We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy hotel in centre of Buenos Aires-beware of pickpockets!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Florida Street

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Plaza Florida Street to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Howard Johnson Plaza Florida Street
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Florida 944 | At Alvear, Microcenter, Buenos Aires C1005AAU, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #157 of 439 hotels in Buenos Aires
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Comfy hotel in centre of Buenos Aires-beware of pickpockets!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Free internet, 2 computers by the Reception area, limited to 20 minutes per person per day. In order to get the 'at' symbol when using the keyboard there, you will have to input 'alt64' for the symbol to appear when you log in to your emails.
There are about 11 floors, lifts provided.Mini-bar fridge provided, if you eat or drink anything from the fridge, then you will be charged for it when you check out. There is not a standard kettle in the room, only a coffee machine, which you will be charged extra for using. Check out time is 12.
Great breakfast between 7-10:30am, a various choice buffet including cakes, bread, cereals, egg and bacon, fruit, fruit juices, milkshake, yoghurt.

Not much of a view through the window.

I would advise you NOT to take up the service of the bell boy for carrying your cases on the gold trolley, as the cases will not get to your room for about 1 hour after you check in, so if you need things from your case quite urgent, then you will not be able to get them, unless you carry your own cases.

In the hotel room, there is a telephone, TV, Wardrobe and security box, a desk and chair.

The lights are operated with the swipe card you use to access the room.

The hotel is situated on Florida Street, which has a lot of shops and market stalls and is opposite McDonald's restaurant.

Please be aware of pick pockets, do not display any expensive jewellery when walking the streets, as the street is known for this, they operate in gangs of girls and also men on motorbikes, they might try to distract you, for example, if you are taking a photo, they might push in, so that you are distracted, then target you when you are 'off guard'.

Don't expect sympathy from the Receptionist, if anything goes wrong,they will not help you.

There is a leather coat shop and a shop selling Tango shows on the ground floor and also a shop selling Argentinean stone ornaments and a coffee shop on the 1st floor. There is an escalator, but it will be propably remain unfixed.

If you have a room on the 7th floor, the noise of the lifts will disturb your sleep.

Do not expect clean towels and toiletries every day.

Overall, this was a very nice hotel and in the centre of Buenos Aires, close to shops.

Room Tip: The higher the room, the more noise you hear from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    113
    41
    8
    7
See reviews for
87
53
5
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
744 reviews 744 reviews
144 hotel reviews
Reviews in 177 cities Reviews in 177 cities
1,512 helpful votes 1,512 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Very well located in the quiet section of the emblematic Calle Florida, the hotel is a good cost benefit option. The accommodations are not luxurious but comfortable and met all our needs. Breakfast fairly good.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

I spent a full week here in a business assignment. Having been to Buenos Aires dozens of times, and having been disappointed by run-down, small-room and badly managed outfits, I feel entitled to say this is one of the best options in town. Excellent location, spacious and well furnished rooms, very good breakfast and a reasonable price. The room facing Florida street is amazingly quiet! Will definitely be back with my family on holiday.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011 via mobile

The travel agent who recommended HJ on Florida did so as a result of her recent stay. Coincidently, I called a friend from Argentina but who now lives in our city, Knoxville, Tennessee U.S. When asked if he had any lodging reconditions, he immediately and unequivocally said the Howard Johnson on Florida is a great hotel especially since it's been renovated and that it's a great value. He said the location can't be beat. I research hotels adnauseum and feel confident we've made a great choice. The 32" flat panel televisions and from what I'm told a quality breafast buffet and free wi-fi from guestrooms isn't offered in most hotels regardless of star rating. Take the recent couple of posts with a grain of salt. Some people have a selfish agenda. If I'm wrong about this place, you better believe I'll write it up. I'm confident with our choice. Stayed tuned...

