We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More a hotel than a hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of America del Sur Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added America del Sur Hostel to your Saves list
America del Sur Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Chacabuco 718 | San Telmo, Buenos Aires, Argentina (San Telmo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“More a hotel than a hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Really good location in San Telmo, and a 10/15 minute walk into the city centre, I loved the America del Sur - and statyed here a full week in total. Started off in a twin private room, which had all the amenities you could want - including a tv! Then moved into a 4 bed dorm which was very spacious and again, had everything you could want. The staff couldn't have been more helpful during our stay helping us with all our coach bookings as we moved on and helping us with how to get to other places within BA - they really added to our positive experience of this great city. The outdoor area is also great for some relaxing in the evening, and the all you can BBQ is amazing!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    136
    32
    6
    4
See reviews for
13
110
104
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I went on a business trip to Buenos Aires in August 2012, and found the América del Sur to be an excellent place to stay both for leisure and business purposes. The place is highly recommendable for low- and mid-budget travellers. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful, they organize lots of activities and try to help you out to the best of their abilities with whichever problem you might have. The rooms are of good quality, especially considering the fact that it´s a hostel, with tv´s and private bathrooms for those who don´t mind spending a little bit more. What distinguishes them most from other places in the same category is the lobby: it´s spaceous, well-lit and a good place to meet other travellers and work. The general atmosphere is friendly and relaxed.

A few minor things to take into account: drainage system for both showers and toilets is a little faulty sometimes, which can cause minor inconvenience, and the wireless internet in the rooms is not very quick and has the tendency to drop. The staff however, is quick to solve any problems.

Room Tip: If your room is on the first or second floor, you´ll have better wifi connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights in a double. No complaints with room, really comfy bed, clean, security box and hot & powerful shower, always a plus! Location is good in san Telmo, close enough to walk to the microcentro, subway close, lots of buses if you can figure them out! The double was a bit pricier than some other hostels in the area but it was good quality, and was well sound proofed from internal noise at least. Bit noisy from the street but not too bad.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I've stayed at the Buenos Aires hostel twice and had 2 very different experiences. The first time we were headed there from the El Calafate hostel. The Calafate hostel made the reservation for us, confirmed our stay for several nights in BA. When we arrived in BA, they only had us reserved for 1 night and were all booked for continuing nights. They had private rooms available, but wouldn't let is stay at the dorm rate, even though it was their staff that made the error. The woman who owns the hostel is abrupt and someone inappropriate. This time we found the hostel to be exactly what we were looking for, but their organization and error ruined our stay. If you reserve here, reserve ahead of time and take your confirmation in print so that there's no confusion. This was during high season and it was also quite noisy at night because our window opened to the back where people stay up late drinking outside- not a problem if you're one of them ;)

The second stay was great. We got the dorm beds at a very low price because of a www.hostelbookers.com promotion... 30 euro cents/night. Needless to say at that price, with breakfast included, they were paying us to stay there!

The dorms are great...there are only 2 bunk beds (4 people per dorm). The shower, toilet and sink are all in separate rooms so people can be getting things done at the same time. There are large lockers for your stuff and each bed has its own reading lamp. It was low season this time and we had no noise issues. The breakfast is carb-heavy, but totally acceptable (cereal, toast, juice, yogurt, coffee, etc.)...they've got a decent kitchen, supermarket right across the street. Some of the front desk staff are friendlier than others, but overall helpful. Our taxi drivers seemed to be informed of a different price to/from the airport than the hostel had confirmed so it's good to have them talk to the front desk upon arrival so they don't argue and try to overcharge.

The basement has great couches, 3 computer with free internet, and extra bathrooms. There's free Wi-Fi throughout the hostel. I had a peek into the private rooms and they seemed nice too. Maybe a little hit or miss, but if it all goes smoothly, it's a really nice hostel in BA.

Room Tip: the street facing rooms have street noise and the back facing rooms have the smoke, chatter of the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Region Metropolitana, Chile
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

The hostel might be a bit to clean looking for some guests, but it's a very good place. Especially the staff is FANTASTIC: very helpful and friendly in a genuine way. I traveled alone for some days in Buenos Aires and I felt really welcome there, in contrast to some other places I stayed at. The Wifi-connection is very good, the kitchen you can use is well equipped and the breakfast is very good to Argentinian norms.
TOP!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I stayed at both El Calafate and Buenos Aires hostels and as accommodation (cleanliness, safety, location) they were both very good. Both have decent Wifi too. Breakfast was better at Buenos Aires. The Buenos Aires branch however disappointed me in the front desk staff's lack of knowledge about tourist attractions in Buenos Aires. They also had an attitude which was unfortunate. We only spent one night here and we were quite squeezed in terms of trying to do a lot in a short amount of time, and we were hoping to get the hostel's advice on picking the best things to do and they were not helpful at all. We resented the attitude we got for asking them questions which is very unprofessional to start with considering their work is to serve tourists. The person my friend spoke to didn't even know when Casa Rosa opened to the public.... one of the KEY attractions in BA is open to the public only on Sundays. How do you not know that ? I also had mix-ups with getting a taxi to the airport via the hostel which left a bitter taste overall, though the guy at the reception did his best I think in this case.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed in private en-suite rooms at the hostels in both BA and El Calafate and could not praise them more. The hostels themselves are both very nice, with good rooms and good locations but it is the staff that make this small chain fall into the "excellent" category.

From the moment you arrive they make you feel incredibly welcome, which is followed by excellent advice on things to do and see and the staff then book all these activities for you - from day trips to see the glacier to tango classes in BA, bus trips, taxis, restaurant bookings, etc.

A must if you are in El Calafate or Buenos Aires!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to America del Sur Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about America del Sur Hostel

Address: Chacabuco 718 | San Telmo, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Telmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 445 Specialty Lodging in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — America del Sur Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your America del Sur Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America Del Sur Hotel Buenos Aires

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage America del Sur Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.