We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homecooked goodness- a quirky gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hermann

Hermann
Av. Santa Fe 3902, Buenos Aires, Argentina (Palermo)
4832-1929
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,266 of 2,323 restaurants in Buenos Aires
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: German
Neighborhood: Palermo
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Palermo
Darwin, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Homecooked goodness- a quirky gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My boyfriend really wanted to eat German food in BA and this was the closest to where we were staying. Nearly walked straight past it as it is fairly unassuming from the outside. It also wasn't open yet although we got there at 8pm. We went for a short walk to fill time until it opened and it was worth the wait.
The interior was very old school as were the older gentleman waiters, all decked out in white with bow ties. Very very quaint!
I can understand why this place has received mixed reviews but it was just what we were looking for after having been travelling for over 4 weeks.
My bf had german sausages and mash, I had a schnitzel and we ordered steamed vegies on the side. The meals came out looking quite plain but very substantial. The vegies were more boiled than steamed and didnt look that great but everything was delicious!! The schnitzel tasted just the way my mum makes them and we really felt like we were having a wholesome home cooked dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

59% Recommend
    6
    11
    5
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rio de janeiro
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“To be old does not mean to be good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

My husband and I felt like eating german food and we tried to find a nice restaurant in Buenos Aires for that purpose. Through a local guide, we read about Hermann and decided to go there for lunch. Bad mistake. They said that no reservations were needed and, upon our arrival, at around 1.30 pm, the restaurant was empty. Two sleepy waiters did not pay attention to us, so we sat at any table. The decor is, indeed, very old. The restaurant opened in 1902 and it still looks as no changes have been made since then.. My husband asked for a salad with cucombers as a start and the waiter said that they would have to charge extra for the cucombers. "No problem", he said. And the salad arrived, quite "tired", I must say. He then asked for a Supreme Maryland (which was on the menu) and it came hard to bite, very bad and dry..
I asked for sausages with chucrut and my luck was not better.. So, we asked for the bill, paid it, and went some place else to eat our lunch .It is very difficult to find a real bad restaurant in Buenos Aires, but Hermann is the one, have no doubt. And, last but not least, the waiter could not care less about the fact that we didn't eat anything.
A real mess.
Avoid it like Dracula avoids garlic.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“An old time German Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I go here just for the atmosphere! This is a step back in time. Tables and booths of dark wood and leather....this could also describe the white coated waiter. The food is average and the prices are reasonable. Normal Argentinian fare with a splattering of german food like smoked pork chops and sauerkraut. Lunch for two with wine @$25.00.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A definite GEM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stumbled across this restaurant after our walk in Palermo and what a find!

The exterior architecture doesn't stand out as it is typical and blends in with the neighbourhood. But the interior of the restaurant felt like we were back in the 19th century ---in a good way!

The service was fantastic and the waiters were all dressed in formal attire. However, don't let this fool you as we were dressed in shorts & a short-sleeve golf shirts and did not feel out of place! Again, the experience is enhanced as we were amongst the locals!

The food is absolutely delish! We both had the Milanese Neopolitan (?) ---basically a veal cutlet with mozzarella and tomato sauce! Milanese (veal cutlets) seems to be a staple in many restaurants we visited in Buenos Aires and this didn't disappoint! The meat is tender and so flavourful!

Two Big Thumps up and definitely recommended!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“A Palermo classic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

This place has been around for a long time the decor with wood panneling give it a central European feel. The menu has porteño fare like milanesas and the revuelto gramajo which is like a scrambled eggs with ham and fries in it. The also have german sausages and pork chops . After you finish lunch you can have a walk at the botanical gardens across the street.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hermann also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Hermann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hermann, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.