the breakfasts were good each morning. We were on the top floor, but still could hear a lot of noise from the street at night. We brought ear plugs, but never ended up using them. We were so tired from walking all over town each day that we just crashed at night. There is a TV in the room, but it's extremely small. The warm water in the shower took a while to kick in, but once it did it was really warm! The whole room is small, but for just the two of us it was fine. We'd definitely stay there again, just because it's a great location.

Room Tip: get as far away from the street as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Overall, hotel was of a good standard, the plus sides to the hotel were very central location, excellent breakfast (considering lots of review say hotel breakfasts in Argentina are meager) and hotel staff who could speak reasonable English.
The downside of the hotel was the room. We were given a room which we suspect had been used just before we got the keys – the toilet wasn't flushed, there was condensation in the bathroom and the bin hadn't been emptied. There was also visible damp patches on the bedroom wall and bathroom walls too. The damp was what tempted me to complain about the room but we left it as it was as we were only there for a couple of nights. We left the balcony doors open during the day so as to air the room when we were out.
BA is a noisy city so the fact that it was noisy is common in BA – no double glazing in the rooms but we had a nice little balcony overlooking the side street so God knows how noisy it would have been had we been facing the main road!
Overall I would stay there again, the only thing is that i'd ask for a rooom NOT on the top floor – I suspect the condensation problems were because our room was right at the top, so in the attic so as to speak.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
199 hotel reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
516 helpful votes 516 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

The Mundial Hotel building has been repaired and modernized, but has not been historically restored, if the distinction matters. A nice, practical functional job was done. All rooms face the street, and (it seemed) all have balconies. Balcony with room 702 was on the corner, large and with nice views. Street noise, though, was barely tolerable. If you can take the noise, leave the door to the balcony open to get some fresh air as otherwise the room is small and carpeted and a little musty. AC and overhead fan was good. Television channels limited, no news in english. Internet good, just be sure to bring your adaptor. Note that bed in single room is really tiny. Breakfast served in airy, big room is continental. Location on main avenue good if you are a first-time visitor to B.A. as the smaller side streets can seem off-putting. There is a huge selection of hotels in this neighborhood in this price range; I cannot believe that the Mundial is the best, but any criticism is quibbling if you choose to stay there because you like 2-star hostelry, or you're on the cheap.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

single room is small and look like old
clean hotel
great breakfast
close to subway

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

My partner and I got a deal on lastminute.com. We are backpacking, so finding a room for $35 a night in buenos aires was amazing for us. We arrived at 8 am off an early flight, and even though check in wasn't until 2, the guy on reception let us check in. The room was perfect for us - tv, fridge, air con, and the breakfast was great.
Couldn't complain.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mundial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mundial

Address: Avenida de Mayo 1298, Buenos Aires 1085, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Montserrat , El Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #291 of 441 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mundial 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Mundial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mundial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.