We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View of Recoleta Cemetery” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ayres de Recoleta Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ayres de Recoleta Plaza to your Saves list
Ayres de Recoleta Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Guido 1980 | Recoleta Plaza, Buenos Aires 01114, Argentina (Recoleta)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 436 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“View of Recoleta Cemetery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed three nights and had a good experience. The room was a very nice size, with a small kitchen and very nice bathroom. We were on the 8th floor, with a view of the Recoleta Cemetery from our balcony. The TV worked well, with a good selection of channels that were in English with Spanish subtitles. We did not take breakfast in the hotel, so cannot comment on that. One small quibble in the $7 per day charge for WiFi. But there is free WiFi available at all the nearby coffee shops, so not that big a deal.

Room Tip: Stay on a high floor. Noise can be an issue from a nearby club that stays open until 7AM Sunday morn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    88
    23
    0
    3
See reviews for
59
92
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

On business I stayed in this apartment, centrally located at the Recoleta. The employees were kind and tried their best. The rooms are big and reasonably well kept, a little worn.
I do not know if other reviewing guests enjoyed the 10 dollar breakfast in the room. I did not. Poor selection, and this cannot be compared with a buffet breakfast. It is a drawback that they have no breakfast room.
My TV had no international channels like BBC, CNN or the like, and this would have been nice.
The Recoleta Shopping centre is across the road, is expensive, with a good selection and also some restaurants. I tried the laundry service. It worked well although regular service is two days and same day is 50% up. All in all ok for the price

Room Tip: none with a view, all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florianopolis, SC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

big room with a little kitchen, balcony, in front of historic recoleta, cafes, restaurants and bielos..
there is a market you can buy your basic necessities nearby the hotel..kindly reception people.
near Alvear avenue and other greats hotels and shoppings.

Room Tip: breakfast is poor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

This was our first stop in Argentina and was great. The front desk employees were very helpful, and there was always one employee present who spoke very good English. Breakfast in the room was a luxury, and the food was very nice. You couldn't ask for a better location in Recoleta. The room was large, clean, had a nice view and was a good value. The lobby has two free computers, and there is a small exercise room and pool.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Good hotel - outstanding location, large apartment (with a small kitchen), good breakfast in the room, but no room service, no restaurant in the hotel. Staff was nice but don't ask them to call you a taxi - they will call one of their friends and may take a long time (it is very easy to get a taxi on the street). The bed was small and not very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Ayres de Recoleta Plaza is by far the best hotel to stay at Buenos Ayres. Location is superb. The rooms are very spacious and very clean. In fact, all parts of the hotel are clean and modern. Free wi-fi avaible in all rooms. I stayed there last weekend. It was my 6th time in BA and my second at Ayres de Recoleta Plaza. It was even better than the first time. All the staff is absolutely wonderful and helpful, specially Mariano and Julio, who helped us during all our stay. If you sum LOCATION, ROOM SIZE, CLEANLINESS, STAFF ATTENTION and PRICE the result is unbeatable. The only thing to register is that the hotel has no space for breakfast, so the breakfast is served in the room. Although there are lots of people that like that, I prefer to go down street, at La Biela, and have a complete breakfast facing the Square and the entrance of Recoleta Cemitery. I have no doubt I´ll stay at Ayres de Recoleta Plaza, next time I visit BA!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We spent a night at this hotel before flying away for 4 days. Before departing we read in the lobby and talked a bit with the people at the desk for over an hour. They helped with storing our luggage which we accessed a few times, so we interacted a lot with them, particularly a nice young guy who worked with the luggage. We also talked a lot with Julio about transport options to the airport for our 2 parties, and about tango shows. We booked a room with Julio for our return in 4 nights. It was Easter, with light traffic, and we suggested we might be able to do better getting to the domestic airport with a regular taxi than with their fixed price arranged transport, to which he replied we would struggle to get a taxi that day. We had got 3 taxis that day with an average wait time of 12 seconds I would say. It's unpleasant when the staff don't value their credibility and are in effect serving someone else at your expense.

When we returned we were warmly greeted by the luggage worker but there was confusion about our booking - whose name it was under. Julio was at the desk and could not find the booking initially. We said we had booked it with him 4 days earlier, to which he replied that he did not recognize us. Either he is an idiot or was lying again. Talk about the opposite of feeling welcomed.

The next morning the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful.

The breakfasts are served in the rooms only and are mediocre. The rooms are a bit tired and old looking. The area is very nice.

We had very good service at times in this hotel, and also the worst service of a 3 week trip to Argentina and Uruguay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ayres de Recoleta Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres de Recoleta Plaza

Address: Guido 1980 | Recoleta Plaza, Buenos Aires 01114, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#88 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#93 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#113 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ayres de Recoleta Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ayres de Recoleta Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres De Recoleta Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayres de Recoleta Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.