We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CasaSur Art Hotel

Save Saved
You added CasaSur Art Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
CasaSur Art Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Callao Avenue 1823 | Recoleta, Buenos Aires C1024AAE, Argentina   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 440 hotels in Buenos Aires
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Impeccable Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Top service in a luxury boutique hotel, what more could you ask for ?
We arrived late & was allocated a room just above street level facing the main avenue. The noise was not as noticeable surprisingly but you know it's there. The hot showers were not running in the room and the night staff was duely notified, They scrambled to fix it and eventually upgraded us to a junior suite which was nice of them despite us expressing our angst quite verbally. We had no trouble with English here and they even opened the restaurant (which incidentally serves the best risotto and Indian food at affordable prices) to feed us despite it being siesta time. Return factor, you betcha !

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at CasaSur Art Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your nice review!

We do really apologize for the inconveniences occured with the hot water and are very glad you finally enjoyed your stay and the service.

Hope to see you during your next visit to the city.

Kind regards,

Verónica Bianchi
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    197
    80
    18
    9
    2
See reviews for
35
156
21
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We've just returned from a wonderful two-week stay at the Casa Sur Art Hotel and writing this review is close to the top of my list of things to do. The hotel's decor is contemporary and sophisticated and because it's a boutique hotel the staff has the time to treat each guest with personal care. Also, because it's a small hotel, our floor only had three rooms on it so there weren't a lot of strangers wandering around. We had booked a standard room but were upgraded to a suite which turned out to be a huge benefit since two weeks in a small standard is a bit close. Also, every couple of days the hotel sent a little treat to our room -- plates of sweets, antipasti plates, flowers, etc. and every evening a young man delivered bottles of water. We really were made to feel like special guests!

The location is excellent and within easy walking distance from many sights, restaurants, shops, the Recoleta cemetary, cinemas and the subway. We like to walk long distances and take public transportation when we travel and we never felt unsafe even on the subway.

We did take advantage of the free city tour and if your timing allows it, I definitely recommend it. It was a detailed three-hour tour in a clean mini-bus (seating about 12 people) and our guide, Raoul, was excellent. He was so knowledgeable and friendly and quite willing to answer our many questions. There were several spots on the tour where we got out and walked a bit too. It was a wonderful way to start our trip and get an overview of the city.

We didn't take advantage of the free drinks or the dinner with a complimentary bottle of wine but we did have breakfast at the hotel every day and it was quite varied with meats, cheeses, a wide selection of baked goods, hot scrambled eggs and a hot vegetable dish. I particularly liked the fact that breakfast was served till 11 a.m. In many hotels, you have to wake up early and rush down to the dining room to get breakfast before it closes at 9 or 10. Having breakfast served till 11 meant we could wake up in a leisurely manner and give our day a relaxed start.

I've saved commenting on the staff until last because I want to give them special mention. In all our travels, which are considerable, we've never encountered a front desk staff, bell staff and food service staff as friendly and helpful as those at Casa Sur. I wish I'd made a list of everyone's name so I could thank each one personally but I'll just have to say that Veronica and her colleagues went out of their way to make us feel at home and to help us in any way they could, making reservations, suggesting restaurants and events, giving us directions -- all with an extra level of friendliness, humour and good nature. We came away feeling like friends and not just hotel guests.

I highly recommed this hotel and want to thank the staff for making our holiday in Buenos Aires so special.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the hotel on the third floor and it was very quiet. There was a pretty l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at CasaSur Art Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thanks, thanks and many thanks!!!!!

This kind of reviews are the ones that encourage us to strive for excellence. We are glad you had a great experience and very grateful for the recognition you made.

In the hotel industry the entire team is in a continuous learning during each contact with the clients, and to be aware that the results are so rewarding, make us feel proud!!

We hope you can visit us again very soon,

Warm regards and our very best wishes

Verónica Bianchi
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We LOVED CasaSur. We were in BA for our honeymoon so really wanted something memorable and CasaSur totally achieved that. It's a great location in Recoleta - we felt like everything we wanted to do in the neighborhood was less than 5 minutes away. It's a block away from a Citibank too, which was nice. Very close to the cemetery - which is a must see. Our room was fantastic too - The Deluxe Room - cute little balcony, very spacious, two bathrooms and great living room area. Most importantly though, the staff was awesome. Right as we pulled up from the airport, we realized that our taxi driver was trying to charge us at least twice as much as the normal fair. The CasaSur staff came to the rescue and got us the right rate. The whole time we were there, they made dinner reservations for us, suggested entertainment and just generally answered all of our questions whenever we needed them. They were really really wonderful and that makes all the difference when you are in a new place. Staying at a hotel this small is totally worth it for the service you get.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Deluxe Room and it was great. The Balcony looks out onto a beautifully painted wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at CasaSur Art Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am glad we could make your honeymoon memorable and you enjoyed your visit to BA.

We are pleased you find the location convenient and the hotel confortable, and what is more, a knowledge staff which makes all the difference, as you said.

It would be a great pleasure for us to welcome you again in a near future.

All the best in this new beginning together,

Verónica Bianchi
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Love the modern look of this little boutique hotel located in Recoleta; a short walk to various tourist attractions (the cemetary, church, plazas, malls, etc) and delicious restaurants (Sirop). The room might be considered on the small side (I like to think "cozy"), but it's functional. The bed is very comfortable. We loved the rain shower in the bathroom. The service at the front desk is amazing. They are helpful and very welcoming.

