We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fervor

Fervor
Posadas 1519 y Callao, Buenos Aires, Argentina (El Centro)
4804-4944
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 2,321 restaurants in Buenos Aires
Cuisines: Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: El Centro
A Remote Island
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Feeling hesitant about the hotel managers reccomendation, we ventured out to this neighborhood feeding hole and found oursleves consumed by the service, the fooda and the atmosphere beyond our wildest expectations.

Wed wanted a lighter fare and a comfortable environment. When we heard it was a steak joint we gasped at the idea of yet more beef of oversized cuts. The balance of the menu was fantastic. One page of meat, one of fish. Not just thes tandard fish cuts but nearly 12 types fresh grilled for selection. Even the mixed grilled platter was a knock out. Prawns, squid, octopus, three types of fish filets. We were two and the waiter advised us that the half grill was sufficient size for us with a salad.... He wasnt wrong. It could well have served a third person.

The drinks were heavy but solid and balanced properly. Didnt try the wines but most drinks were roughly $6 USD (eg : vodka tonics and negronis).

Dessert... Not a frequent habit of ours but we went the distance..... Crepes with dulce de leite..... Yes... It sounds good, but tastes even bettert han you can imagine!!! Warm, sweet, again to share. One on your own is certain guilt.

The waiters were considerably friendly and jovial. Openly suggesting and guiding us based on what we hinted towards. He never failed. We never regretted.

One down side is the reservations process. As they take walk-ins, expect the seating process to be delayed. Wed arrived for our 10:30pm seating but didnt sit until nearly 11pm as the wait (?? Unheard of when you book anywhere else) was backed up due to this pratice. Kudos for getting everyone seated but had we been seated five mins later... This would certainly have been a different review.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    400
    243
    56
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brit in Cheshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Meal was excellent - selection of tripes and offal to start with, the sweetbread and black pudding were both fabulous. I was told to try skirt steak (asanas I think). Really flavorsome and more than I could manage. DO NOT miss the ice creams - all made on the premises - dulce de leche in particular. Wine list excellent (Argentine Cab for me) and service excellent and friendly. Really special meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, TX
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“fun place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We ate here twice while in BA. It's very fun, laid back, the food is great and the service was even better ! It's in a great part of town and we walked from our hotel. It's amazing how reasonable food is in BA compared to nice places in Texas. : ) Bonus.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“You won't be sorry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Our party of 4 visited Fervor on Oct 10th for Lunch. Locals obviously use Fervor as their choice for an extended Lunch. We were the only tourists in the House on this day and it was fully booked, both upstairs and Downstairs. Fortunately our wives had the good sense to insist we split their Ribeye Steak. Even then we couldn't finish it all. It was cooked perfectly, Med rare. We also enjoyed a great bottle of Malbec wine. The whole bill for two was less than 100.00, which also included a starter of fried Cheese. My visit here was a first it won't be my last

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We ate lamb, a ribeye, grilled vegetables, an empanada, and a "pancake" with dulce de lechwe. All were delicious. We split the dessert and thought they had brought us 2 by mistake. No, it's just a healthy serving. The official exchange rate is 5.8 pesos to the dollar. The restaurant gave us 9.8 pesos to the dollar. That made the meal much less expensive when we paid in dollars. Very good food at a good price.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fervor also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Fervor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fervor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.