We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel & Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Pena 2049, Buenos Aires C1126ABA, Argentina (Recoleta)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 441 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Santa Barbara, CA
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
150 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
263 helpful votes 263 helpful votes
“Best Hotel & Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

I booked this hotel based on the reviews on trip advisor and we were not disappointed. The hotel made arrangement for a driver to pick us up at the domestic airport and after we got our luggage there was our driver holding up a sign with our names on. It only cost 50 peso ($13). Our room was the deluxe double room with the hot tub and street view. The room was very spacious, clean and light with the big window over looking the street below. The hotel is on a residential street but a couple streets over are restaurants, bars, stores, museum, and other sites. It is an easy walk to the Recoleta cemetery. We also walked to Palermo Viejo (which took about 30 mins.) or it is 16 peso ($4) by taxi. The hotel staff was incredible and very helpful with making sure everything was to our satisfaction. The hotel recommended some wonderful restaurants, La Flora & Sottovoce within walking distance of the hotel. We also ate at Mirasol, which we did not like. The hotel made the arrangement for our return to the international airport. The taxi was on time and it was the exact amount of money the hotel said it would be. The only down side is what everyone else says about the hotel, the breakfast is pretty lame. Luckily because Buenos Aires doesn't eat dinner till about 11:00pm we were not hungry in the morning, so we were fine with missing the breakfast. We truly enjoyed Buenos Aires and when we come back we will stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    166
    21
    9
    5
See reviews for
133
256
24
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

Great service, very quiet, good location, and one of the best breakfasts we had in Argentina!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

New, bright, clean, fresh. Great rooms. Quiet. Perfect location. WiFi not up to speed though. Everything else Marvellous.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

I booked this hotel for a group of us coming from a research vessel after 7 weeks in the Antarctic. I dealt with the booking over the e-mail and all of the dealings I had were excellent and very professional. Adriano on the front desk in the afternoon/evening went beyond what would have been expected, I have been lucky to stay in some very good hotels around the world and the staff were amongst the best I have come across.
Adriano recommended some excellent restaurants and one evening we could not find it and he escorted us form the hotel to the restaurant.

The hotel is new, only opened last May and is clean and extremely well located in the Recoleta area, which is safe and central with great shopping on the doorstep. Breakfast is good and fresh and all the services were in good order. There is no external space at the hotel but for a city hotel this is to not unexpected.

I would highly recommend this hotel especially for the price which is very reasonable, an all round excellent experience.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

We've stayed in Buenos Aires before. This was a great choice for accessing all that the city has to offer. It's easy (and safe, if you take the usual care needed in any large city) to walk to key places - or just get a cheap cab. Just remember to take the hotel card with you so drivers know exactly where to drop you - there are roads with similar names and HJ IS a boutique hotel. Rooms are quite spacious. The atmosphere is relaxed. Front desk staff are friendly, patient with those who can't speak Spanish and helpful with all sorts of eccentric queries about food, gauchos and football!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

My wife and I stayed in this hotel twice in the past 3 weeks, 5 days in total. We were on our first visit to BA and, particularly after touring the primary tourist areas of the city (SOHO, San Telmo, Retiro, Puerto Madero and so forth), every day we congratulated ourselves for having chosen to stay in Recoleta and, in particular, at this hotel.

The hotel's location is excellent, particularly if you don't mind strolling along leafy sidewalks through a primarily residential neighborhood of stately buildings. Walking to the Recoleta Cemetery and its adjacent artisans' marketplace was easy, interesting and pleasant. On our more hardy days we walked to Plaza del Congreso (and from there, all the way to the Rose Palace) and, on another day, to Calle Florida.

We found several wonderful restaurants nearby the hotel, such as La Olla de Felix and Cumaná. We found a couple of nice gaucho-style leather boutiques and two excellent wine shops (the best is "Armesto" on Pacheo de Melo) within a few blocks of the hotel.

The hotel's breakfast is the same every day, which quickly gets boring, but it is nevertheless decent in quality and variety. The fresh OJ is nice, but since the drip coffee was dismal we used our free welcome drink coupons for espresso drinks.

The rooms are large, modern and clean. Bath amenities are minimal, but the standard items are provided. The free wi-fi saved us a not insignificant amount of money, as we were able to use the wi-fi on our iPhone and Blackberry to send and receive emails, thereby avoiding roaming charges. The hotel does have a fitness center, but it is nothing more than a few low-end machines placed behind a blind.

Finally, service was friendly and efficient. No problems at all there. Check in and out were completed within minutes. The hotel's front office was great in rapidly replying to the several emails I sent regarding late and early arrival requests.

We hope to return to BA someday soon, and would certainly choose to stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

Fantastic find for those on a budget. Free wifi and computers at reception a real bonus. Good breakfast too.

Best bit - fantastic staff at reception - bent over backwards to help us and point us in the right direction.

Stayed February 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta

Address: Pena 2049, Buenos Aires C1126ABA, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#48 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#94 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Boutique Recoleta
Howard Johnson Buenos Aires

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.