We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Circus Hostel & Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Circus Hostel & Hotel to your Saves list
Circus Hostel & Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Chacabuco 1020 | San Telmo, Buenos Aires 1069, Argentina (San Telmo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 441 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Belo Horizonte, MG
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Friendly reception staff, great breakfast, reception is open all the time. Room very basic, I missed a fridge in the room. And didn't like the check-in (15h), check-out (10h) time. Internet WiFi was a little spotty. Despite this, is a nice place!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego V, Propietario at Circus Hostel & Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    286
    71
    17
    3
See reviews for
72
211
109
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Friendly reception staff, great breakfast, reception is open all the time if you have questions.

4 out of 5 just because the room wasn't really clean such as soap bits in the shower soap tray, some hair shavings around the taps on the sink and a peanut sized spot of blood on the duvet cover - none of which was picked up on with our daily visits from the cleaners but we weren't too bothered.

Our room was facing the road and was loud from time to time but nothing terrible. The air con worked well and the shower was great. The pool was nice, even though it's small it is deep and you can sit in it on the bench or cool your feet off - ideal after walking around the city all day. Supermarket really close by and the subway isn't far. The area itself is OK, not really dangerous just poor compared to other parts of BA.

The overall setup was great and there were always people dotted around enjoying the pool table, TV, baby football table and seating area. Loads of info on the wall of what's on and loads of leaflets of tours. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego V, Propietario at Circus Hostel & Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We had a very good time there! Room and bed were okay, nothing special, but just fine. Nice people working there, allways prepared to help you, give you directions and bustips. They were patient and friendly. We booked this hotel for our first nights and we wanted to book it for our last night but it was full :-( But would have loved to have slept there again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego V, Propietario at Circus Hostel & Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por elegirnos y lamentamos que no hayamos tenido lugar para mas noches.
Gracias nuevamente y esperamos verlos pronto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms very basic but sufficient and everything was very clean. Rooms are configured in a variety of ways from single, double, dormitory style, etc. Internet WiFi was a little spotty. For a budget friendly traveler, this would be a good place to check out.

Room Tip: Call in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego V, Propietario at Circus Hostel & Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We will wait for you on your next visit to Buenos Aires
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Araraquara
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Great location, near many milongas (which are great) and in the most charming neighbourhood of Buenos Aires, San Telmo. Also very close to the San Telmo antique's fair. If you are fond of walking you can get to Casa Rosada really quickly. Very close to metro lines as well. The rooms are very neat and are cleaned everyday. The bathrooms are little but it's not a big problem. The staff are friendly and always willing to help (they don't speak portuguese, though). Wi-fi is great and there is a computer for guests use. The breakfast is awesome and there is a very charming pizzeria in the corner of the block. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We spent 2 nights on the hostels, and everything was gret. Our room was very clean, the bed was very comfortable and the toilet har the right size (not the typical small size I've found in other hostels). The breakfast was very nice too, including fresh fruits, medias-lunas (argentinian croissants), brioches , bread, and of course, dulce de leche. Location is very good too, just 5 minutes walking from the Plaza San Telmo. If you are looking for a Hotel, you might spent a better place, but if you are looking for a Hostel, this is one of the bests I've found, with the best ratio quality/price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima Region, Peru
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We book here 5 nights. What a terrible decision.
The corridor was very loud, with tin walls and bad beds.
The bathroom was very small and not very clean from my point if view.No Tv to mitigate the noise.

If you want to rest and relax in BA, this is not your choice.
Did I mentioned that the wifi connection is terrible? Well, it is!!

We luckily found the best B&B in BA, in a great neighborhood, the greatest host and similar rates (funny, huh?) The place is: Le Petit Palais. Simply amazing!

Good luck.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Circus Hostel & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Circus Hostel & Hotel

Address: Chacabuco 1020 | San Telmo, Buenos Aires 1069, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Telmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Buenos Aires
#63 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#66 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#82 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Circus Hostel & Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located centrally in San Telmo – Buenos Aires, at Circus Hostel & Hotel we combine low prices with a chill atmosphere to create a hostel with the look and feel of a boutique hotel.Our rooms were created for you to be able to rest quietly. From every room you will have an incredible view of the beautiful San Telmo neighborhood.Our breakfast includes croissants, toast, jams, squeezed orange juice, coffee and tea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Circus Hostel & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Circus Hotel Buenos Aires
Circus Hostel And Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Circus Hostel & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.