We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch out for the exchange rate!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rayuela Hostel

Save Saved
You added Rayuela Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rayuela Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Av. Belgrano 887, | San Telmo, Buenos Aires, Argentina (El Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Watch out for the exchange rate!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Not a bad place to stay, friendly staff on arrival, clean rooms with DVD player, bathroom didn't always wor but good hot shower when functional. Half decent breakfast too.

When checking out however we discovered if you pay by peso you are charged an exchange rate tha will see you lose out by 10-15 percent on the official rate - more so on the black market rate. When I questioned this, any sign of friendly staff disappeared out of the window and I was shouted at with great anger. I paid the official rate after a bit of an argument and was then ignored until I left the hostel. Pay in dollars and I'm sure the stay will be good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    21
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
2
22
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed here for a few days with a group of my fellow exchange students to see the city and go to Creamfields (we were living in Córdoba). Rayuela has great sense of community, and the staff are super helpful! They showed us around on their time off, gave us maps and advice on transportation and the best places to go, and were very friendly! They have big communal kitchens, clean rooms, hot showers, and a small complimentary breakfast of coffee, cereal, and rolls. It's located in the center of the city and the San Telmo street fair is just a couple blocks away.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Very small hostel, very warm, and with the 3 days for the price of 2 deal we got it was very cheap. All the rooms are semi internal and are accessed through an area with tables and chairs for breakfast. Kitchen is good but not used very often so some of the drawers contain nasty surprises.
Wifi was good and could be accessed in room. Staff were very helpful with suggestions of what to do and booked us a tango show.

You are given a key to come and go as you please. Desk is not staffed from late at night to early morning but we had a 5 am taxi to the airport booked and they got up to make sure we caught it ok.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Private rooms are some of the cheapest in the center, but what you pay for is what you get. I've hardly ever seen such a tiny room with almost nothing in it (only light and fan), not even power connections. What's the use in a private room if you have to charge your devices in community rooms? Breakfast ist average hostel food (medialunas and low quality coffee). They offer an airport pickup from Ezeiza, but charge (in March 2012) 40 USD for it, so there is hardly any advantage over a taxi.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

Nos quedamos por 5 noches en este hostel, en la pieza doble con aire acondicionado y TV, y lo recomiendo de todas maneras. La ubicación es excelente ya que está cerca de casa rosada, otros atractivos turísticos y el "subte" (metro) por lo que se hacía muy fácil moverse en la capital. Además la seguridad era muy buena y el staff era muy amigable y dispuesto a ayudar en todo momento. Lo recomiendo sin lugar a dudas!

We stayed here for five nights, in the double-room with TV and condicionated air, and I recommend very much this hostel. The location is excellent because is near of the national house, other attractive places and the "subte" (metro station) so there isn't problems in the transport. Also the security was OK and the staff is very young and nice, helpul in every momento. I recommend this hostel without a doubt!

Room Tip: Any room is OK. The double-room with public bath is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011 via mobile

I stayed here because it had quite good reviews and I was able to book it in advance. The value is okay because it was quit cheap, but don't come if you are expecting fast service or clean bathrooms.

The location is great, you can walk most places and it is on the subway. There are two kitchens that you can use which is nice.

Some mornings breakfast is great, other days it doesn't seem to exist. The staff are quite friendly if you ask them direct questions, but they don't go out of their way to help you. Overall, this place is haphazard - could be great if they put a bit more effort into keeping it clean.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011 via mobile

We arrived in BA after a long flight and had reserved this hostal. When we were dropped off at the address there was no sign out front. The door is locked and you have to get buzzed in. A man exiting told us the hostal was on the first floor. We rang and rang but no one ever answered. We got in when someone was exiting. Inside the hostal we learned that there was no staff there this morning. One traveller remarked that they never put out any breakfast that morning which was included. Another couple were waiting to check in like us as they had just arrived. We waited a half hour and after my wife used the bathroom and was disgusted (mind you this isn't our firts hostal - we we know what to expect) we decided the early warnings were a sign to get out of there. We left and found another hostal. We can't speak to room quality. One group of three young girls we saw said they were happy.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rayuela Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rayuela Hostel

Address: Av. Belgrano 887, | San Telmo, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > El Centro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 390 Specialty lodging in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rayuela Hostel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your Rayuela Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rayuela Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.