We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ibis Buenos Aires Obelisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Ibis Buenos Aires Obelisco to your Saves list
Hotel Ibis Buenos Aires Obelisco
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Corrientes 1344 Esq. | Talcahuano y Uruguay, Buenos Aires, Argentina (San Nicolas)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #131 of 441 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence 2014
manchester
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Very good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

The Ibis (Obelisco) is in a great location on Avenida Corrientes. It is within easy walking distance of the metro and the major shopping areas.
Our room was very clean and reasonably spacious. It had only basic facilities but it is only a budget hotel after all. The room had air conditioning and was well insulated against any noise from traffic or other guests.
The breakfast was very good and there was free WiFi in the lobby and bar area.
I would recommend it if you are looking for a well-priced tourist hotel in the city centre and I would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    1,323
    443
    68
    31
See reviews for
613
1,122
162
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Egypt
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

I stayed here for 3 nights & there is nothing much to say about this hotel as it is a typical Ibis hotel with the same rooms & facilities. However, the main advantage of this hotel is its location, right at the center of the city in a nice & safe area. The hotel is in av. corrientes which is a busy st. with lots of restuarants & cafes, 2 min walk from the Obelisco & av. 9 July, 2 min walk from the metro station and close to av. 25 de Mayo & calle florida.
I would definetly recommend this hotel to anyone who is seeking good (known) quality & superb location.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

I stayed in this hotel in the first quarter of December 2009. The highlight of Ibis Obelisco is its location: great spot, close to the tube (Line B - "Uruguay" station), easy cabs, some good cafés, bookstores, theatres and a supermarket.

The hotel is almost brand-new! I'm not sure, but I think it was opened in the first semester of 2009.

Despite the huge movement of Corrientes Av. (1:00 am and there still are many people walking around!), there wasn't much noise inside the room. It was exactly what you can expect from a good Ibis: everything was clean, the toilet and bathroom working well, air-conditioning operating normally, clean sheets and towels. The staff was OK. For the breakfast I suggest trying the Havana Café, about 3-minutes walking, by the other side of Corrientes Av..

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2010

This place was an incredible value. We say a coupon for it on one of our flights on Aerolineas Argentinas and so we used it and ended up paying like $30 a night for a good quality hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2010

I stayed 7 nights at this hotel (12/24/09 to 12/31/09) with my husband and my 2 kids (1 year and 8 years old). The room is small, specially because I had 1 extra bed and 1 crib in the same room. It´s very clean, great location (1 block from the Uruguay subway station). They have parking lot (fee: 40 ARS/day). Good breakfast. Great Staff. Great value (269 ARS/day). I reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2009

Stayed at Ibis hotel obelisco, at Corrientes St. where you'll find theaters,many restaurants, will be close to subte Uruguay( red line) which you can go to all major atractions. Florida Street,Abasto Shopping and even to Puerto Madero. The last stop you walk just one block.
The staff was friendly, the rooms are the same as other ibis hotels, very good shower(not bath).Plasma tv, wi fi etc... windows with Double glass so, no noisy.
Nice and big lobby, two computers and wi fi in the lobby. Key room to use the lift very modern.
The staff were helpful and if you compare to the Congress Ibis, it's a veryyyyyy big difference of behaviour too. Staff was much more professional than there. (i stayed at the ibis congress in 2007 so i don't know if they had a trainee program for those ones working there.At Obelisco one was very good no complains, just the cab they called charged me more 3 pesos than was on the machine when i arrived at the buquebus. Still don't understand why.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aguas de Lindoia, SP
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

This hotel is very well located in Buenos Aires downtown.
The rooms are small and basic and the bathrooms are ok.
The braekfast is very good for it´s 18 pesos( 3 euros).
I recommend this hotel for persons who don´t care about a basic stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Ibis Buenos Aires Obelisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibis Buenos Aires Obelisco

Address: Av Corrientes 1344 Esq. | Talcahuano y Uruguay, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 441 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ibis Buenos Aires Obelisco 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Ibis Buenos Aires Obelisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ibis Buenos Aires Obelisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.