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

I am a travel agent. I sent my passengers to this hotel thinking that it would be extremely well attended, due to a Howard Johnson. First, I had no porter, elevator took too long, the apartment door did not close right and had a crack in the window.
Attendance of extreme ill will at the reception. Never again!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

I can only agree with some of the other rieviewers here, this place is a dump and run like mixture of a Stalin Gulag and Fawlty Towers. Previous reviewers have mentioned a rude female receptionist and it seems we too had the pleasure to be checked in by her. Greeted with indifference, a sleezy smile, dirty fingernails and large white spots on her hotel uniform, we can only hope were from her breakfast cereal. I assume her name was Manuela!
The hotel came with the lot: old rooms, work noises day and night (seeing from previous reviews the refurb seems to have been going on for about 2yrs! and they still are only about one third through), most rooms with connecting doors (listening to the people next door all night and enabling us to hear lonely business men consorting with working ladies), hardly any security (since the security cards are just for the rooms and the lift swipe is not turned on anyone of the street can access any floor), mediocre breakfast (sparrows in the breakfast room and mould on the bread), generally unlcean.
I spare you the episodes we had when requesting new rooms, due to noise, it was so laughable we were close to crying. We were happy to leave the place and say goodbye to Manuela, who was wearing the same greasy, dirty uniform as 5 days earlier
And this place is not even cheap!!!
One could say the locaiton is good but considering BA is full of hotels and Florida is a long street there are virtually dozens of better options than this hole.
If you still think you need to "treat" yourself to an adventurous stay at the Howard Johnosn despite this review, we strongly advise to book the aiport shuttle yourself and not leave it to the incompetente and arrogant staff, unless you want to miss your flight like we did!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

We had stayed at this hotel 3 years ago and had enjoyed your stay. This time we were extremely disappointed. Indeed it was the worst hotel experience we had ever had. The positives are that the location is good, next to Plaza San Martin and the metro station, the room and beds are a good size and the refurbished rooms are perfectly nice. We were, however, given a room next to the service lift which operated throughout the night during our stay (it is supposed to stop at Midnight but this was not the case, perhaps due to the refurbishment work) and we were unable to sleep. These rooms are the number 7 rooms, presumably on each floor. There was supposed to be internet available in the room and I requested a cable. I was brought 2 cables, one broken, but the internet connection was blocked off in the wall. It looked as though it had never been available. I called Reception and was curtly informed I had to insert the cable into the wall connection! Finally I ascertained that the room had indeed no connection and the Receptionist (undoubtedly the female mentioned in a previous review as she was unbelievably surly) tried to tell me that it only stopped working the previous day, even though there was clearly no connection. There is wi-fi in the lobby and it would have been helpful if the Receptionist had volunteered the code. Wi-fi is now supposed to work in the rooms but the signal only worked in the corridor. Regarding the breakfast, it is acceptable but there were no staff available for assistance or clearing away so all the dirty dishes etc are left piled on the tables and the floor is left dirty when anything is spilled.
We had the misfortune of having booked a second spell at the hotel and we explained that we had been unable to sleep and did not wish to return. We were assured that we would be given the best, quietest room for our next stay a few weeks later. We agreed to return to find we had been given a room where indeed the lifts could not be heard. Unfortunately we could hear every word of the telephone conversations and everything else in the room next door. This was a small problem compared to the ensuing ones. We returned to the hotel after dinner to find there was no electricity (as a line had been cut outside) and the staff were unable to work the generator. We were told we could not get into the room. The reception was full of guests trying to sleep on the chairs so we did not question the veracity of this. Finally after about an hour, we checked again and were told there was no problem getting into the rooms. Other guests had been given the same misinformation. When we got back to the room we discovered that workers outside were erecting a scaffold and there was lots of banging and other noise. We tried to sleep but then the hotel alarm kept going off and we had to leave the room and go back to Reception. Apparently starting the generator had caused smoke. Finally after 2 hours we could go back to the room but the workers were still outside. As we couldn’t possibly sleep, we asked for another room but were told that it was not the hotel’s problem as it was government work. Finally after 2.5 hours and asking to see the Manager they gave us another room. Given we had to get up early for a long haul flight, we were exhausted. My partner complained to the Manager the following morning and asked for a reduction in the rate for the previous night. The Manager consulted with the female receptionist and said he would give us a 50% reduction (in Spanish), but, after yet another snarl from the receptionist, he told us (in English) that he would give us a 25% reduction! Once I explained he had offered 50%, he immediately agreed and gave us 50% off the last night’s bill. Quite frankly we couldn’t believe the experience.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Florida Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Florida Street

Address: Calle Florida 944 | At Alvear, Microcenter, Buenos Aires C1005AAU, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Florida Street 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Florida Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Florida Street Hotel Buenos Aires

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Plaza Florida Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.