We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Calma Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Calma Hotel to your Saves list
Casa Calma Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Suipacha 1015, Buenos Aires 1008, Argentina (Retiro)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy Argentinean Wine!
Ranked #5 of 441 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Florianopolis, SC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to relax.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

We greatly recommend this hotel. Staff are very friendly and helpful, the place is really very well located, in the heart of the town, just a few blocks from Florida street and from its mall, ˜Galerias Pacifico˜, and from a relatively short walking distance from Recoleta. The hotel is small, quite new and well kept. There is a natural green wall cultivated at the main entrance, eating area and around the building, which contributes to the peaceful and relaxing ambient. The beds are excellent, pillows comfortable (more than one type) and sheets new. Air conditioning works great. Rooms are quiet, and as it is only two rooms per floor, it is difficult to be disturbed by neighbors. Our room had a small dry sauna which I did not manage to make it work, and it was VERY small anyway, so that is not something that counted. On the other hand, the jacuzzi is big and worked well, fitting two people very well. We used it every day, after our day walks through the city. Internet wi-fi free, but worked better at the lobby, not so well in the room. In general though, would definitively stay again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    120
    25
    0
    2
See reviews for
81
588
38
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
U.S.A.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

casa calma is relatively small boutique hotel in great location in buenos aires.
the service at this hotel was absolutey unparalled. when i had a problem because of airline mess up,manager MARINA and two of staff members spent at least 3-4 hours continuosly to solve my problem and managed to take care of everything in one afternoon not expecting even a thankyou.they even declined a tip.
we have stayed at a lot of 5 star hotels but we have not seen service like we got at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

After landing at EZE and an 11 hour flight, we came here and check in. My partner speaks English & Spanish. I understand Spanish, but only speak English. They were amazingly kind and showed us right to our room, which was amazing, and the staff did their best to communicate with both of us. Clean, comfortable, exactly what we needed after the flight from NYC. There was a slight and completely minimal problem with the shower door for our room, and we were given a generous discount to the price of the stay. Really, no hotel is ever perfect, but the way they handled this issue was completely professional and showed they were more interested in us enjoying our stay than making money from us.

The bed were beyond comfortable, the breakfasts were delicious and healthy (which is refreshing in the land of beef, beef, beef -- and this coming from a true Carnivore), and the location was a convenient cab ride from everything we wanted to do in the city.

If it tells you anything at all, we had planned to bookend our trip in Argentina with a single night in BsAs after seeing Iguazu & Patagonia in some other hotel before flying home. We asked and rebooked our final night with CasaCalma during our first stay there. When we got back, we were greeted with familiarity and warmth by the staff, who were interested in our experience and what we thought of the city & country.

I like trying new places and seeing new hotels, but if I am ever back in BsAs, I will absolutely be staying with CasaCalma.

Also: WiFi was superb. As someone with an iPhone who had to rely on WiFi throughout Argentina to communicate, the wifi here was among the best of the hotels we stayed in throughout the country (5, overall). Also, the staff was absolutely wonderful in helping us checkin for the return flight and print the passes. Truly above & beyond expectations.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Great location near to Plaza San Martin and Florida!
Helpfull staff!
Spacious and comfortable rooms!
Really enjoy it!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

Wow and wow. Leave the bustling Bs As behind when you step in here. First off, the staff are amazing, and I and now learned how important that is to a hotel experience. These girls were so sweet and seem genuinely interested in you, your visit and your story. That is not something easily trained. It's a gift. And I credit most of why this stay was so great to them.

The room was very spacious and very clean. I couldn't tell you exactly which room I got, because the titles were so confusing, but I got the room without the sauna (not interested) and with the jacuzzi tub. So nice!! Yes, I did notice some nicks or scruffs on the furniture, and I can understand out that happens since all the furniture is white. if I wanted to nit-pick, they could check for nicks and stuff, but who's complaining when you have naturally flavored water and delicious treats with turn-down service?? We almost had to force ourselves to leave the room.

The breakfast I think is standard for Bs As, don't expect anything large when you're in Bs As. That said, it was very good. The only reason we didn't go more than once was because the eating room felt a little crowded, and I know we could have ordered food up to our room for free, but I guess we were too eager to get out and explore. So, I almost have to rescind this complaint too...

The one thing Casa Calma can't control is what is going on outside. And when you step outside, it is a little jarring. But it's actually a nice street, the subte is not far and there are lots of great places to eat (check out the Chilean restaurant across the street, very nice men, and order a Pisco Sour! yummy!).

