We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hostel I have ever been” 5 of 5 stars
Review of America del Sur Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added America del Sur Hostel to your Saves list
America del Sur Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Chacabuco 718 | San Telmo, Buenos Aires, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Milan, Italy
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“One of the best hostel I have ever been”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The hostel is great, clean and in a very good position. In 5 minutes walking you can reach the underground station, the city centre, and an impressive amount of restaurants and shops (there is a market right in front of the hostel)
Shared rooms are nice and spacious enough, the common area is huge, with a wonderful outside area.
All the guys working there are friendly and can help you for every need.
So far, one one the best hostel I have ever been.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    128
    28
    5
    4
See reviews for
13
100
88
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed for a week in July and overall thought it was a good place to stay. However, there were definitely a few issues that would make us think about staying elsewhere if returning.

Positives:
Good facilities - good TV room, small but clean kitchen.

Great location - walkable to main attractions, city and great pub 'red door' across road.

Lots of activities organised there.

Mostly staff very friendly (bar one who was a bit rude).

Great BBQ on a Friday - good value and delish meat and salads

Negatives:
Private rooms felt a bit old and small with pillows so lumpy I didn't use! Also weird layout with sink in bedroom that splashes water everywhere.

Very noisy at night both from street and communal area due to atrium.

Any nights we went downstairs to mingle with other travelers we found no atmosphere and very difficult to strike up conversation. Prob not helped by cafeteria style layout and feel.

Overall good place to stay but lacking in social side of things and atmosphere - which was disappointing in such a fun city!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This hostel is a great find.

The rooms are comfortable (though there is an atrium and below the common area - so you may need earplugs) and have private bathrooms which were cleaned daily.

Breakfast is a real treat and the best I have come across while backpacking in Argentina. The multiple types of cereal together with toast was the main topic of conversation over breakfast.

It is a big hostel, but people still mingled.

The staff were mostly helpful (though there was a degree of arrogance/incompetence on the part of a couple of staff members, for the most part they were helpful).

The area is lovely but to be honest not the safest (particularly at night). I was travelling solo and often felt uncomfortable wandering through the enticing cobbled stone streets on my way back in the early evening. For that reason don't recommend it for solo female travellers. It is close to the metro though so, if you feel comfortable in the area, easily accessible.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

There's not much to say that hasn't already been said. This place is amazing. The whole hostel is very modern and has lots of good social areas. The sofas downstairs are amazingly comfy, when you watch TV it's like you're in your own home. The breakfast is definitely the best I've come across with a range of cereals, bread for toasting, cake, juices, yoghurt, tea, coffee and hot chocolate! Internet is really fast and wifi works in the rooms, though there are three computers downstairs. There is a good kitchen to use (though it could do with a few extra pans). The rooms are fantastic, we stayed in a four bed dorm. Each bed has a light and a plug by it. The rooms are all ensuite and the showers are proper power showers, very rare when travelling! The rooms are cleaned daily and the beds are made, hotel like service! The staff at reception are all very friendly and speak fluent English and Spanish and give good advice and recommendations. San Telmo neighbourhood is nice and other neighbourhoods are very easy to get to on the subway which is a few blocks away. Definitely stay here!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

This is a very friendly hostel in the heart of San Telmo ( a very bohemian neighborhood, not as glitzy as Palermo or Recoleta, but full with ni ce bars and restaurants) we had been here 3 years ago, loved it and decided to book the same place again. The staff continues to be super friendly and helpful, the hostel continues to have a great ambiance. I only won't give the 5 stars because 3 years ago everything was brand new and now, the signs of time are starting to show, specially in the room. Nothing that would tarnish a great experience, though... I would still totally reccommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

i stayed couple of nigths, the breakfast was good, very friendly and helpful staff, a lot of activities, specially the walking tours i will come back for sure, nice place to make friends, not for party, there is supermarket in front of the hostel where you can buy practically everything you need, and the buffet breakfast coffe unlimited so many reasons to say good hostel i like it

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I had a wonderful time staying at America del Sur Hostel. Excellent location and such a friendly atmosphere. This hostel has a great vibe. I enjoyed the breakfast, the clean rooms and they even make your beds and clean the bathrooms everyday! Great free walking tours, pub crawls and helpful English speaking staff. Good wifi too.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to America del Sur Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about America del Sur Hostel

Address: Chacabuco 718 | San Telmo, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 419 Specialty Lodging in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — America del Sur Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your America del Sur Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America Del Sur Hotel Buenos Aires

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage America del Sur Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.