We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful stay at Magnolia Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Hotel Boutique

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Magnolia Hotel Boutique to your Saves list
Magnolia Hotel Boutique
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Julian Alvarez 1746 | Palermo, Buenos Aires 1414, Argentina (Palermo)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% CASH DISCOUNT!
Ranked #10 of 437 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Orinda
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“wonderful stay at Magnolia Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at the Magnolia Hotel Oct. 31st throught Nov 3rd and again November 7th-8th 2012 while visiting our daughter who is studying in Buenos Aires.
The service was excellent. Every person who worked at the hotel was attentive to every detail and extremely helpful. The people who worked at the front desk spoke english well and would arrange restaurant reservations and advice on places to visit in the city. It was very comforting knowing that we could rely on their help.
The rooms were large, quiet, clean, comfortable, and nicely decorated. We stayed in 2 different rooms and loved them both but particularly the rooms in the back off the main road were quieter.
The breakfast was very good (pastries, fresh juice, coffee, tea, fresh yogurt, fresh fruit) and you can purchase additional food (eggs for example) if you want a heartier meal.
The location was in Palermo and within 2 blocks you were in a great shopping and eating area.
Also on either corner of the street the inn was located on (Julian Alvarez) there is a great cafe and ice cream parlor. One block up there is a bank and ATM.
If in Buenos Aires again I would not hesitate to stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: rooms in back off the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    38
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
42
191
21
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at the Magnolia Hotel for 11 nights in October, this was our second visit (our first visit was in Oct. 2011). We highly recommend the Magnolia hotel!! It really is a beautifully well maintained hotel, great location on a quiet tree lined neighborhood, just a few blocks from the heart of Palermo. We have been to Buenos Aires four times and we have stayed at some very nice boutique hotels as well as 5 star hotels. But the Magnolia Hotel really stands out as our favorite place to stay. What sets the Magnolia apart from the rest is the amazing staff, they are all so helpful and so friendly. Everyone there is so INCREDIBLY NICE and make you feel as if you are family and that the hotel really is your home. The personal touch is incredible and they truly care about every detail of your stay.

They have an excellent breakfast (fresh fruit, homemade medialunas and crousants, homemade yogurt, cheese or meat plate, homemade jams and dolce de leche, great coffee/lattes, fresh squeezed orange juice and they will make any eggs you want including omelette of your choice).

After our first visit last year, we loved the Magnolia hotel so much, we cancelled the hotel we were planning on staying at the end of our trip and booked the Magnolia another 5 nights. We always ask for the same top floor room because the room is so beautiful, stylish, warm and cozy, the bed is so comfortable and it has a private patio. We also love the rooftop terrace located on our floor. We have seen the other rooms, and they all look very nice, and we would recommend any of their rooms.

When we left, we were so sad to say goodbye to Maria and her team and leave the Magnolia Hotel (it felt like our home away from home). It is very easy to see why they have been number one in Trip Advisor.

Maria, Florencia, Miguel, Nati, Carolina, Facundo, Juana, Viviana, and Julieta, thank you for making our stays there so amazing and memorable!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We have spent a week in this exquisite, friendly, well-situated hotel. We were first struck by the refinement and very Argentinian decoration, we then got to know the staff who proved, at every turn, to be amazingly dedicated, friendly and efficient. The location is perfect, in the trendy, residential area of Palermo. We felt "at home away from home", surrounded by the kindness and support of the staff, savouring a delicous breakfast in the lovely court yeard or having tea on the beautiful roof top terrace. We found our place to stay in Buenos Aires - forever.

Room Tip: some rooms have their own little court yard...you may want to ask for that
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Natales, Chile
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Our host Maria was delightfully welcoming, making us feel right at home. The staff Natalia, Francisco, Carolina and Miguel were unfailingly helpful, assisting us with maps, directions, recommendations. There were many excellent restaurants close by. The rooms were beautiful and very clean - the terrace rooms on the ground floor especially good. The beds were very comfortable - I haven't slept so well in ages.
This is a little gem of a boutique hotel. If I return to BA I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ground floor terrace rooms were especially nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I was traveling to Buenos Aires for two weeks, with a two day interruption to visit Iguazu Falls. Initially, I was scheduled to stay at the Magnolia for the first several days and then to stay in a different hotel for the final days in BA. However, after staying at the Magnolia for a couple of days, I realized that the Magnolia was the perfect place to stay for the duration of my trip. The staff was extremely helpful, polite, friendly and attentive to every detail. The room was spacious and very clean, nicely designed and offered a large terrace. The location couldn't have been better, being a three block walk to the Palermo Viejo section with all of the great shops and restaurants. When I return to BA, I will definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: I would select the first floor rooms with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My wife and I had been travelling for a month around South America and I wanted to surprise her with a stay in a proper hotel for our final two nights before returning to Canada. The team at Magnolia not only accommodated my last minute request, but went completely out of their way to make our whole stay special with very personalized service. The rooms are comfortable, quiet, charming and clean, the hotel itself is very well located next to the heart of Palmero but I think more than anything, the staff truly care and will do what it takes to make your stay special.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

A true charm of a hotel. In the (!) district to stay in when you are visiting Buenos Aires, Palermo. At convenient walking distance of the Palermo quarter. The hotel itself is impeccable, a very-well maintained former-century mansion with all of the last century's charm combined with modern luxe in bathroom and amenities. A spotless room, comfortable bed, great breakfast and lots of privacy combined! Wifi troughout the hotel and in your room for free. A laptop you may use if you need to get on-line seriously. And as a great surplus: a roof terrace with great daybeds! Upon arrival you are greeted by very welcoming and respectful staffmembers, in the best of English we heard in all of our trip in Buenos Aires. A complimentary glass of wine is offered.
If you look for true comfort, privacy, wifi, accomodating staff in the best district to stay in in Buenos Aires, look no further!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnolia Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Boutique

Address: Julian Alvarez 1746 | Palermo, Buenos Aires 1414, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#14 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#74 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magnolia Hotel Boutique 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnolia Hotel Boutique represents a long house tradition of the city. It was built in 1892 and remodeled in order to preserve its essence and architecture, combining antique furniture with contemporary design. We want every guest to feel at home, in a peaceful and relaxing atmosphere, enjoying design and quality service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel Buenos Aires

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia Hotel Boutique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.