Yes, I would stay here again. Very very great service and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

Casacalma was one of the highlights of my Buenos Aires trip, but after 8 days there, it was clear that there are lots of things they must improve. The room was very nice, the bed was huge, sheets and pillows extremely soft. We would go back to our rooms every day to find little treats left by the staff, like cupcakes. Breakfast was served in our room at no additional cost... but (and there are quite a few "buts" here):

- when going back to the hotel on most nights, we had to ring the bell multiple times (the door is locked and the receptionist must unlock it for you every time you arrive) because no one was seated at the reception. It was quite unpleasant, to say the least, to stand on the street at night, in the cold, in a not-so-nice neighbourhood, until someone would show up several minutes later;

- it seemed that there was always something missing from our breakfast, everyday! Either the salt, butter, cereal, juice, milk, spoons... after so many mistakes, it's obvious that no one double checks it;

- when turning the bathtub on for the first time, the water was bright green. The receptionist said they would check it... after arriving back at the hotel, we asked if it was checked, and the other receptionist basically told us to turn it on to see how it would be. Surprise - it was bright green again! So, despite being a nice addition to the room, the bathtub was basically useless to us;

- we asked about tango shows one night, and were informed that a particular one would cost 250 pesos per person, for the show only. The next day, we decided on going to this one and asked for it to be booked... after confirming our reservation, the receptionist told us that it would be 130 pesos per person. While being pleasantly surprised, it was still quite shocking to know that the other receptionist had informed us a completely wrong price, almost double the correct one;

- the hotel is located on a noisy street and we had a front apartment... despite not being a light sleeper, I was awoken more than once in the morning by the sounds of incessant car horns;

- the toilet is separated from the sink area by a glass door which doesn't go floor to ceiling - the sink area is not separated from the main bedroom space by anything. This means that you can't get much privacy if you're on the toilet and the other person is, say, on the bed;

- when arriving one night, we learned that part of the hotel (including our room) had no electricity. We had to go up 9 flights of stairs and basically stare into the darkness till falling asleep. While these things may happen, we didn't even get an apology for the inconvenience the next day, not even the slightest acknowledgment, as if it was our obligation to just deal with it;

- they give you this sort of breakfast sheet everyday so you can choose the type of breakfast you want (classic, energetic and light) and a list of additionals you may choose (like omelettes, toasted cheese and ham). While the thought of the additionals being charged separately briefly crossed our minds, we concluded that they wouldn't be since they didn't have any prices listed, and no one told us anything about that upon check-in - they just seemed like things you could choose to complement your rather basic breakfast. When checking out, surprise surprise! There was a long list of charges marked as "restaurant/mini bar". The receptionist told us that all additionals were charged. I asked to see a detailed list of everything, because there was no way of knowing what we were being charged for exactly and the price of each item, but was told that that list was the most detailed one. Wait, what? How are the guests supposed to know what they are paying for when everything is just marked as "restaurant"? That was very disturbing, unprofessional, and may I say, disrespectful. I felt like I was being ripped off, but paid for everything anyway. It's specially revolting to know that you are paying for the cheese and ham sandwich on your breakfast, which had no price listed, when you are forgiving of all the little things missing every day.

All in all, while the room is indeed very nice and comfortable, there are still lots of things to adjust to make this hotel truly remarkable. What started as a great surprise ended up on a rather low note. It seems they still need some time to achieve a truly professional service level, which I hope they do because they've got a pretty good base to work from.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaCalmaWellness, Manager at Casa Calma Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2010
Dear Sr.
Thank you for posting your comment. It is important for us to know what our gusts experience was while staying at CasaCalma. It is thanks to the feedback that we can improve.
I would first like to apologize for the mistakes that made your experience not so good.

I would also like to take this opportunity to let you know that Suipacha Street in October 2010 is going to be a PEDESTRIAN STREET. With this, all problems regarding to the noise will be solved.

Best regards,

Marina Perez Alati
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slingerlands, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

This is an unpretentious, charming, modern, and cozy place. More like a chic, extremely comfortable, almost private home where you get pampered. Best service. Great hotel room. Excellent hotel food - I preferred their wellness breakfast to the afternoon tea at Alvear Plaza Hotel. It is located in the heart of the busy downtown, which some travelers may not like because it is not one of the more exclusive neighborhoods, but I liked because you feel the pulse of the city. When you step into the hotel, the colors, lighting, the hanging gardens and the faint soothing aroma engulf you – as if you have entered a sanctuary. The area is safe; I am a 53 year old woman traveling alone and walked everywhere at all hours. There is some disagreement among reviewers about noise. They have double pain windows, but if you are very sensitive to noise, bring ear plugs. I am an insomniac, and with earplugs, I slept uninterrupted every night. Something that doesn’t happen in my very quite home (must be the bed and the overall atmosphere). The “Wellness” and ‘Calma” in the name are not advertising gimmicks. This place lives up to its unpretentious promise.

Only two recommendations for the management: replace the big chairs with something more comfortabale. and serve stronger coffee.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Calma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Calma Hotel

Address: Suipacha 1015, Buenos Aires 1008, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#3 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#4 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#31 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Calma Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first hotel in Argentina devoted to the culture of wellness and organic lifestyle. Well wrapped up in a magnificent vertical garden, it is hidden away from the city in its own world in an exquisite, fresh and healing atmosphere. Located in the very heart of downtown, a block away from bustling Santa Fe Avenue and two blocks away from famous San Martin Square and Florida Street, CasaCalma is an urban oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Casa Calma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casacalma Buenos Aires
Casacalma Hotel Buenos Aires

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Calma Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.