We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food but extremely expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sipan

Sipan
Paraguay 624 (esq . Florida), Buenos Aires C1067AAD, Argentina (El Centro)
(+54 11) 4315 0763
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #450 of 2,329 restaurants in Buenos Aires
Price range: $27 - $34
Cuisines: Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: El Centro
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food but extremely expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Went to the Sipan located downtown, not the Palermo location. The location, in an office building lobby, is a little odd, but the food and drinks were amazing. They definitely are concerned about presentation and the quality of the food they use. It was a bit shocking when we got the bill though. For 2 pisco sours, a small ceviche, and an entree to share our total was 350 pesos before tip. I'd go back, but only for a special occasion.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    68
    59
    11
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good But a Bit Pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

I ate at this restaurant in mid-April during a visit to Buenos Aires. I ordered the Lomo Soltado, which is pretty much a staple of Peruvian restaurants. It was good at Sipan but it should have been for the price (about $30). While food seemed pretty pricey overall in Buenos Aires, I think this was a bit much for what you got a Sipan. Still, the service was good and overall it was a pleasant meal. We sat inside the restaurant. I'm not sure I would have liked the tables that were outside in the mall area. The restaurant was located right off Calle Florida and opened at 8 pm for dinner.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakopee, Minnesota
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“WOW!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Went to the Sipan in Palermo and it was fantastic. The portions were HUGE, plenty for 2 or 3 to share. The service was very attentive and is BsAs that is not an easy task. We had read the reviews and are sad we waited so long to try Sipan. We had nothing but a great experience and really enjoyed the food. We had mixto ceviche which I loved and a dish with flounder, clamari, octopus and rice and that was excellent. Highly recommended place to eat, it's expensive but worth it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Top Contributor
290 reviews 290 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Peru in BA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

the restaurant ok, the service not good enough, the food excelent , even they dont have Aji de Gallina, because the imports in Argentina are closed, so there are a lot of basic products they need and they dont have , the cooks are the best.
the service is poor, because they dont tell you before eating the credit cards machines are not working...so it s problem
all the best for the cooks!!! very good food

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos aires
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Place - Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We loved the ambiance. Beautiful little patio, candles and blankets to keep you warm!
Great service. A little pricey but great food.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sipan also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Sipan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sipan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.