We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly oasis in our new favourite city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Hotel Boutique

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Magnolia Hotel Boutique to your Saves list
Magnolia Hotel Boutique
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Julian Alvarez 1746 | Palermo, Buenos Aires 1414, Argentina (Palermo)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #10 of 441 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly oasis in our new favourite city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This was our first trip to Argentina and we booked 6 nights at the Magnolia as a starting point, however we felt so at home in this gorgeous, friendly, special little hotel we ended up staying for 2 weeks. We couldn't imagine moving on or finding anything that could possibly be nicer so we just kept extending our stay a few nights at a time and were very lucky that we could be accommodated by the wonderful staff each time. It really felt like we were staying in a private house and were always welcomed by a familiar friendly face every time we rang the bell whether it was 4pm or 4am ( we really embraced the night life in BA!) Magnolia's attention to detail was just perfect in every way and the staff couldn't have been more helpful or friendly.For a first trip to BA the hotel couldn't be better positioned close to the centre of Palermo Soho with all it's lovely bars and restaurants as well as easy walking distance to the underground and parks.
We fell in love with Buenos Aires and will definitely be back next autumn and can't imagine wanting to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaHotel, Owner at Magnolia Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you Gale for your nice words. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write such a lovely review.
We really did feel as though you were part of Magnolia too! We will be happy to have you again next spring (your autumn ;) )

All the best to you and the family

The Magnolia team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    41
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
44
201
23
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

As seasoned travelers we can be easily disappointed. Not so at the Magnolia Hotel. It is by far the best small hotel at which we have stayed. It is located in a quiet neighborhood yet within easy reach of all the big city amenities. It is tastefully decorated and has a pleasant ambiance. The best part of the decor is the assiduously attentive staff who are a fount of information about the city. They go the extra mile to make you feel comfortable. Don't expect the brush off here. We enjoyed a sumptuous breakfast on our schedule in the morning and an afternoon glass of wine before going out for the evening. We felt totally relaxed. The Magnolia gets our highest recommendation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaHotel, Owner at Magnolia Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Jill & Emmet
We would be nothing if it wasn't for our wonderful guests such as yourselves! Thank you for taking the time to write such good things about us.
We hope you arrived home safely and that the cold weather treats you well.
Warmest regards :)

Magnolia's Team

PS: We hope your grand daughter enjoys her new denim vest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We have stayed at the Magnolia 3 times now in the past 4 years. We always go in October.
This year, we went to Europe instead of Buenos Aires, and we came across some very nice hotels and incredibly charming boutique hotels, but the Magnolia always sets the standard and the bar, at the very top whenever we are traveling. We always appreciate them, but we appreciate them much more after we travel to other places! We wish there was a Magnolia in every country that we visit!
We will be in Buenos Aires again next year, and there is no place that we would ever stay other than the Magnolia.
Its not only that we have gotten to know them and the entire staff over the years, but its because of how beautiful the place is and how it is kept up. The attention to detail is always there and it only gets better each time we are there, if it can get any better. Its always perfect.
Year after year when we write about them on TA, or tell people about them, we always say that their personnel is over the top, The Best. They are truly the nicest and the best. Its always sad when we have to leave them. It does really feel like our home away from home. Maria really has The Best people working there. Thank you Maria and Magnolia, we miss you, and we will definitely see you next year in October!!! Bill and Sheryl

Room Tip: We have only stayed in one room every time we go there, but we have seen some of the other rooms and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaHotel, Owner at Magnolia Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Sheryl and Bill
Thank you very much for your nice words! It´s a pleasure for us to know our guests appreciate our home and enjoy staying with us!
Hoping to see you next October! :)
Al the best
Magnolia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The Magnolia hotel was a perfect base for our 12 day trip from the US to Argentina in October 2013 to visit our daughter who is currently living in Palermo Soho. We stayed three different times during our trip (as we visited Bariloche and Iguazu as well) and always felt welcomed and at home. We have traveled a lot and don't give excellent reviews such as this lightly. Every amenity in the hotel is spotless and comfortable (beds, rooms, bathrooms, common spaces, charming outdoor terraces, especially on the roof, breakfast eating area, internet access). There are several aspects of this hotel that set it above others in Buenos Aires and the Palermo area, although there are really too many to list. Here are a few: the incredibly helpful, welcoming and professional staff; the breakfasts (delicious and simple); the architecture of the building and common spaces (interesting, historical yet upscale without being ostentatious, light, airy and well maintained); the rooms and beds (very comfortable, very well appointed); the bathrooms (modern, clean, excellent water pressure and availability of hot water, well appointed); the location (walking distance to restaurants, shops and sightseeing locations in Palermo Soho, Palermo Hollywood, and Recoleta, but on a relatively quiet street in an often otherwise noisy and busy city); reasonably priced. The hotel owner and staff care deeply about providing a hospitable stay for all their guests, so much so that they gave us an upgrade and let our daughter stay over with us on our last night in Argentina. It doesn't get much better than this.

Room Tip: Recommend a room facing away from the street. These rooms have lovely views and/or walk out to nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaHotel, Propietario at Magnolia Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Hi Sarah!

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such nice things about us. We really appreciate it!
It always gives us a fuzzy warm feeling to read our guest’s feedback about their stay, this is no exception. We are very happy that we met you and your family and that you have chosen us above many other options to stay in Palermo.
Please do tell Lisa that if she ever needs anything she is more than welcome to come by or call us anytime.
Kindest regards to you and Greg.

Magnolia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I spent 5 nights at Magnolia on a mainly work/ part holiday trip. Fantastic hotel, in a beautiful old house in a great spot in the city. Staff were incredibly helpful and home cooked breakfasts a delight. Ten minute walk to the subway, 5 minutes to good cafes and restaurants. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaHotel, Propietario at Magnolia Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Hi Craig,

Thank you so much for writing! It does mean a lot to us.
We are very happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay here.
We wish you the best with settling in. ;)
Please do send our regards to Patrick.

The Magnolia Team

P S: Many thanks for the lovely picture you took, too 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed 9 nights at Magnolia and as a base for our BA experience it could not be faulted. The intimacy of the hotel it's staff and owner made for a very relaxed and trouble free stay. A lovely spacious room, comfortable bed, great inclusive breakfast every morning, a glass of wine and toasted sandwich when we came in late, all the help we needed with restaurants and transport bookings. A great team, warm, welcoming and attentive. Would love to return"

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaHotel, Owner at Magnolia Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Hi James!

Thank you for all the compliments. You all were a great team to have staying with us! Very fun and easy going. We really enjoyed having you all.
We are all enjoying our souvenirs too. Natalia said she would try cooking the recipe on the cloth, lets see what comes out of that! And I think Exequiel finished the honey before you were out of the front door. LOL
Too bad you almost lost that rugby match against us in La Plata..... :P

Kindest regards to you all!!

We do hope we get to see you again.

The Magnolia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed just one night at Inn at Magnolia hotel and were very happy. The staff were excellent and very helpful offering great advice. The rooms were very spacious, clean with a lovely fresh retro decor.
We loved the location, so close to the action on Palermo soho.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnolia Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Boutique

Address: Julian Alvarez 1746 | Palermo, Buenos Aires 1414, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#14 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#68 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magnolia Hotel Boutique 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnolia Hotel Boutique represents a long house tradition of the city. It was built in 1892 and remodeled in order to preserve its essence and architecture, combining antique furniture with contemporary design. We want every guest to feel at home, in a peaceful and relaxing atmosphere, enjoying design and quality service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel Buenos Aires

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia Hotel Boutique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.