We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel or Hostel?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of America del Sur Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added America del Sur Hostel to your Saves list
America del Sur Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Chacabuco 718 | San Telmo, Buenos Aires, Argentina (San Telmo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hotel or Hostel?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Let me say that this property puts most hotels to shame. The service was unbelievable and the cleanliness is unparalleled. However, with all of this high-touch management, the space is a bit white-washed and doesn't lend itself toward much guest interaction. If you are traveling alone, you may want to try another hostel, but if you need a nice respite, this is the place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    136
    32
    6
    4
See reviews for
13
110
104
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dover, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My stay here was really good and the staff were unbelievably helpful. I had emailed them before I arrived to let them know that I would be early but I needed to drop my bags off and head right out to meet someone. They told me that arriving early wouldn't be a problem at all. When i arrived they were expecting me and offered me a towel to have a shower and when i was done they locked my bags away ready for when i came back that evening to check in. The staff were amazing!!
When it was time to check in i was showed around by one of the girls from reception and she genuinely seemed really interested in my trip and what i was doing. She was so lovely.
The rooms were amazing and spacious. I had 3 other beds in my room and we had a private bathroom and a sink and mirror in the actual room which i thought was really cool.
The atmosphere was really good and there were loads of spaces to chill in. The breakfast was really lovely with loads of choices.
When i was leaving the staff at reception called me a taxi and helped me with where i needed to go. i couldn't have asked for more friendlier and helpful staff. This is one of the best hostels that i have stayed in.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My stay here was very pleasant! This place is very clean and has a great area to chill out! The hostel is a short walk to the subte Indepencia. Also a great little supermarket opposite for cheap supplies.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

We made to feel really welcome by Mariana and the other staff members. The hostel wad clean and tidy and rooms spacious. Located in an ideal area for easy walking access to the main streets in buenos aires and a host of nice restaurants. Breakfast is free and a real bonus. Thanks for making us feel welcome and helping with our enquiries! P.s the hostel BBQ on sat nights is still to the best one we've ever had!! Steve & Marion.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is a really friendly and clean hostel. The communal areas are nicer than the dorms (we stayed in a twin room), but the rooms are fine. Clean and air conditioned. The atmosphere is relaxed and the staff are really helpful. Wifi was good. Breakfast was good. The hostel is in a bit of a dodgy part of town, but every where is accessible and is two females travelling on our own, we didn't once feel unsafe. Couldn't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The Hostel "America del Sur" ist situated directly in the lively area of San Telmo, near to the city center of Buenos Aires! If you need an inexpensive place to stay there, it is one of the best opportunities.

We had a dorm with three beds, but the occupancy was kept down to three, so that we had a private room. The room was very clean and in good conditions. It was cleaned up every day. The private shower and the private toilet was modern and also very clean. Of course, the hostel offers no luxury, but especially for a backpacker tour, it is totally adequate.

The staff is very friendly and everybody at the front desk speaks English fluently. They tried to make everything possible, what we asked for.

The breakfast was good and it is very nice to get it together with all the international guests in the hotel restaurant or (even better) the atrium. Beside, the Hostel offers a lot of activities like Tango courses or free walking tours. WiFi is also for free.

In conclusion: If you need a good and cheap place to stay in Buenos Aires and you like an international and young atmosphere, book your stay in the "America del Sur". And if you go there, use the hostel's service to book you a taxi to pick you up at the airport. Those take a fixed price, so you do not have the risk, that the driver makes a detour to higher the price.

Room Tip: The best way is to reserve in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This hostel is located in San Telmo which is a great area to explore BA from. It's also close to an underground station which is a good cheap way to get around the city. The staff were helpful and the rooms were good, the breakfast was one of the best we came across in South America. There's a nice basement chill out area and garden. The dorms seem to look out over the garden which could be a little noisy. The free city tours given by Santiago were excellent and a great way to meet people in the hostel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to America del Sur Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about America del Sur Hostel

Address: Chacabuco 718 | San Telmo, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Telmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 445 Specialty Lodging in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — America del Sur Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your America del Sur Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America Del Sur Hotel Buenos Aires

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage America del Sur Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.