We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pics, bad experience!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Los Patios de Montserrat

Save Saved
You added Los Patios de Montserrat to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Los Patios de Montserrat
Piedras 83 | (& Avenida de Mayo), Buenos Aires C1088AAF, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 243 Buenos Aires B&B and Inns
Cochabamba, Bolivia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice pics, bad experience!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

It was our third time to B.A., and as we like to get to know new places, our decision where to stay in B.A. was driven by a research of the reviews and pictures we found on tripadviser - but this time they guided us wrong! We reserved the Queen Suite(!!) with private bathroom in "Los Patios de M..." via bedandbraekfast.com paying almost 100U$ for the night in advance, and found ourselves 15min waiting on the street(!) at their door downstairs till they made an effort to find our reservation, while being treated like cheaters! I mean there are not so many rooms to get confused with the reservations...?! ...and why they did not ask us in first, and discussed the issue in their office, than do it through the speaker at the door... Bad bad image for us of the hotel and staff before even seeing our room.
The hotel itself is on the second floor and consists of nice but run down historic architecture. Spacious rooms but little - or no decoration and furnishing. The little decoration is horrible without any taste and harmony, disorderly and dirty. It seemed that they were moving and just let the beds in the rooms! Just one outside window in the upper part of the door in our room let in little fresh air from the patio, but many mosquito too, what made it a hot and steamy night with dozens of mosquito bites... - hey that was worse than the jungle lodge in Puerto Iguazu!! No frigobar in the room or drinks to buy at the front desk! No hot water! And do not expect an Argentinian breakfast - its only coffee with toast! We can not recommend this place to anybody as the price is much to high for what you get!! We would except it as a backpacker hostel (we were not searching for) paying the half of the price, but not as a hotel paying for the so called "Queen Suite"! Would never stay there again!

Room Tip: Do not let drive you by the few pics of the hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    16
    9
    8
    4
See reviews for
6
18
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

A fantastic locating for exploring Buenos Aires, and the most lovely hosts. Breakfast was very good as well. All for an excellent price!

The reason for the average mark? The water from the shower literally spread across the entire bathroom, and when I commended on this I was told - "yes, it happens". Bit annoyed as I'd taken my clothes in to get changed in to. Also, the shutters in the room didn't work properly so light streamed in in the morning.

As I said, if these two things were fixed I'd certainly stay again, and give a higher rating. The room was massive, the bed comfortable, hosts friendly and helpful, great price, perfect location - just let down by 2 things (that are important to me).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

In typical fashion, adding an element of surprise, our accommodations in Buenos Aires were booked "sight unseen". The marble entryway looked like a fancy apartment building so we hesitated briefly before ringing the buzzer labeled "reception", afraid it was someone's private home. I had barely removed my finger when the smiling inn keeper appeared in the doorway welcoming us to Los Patios de Montserrat. Graham, originally from New York, and his Argentine artist wife Brenda have owned and operated the stately 19th century home as a bed and breakfast since they purchased the building in 2009.

We took the elevator up two floors, and were enveloped by a beautiful natural light, which entered the space through skylights and an open courtyard. A nice, refreshing breeze came from the ballroom, where the original solid wood, floor-to-ceiling double doors were wide open, letting the warm, dry summer air of Buenos Aires seep in. Eight sets of simple wooden chairs and tables dressed in blue cloths hugged the wall by the open double-doors, the openings secured by rod-iron banisters. A small metal statue of a peeing dog kept a door from slamming shut. I was completely consumed, wishing the floor and walls could tell me all the stories and secrets they held.

Brought back to reality, we were shown to room number fourteen, which was furnished with a beautiful, simple bed flanked by wooden bedside tables. There was an antique dresser for our clothes, and the light fixtures all had energy efficient light bulbs (provided through an exchange program sponsored by the manufacturer). The toilet, separated from the rest of the room by a door, shared ceiling space with the adjacent, shared bath for "damas", an ingenious way to use space and add a private bathroom, which posed no problem to us at all as the "damas" had very little, if any traffic during our stay. The toilet door was framed by bricks; otherwise our room was made of stucco and ceramic tile. The shower head was modern and the water pressure fantastic - wonderful after the experience in Montevideo where a moderate rain shower would have been more effective than was the shower at the hostel.
http://evamossberg.blogspot.com/2011/03/dinner-tango-and-cigars-in-other-city.html

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I stayed at Los Patios at the beginning of my trip in November and again at their new location just before Christmas. I enjoyed their previous location but their new place is an upgrade. Its close to everything and the building is stunning.

I really felt like I was staying in the home of some aristocratic family from the last century. The rooms and bathrooms were big clean and Brenda and Graham really looked out for me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

i felt a little miss lead by there advertising of hotel

1 bar, but there was not
2 no drinks for sale
3 lounge food dose not exist
4 enjoy the internet in the comfort of your room, didnt work in my room

Room Tip: really large rooms but mine had a sky-lite in the ceiling so would wake up earlier than expected al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatiosMontserrat, Co-owner at Los Patios de Montserrat, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Los Patios de Montserrat is a Bed&Breakfast offering a great location, a warm, inviting stay and a very affordable price.
The internet is available in all rooms - any problems with connections we are always available to help.
We do have drinks for sale and a nice lounge to enjoy them. No where should it be advertised we provide food other than breakfast.
Unfortunately the guest was probably more interested in a standard hotel stay but its good to have an opportunity to clarify who we are. For those travelers searching for a classic Buenos Aires building and a warm friendly environment for your stay - you'd do well to reserve with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

It's located in a place where it's easier to get to most tourist places. The rooms are big and comfortable - not fancy but clean and fresh. The hotel is in an old refurbished mansion. The only down side for me is to use a shared bathroom - even though it was always clean. :) The owners are very pleasant and polite!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

My first days in Buenos Aires were spent at Los Patios de Monserrat. It was a good choice as I the staff were super helpful and the location excellent. I was off to a good start with their help. Rooms were comfortable and and roomy.

Room Tip: I chose a queen with shared bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Los Patios de Montserrat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Patios de Montserrat

Address: Piedras 83 | (& Avenida de Mayo), Buenos Aires C1088AAF, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 243 B&Bs / Inns in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a superior 19th Century building, Los Patios de Montserrat B&B invites you to enjoy a true bed & breakfast experience in our prestigious new home.Just steps away from Avenida de Mayo in the historical city center of Buenos Aires close to the districts of San Telmo, Retiro, Recoleta and more. Relax in classic style with large entryways, private balconies, high ceilings, detailed moldings, original hardwood floors and more at our always affordable rates.Free in-room Wi-Fi and breakfast served everyday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Los Patios de Montserrat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Patios De Montserrat Hotel Buenos Aires

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Patios de Montserrat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.