We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BE CAREFUL WHEN LEAVING YOUR BELONGINGS IN THE BEDROOM” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Florida Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Plaza Florida Street to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Plaza Florida Street
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Florida 944 | At Alvear, Microcenter, Buenos Aires C1005AAU, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #138 of 436 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Natal, RN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“BE CAREFUL WHEN LEAVING YOUR BELONGINGS IN THE BEDROOM”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The hotel is average, the service is terrible. My camera was stolen inside the hotel bedroom and the hotel management didn't do anything about it. I had to go to the police station to file a report and I'm going to sue the hotel. It is appalling! How can a hotel of such level not have security cameras on the corridors or the Hall?! A trip that could be great, in a beautiful city, was ruined because the place that should be the safest place for me and my family let me down. My Canon camera was stolen inside the bedroom of The Howard Johnson Plaza Florida. I would never imagine such a thing when I went to Buenos Aires and booked this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastilloBork, Gerente at Howard Johnson Plaza Florida Street, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
In reference to your comment, what you write is not true.
As you know, this problem did not happen in the hotel. We´ve done an internal research in the period of time you lost your camera. We found through the audit of the lock that nobody entered in the room except your family.
This is what we informed you at the hotel the same day you told us this situation at the front desk. We also requested you to check the room together and you refused.

We are very sorry that this inconvenience happened in your journey, but the hotel has nothing to do with it.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    143
    48
    10
    8
See reviews for
114
70
6
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

The hotel is average, nothing special and a bit dated when it comes to the common areas and services. There is no real restaurant or bar on premise to speak of and the breakfast is nothing special.

The rooms seem to have been renovated and the beds were good, free internet was a plus

It would have helped if I had hot water but thankfully I had a connected room to my good friend so I was able to shower in his room.

There is a lot happening on Florida Street - good restaurants and good shopping but there are several better hotels nearby that I woudl recommend if they are available

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

I had a good stay in this hotel. It is right on Calle Florida with shops at your footsteps, so very close to the Subte line at Plaza San Martin and lots of places to eat. A bit of a walk to the tourist attractions in Recoleta, but a very nice walk through a leafy neighborhood with boutique shops. Staff were very helpful for all my needs. Room was clean and excellent, apart from a broken latch on the window which meant it didn't close quite so securely, and that the hairdryer died during my stay. Would definately reccommend this hotel to others. I got a good rate through the international HJ site.

Room Tip: Higher up fot a better view, and book through international website for a good rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

The hotel is very well located, right next to Plaza San Martin. Calle Florida is the place for shopping and food, and there are stores and restaurants around the hotel.

The breakfast is great, on the hotel lobby, which has a glass ceiling, so it's well illuminated and makes it a very pleasant place. Birds even get in to take some food and some of them are getting a little fat...

The hotel was under renovations when I was there, but I wouldn't have noticed if there wasn't a note in my room. There was no noise at all. The room was big and comfortable.

My only complaint is the entrance: it's in a gallery, with a Havanna store in front and then the elevators. The lobby is on the first floor, so anyone can reach the elevator on the ground floor from the street.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastilloBork, Gerente at Howard Johnson Plaza Florida Street, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Yura_Yuu, many thanks for your comments. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012 via mobile

Service, room standard, localisation all quite satisfactory. We had a top floor room facing east with splendid view and a balcony, however the glass door to the balcony did not close correctly. That, and the rather disappointing breakfast, are the only negative things we can think of.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Free internet, 2 computers by the Reception area, limited to 20 minutes per person per day. In order to get the 'at' symbol when using the keyboard there, you will have to input 'alt64' for the symbol to appear when you log in to your emails.
There are about 11 floors, lifts provided.Mini-bar fridge provided, if you eat or drink anything from the fridge, then you will be charged for it when you check out. There is not a standard kettle in the room, only a coffee machine, which you will be charged extra for using. Check out time is 12.
Great breakfast between 7-10:30am, a various choice buffet including cakes, bread, cereals, egg and bacon, fruit, fruit juices, milkshake, yoghurt.

Not much of a view through the window.

I would advise you NOT to take up the service of the bell boy for carrying your cases on the gold trolley, as the cases will not get to your room for about 1 hour after you check in, so if you need things from your case quite urgent, then you will not be able to get them, unless you carry your own cases.

In the hotel room, there is a telephone, TV, Wardrobe and security box, a desk and chair.

The lights are operated with the swipe card you use to access the room.

The hotel is situated on Florida Street, which has a lot of shops and market stalls and is opposite McDonald's restaurant.

Please be aware of pick pockets, do not display any expensive jewellery when walking the streets, as the street is known for this, they operate in gangs of girls and also men on motorbikes, they might try to distract you, for example, if you are taking a photo, they might push in, so that you are distracted, then target you when you are 'off guard'.

Don't expect sympathy from the Receptionist, if anything goes wrong,they will not help you.

There is a leather coat shop and a shop selling Tango shows on the ground floor and also a shop selling Argentinean stone ornaments and a coffee shop on the 1st floor. There is an escalator, but it will be propably remain unfixed.

If you have a room on the 7th floor, the noise of the lifts will disturb your sleep.

Do not expect clean towels and toiletries every day.

Overall, this was a very nice hotel and in the centre of Buenos Aires, close to shops.

Room Tip: The higher the room, the more noise you hear from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
883 reviews 883 reviews
156 hotel reviews
Reviews in 188 cities Reviews in 188 cities
1,581 helpful votes 1,581 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Very well located in the quiet section of the emblematic Calle Florida, the hotel is a good cost benefit option. The accommodations are not luxurious but comfortable and met all our needs. Breakfast fairly good.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Florida Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Florida Street

Address: Calle Florida 944 | At Alvear, Microcenter, Buenos Aires C1005AAU, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#96 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#111 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Florida Street 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Florida Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Florida Street Hotel Buenos Aires

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Plaza Florida Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.