You get free wifi access in your room, and there are various English channels available on TV (MTV, E!, CNN, BBC, etc). There is a gym in the basement, but it's barely non existent. It consists of a treadmill, an exercise bike that kept turning off on me halfway through my workout, an exercise bench, some weights, and an exercise ball. Not to fear, there is also a TV to watch while you work out. Some people might consider the mood lighting of the gym relaxing. Me, being afraid of the dark, and being alone in the basement, considered the dim lighting kinda creepy. The gym is attached to the spa area, which consisted of a massage table, a jacuzzi (which appeared pretty clean, but the water was lukewarm), and some lounge chairs.

According to their welcome letter that you get when you check in, they offer a complimentary city tour every Saturday. We didn't get to go on it, as we arrived after its start time. (2pm) They also give you a free welcome drink ticket. Ours mysteriously disappeared after a few days of not being used.

Disadvantages: because of its convenient location, it also means it's located in an area with high traffic. Being on the 2nd floor, the traffic noise is pretty noticeable, and the street light shines directly in to our room. Luckily, there are black out curtains. There is also a building across the street whose windows look directly in to ours. No idea what this building was, but I kept our curtains drawn the whole time. The buffet breakfast, while generous on the variety of pastries and fruit, lacks in the hot plate area. Hot food consisted of eggs and braised vegetables. Bonus: freshly squeezed orange juice! A minor point that I did not like: the time it took for the warm water to start in the shower; I would usually turn it on and brush my teeth in the meantime. Usually, by the time I was done, the water would be hot.

Bonus: L'Occitane toiletries are provided! (no hot water kettle available in the room, but there is a mini fridge; however, the fridge is pretty full of their stock, although there is room for a couple of bottle of waters)

Room Tip: Get a room on the higher floor to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at CasaSur Art Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is a tremendous pleasure to read such a nice comment on Tripadvisor.

On behalf of our team, thank you very much for your kind words and we look
forward to welcome you back in the near future!

CasaSur would feel very proud to be your "home" in Buenos Aires.

Warm regards,

Verónica Bianchi
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

What truly makes Casa Sur special is its front desk and bell staff. The warmth from the minute you enter makes you feel important. There is nothing they won't do for you. We stayed here 4 nites at the beginning of the trip and 3 nites at the end. Once you get used to the shower and sink, everything is perfect! The balcony makes for an nice touch as do the fresh flowers in the bathroom. The location is 2 blocks from the cometary and the same to delicious restaurants. We enjoyed Sottovoce and Fervor so much we ate at each twice. Don't miss the restaurants bordering the cometary. Perfect for people watching. It's nice to be able to walk. We couldn't have been happier!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at CasaSur Art Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to read your review, thank you for your comments. We are so pleased that you appreciated our location and facilities, but more relevant our staff kindness appreciation.
Many thanks for taking time to share your positive feedback on TripAdvisor.

It has been a great pleasure to welcome you at CasaSur Art Hotel.

Hoping to be visited by you again very soon.

Warm regards,

Verónica Bianchi
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This hotel is in Recoleta - a great location if you want somewhere a little more upmarket where you can walk around at night feeling safe. It's only a couple of blocks from the cemetery (a must-see) and another block from a shopping mall that includes a Village Cinema complex, and for those wanting some Anglo cuisine, a Maccas and TGIF. We booked a superior room as we'd read on Trip Advisor that the less expensive ones tended to be pretty small. The room was perfect. The concierge staff were fantastic - nothing was too much trouble for them. They also offer a free BA tour each Saturday. About 10 of us piled into a mini van as we were ferried around the main sites in BA and had a few photo opportunity stops. I don't think we could have had a better tour. It lasted 3 hours and all it cost was an optional tip to the guide at the end of it. It was a great way to get our bearings before we starting wandering around ourselves. We could walk to all sites - the furthest being about 20 mins away. So if you have a modest level of fitness you don't need to catch a taxi or public transport to get around.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at CasaSur Art Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on your most recent stay. We truly appreciate your feedback. We are happy to hear our location was ideal for your travel needs and you found our staff service to your liking.

The tour on saturday is one of our small gestures which make a big difference, we are glad it suited you prefectly.

Thanks again for your time and we hope to see you soon.

Regards,

Verónica Bianchi
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

It was my first time in BA and I loved the hotel's location. It felt very safe. The staff - from the front desk/concierge to the breakfast dining staff to the bartender - were extremely helpful and friendly. Nice walkable distance to Recoleta cemetery, the Bellas Artes, MALBA and Decorative Arts museums. Excellent (and complimentary) Saturday afternoon city tour with Raul. Nice shopping and restaurants around. Very easy to get cabs to go to other barrios like Palermo if one doesn't want to walk further. I booked the Executive room - the cheapest - and it was good for one person which was fine for me as I also travel with a snall suitcase but a little tight if two people had shared the room. Given location and service, however, I would have willingly shelled out more for a bigger room if I had a companion. Good BA hotels don't come cheap so pricing here is OK. I would come back here anytime.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at CasaSur Art Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our property and that the free tour met your expectations. Raúl is really amazing!

We have passed your comments to our staff to continue providing a great service. We are glad you also like our wonderful location.

We hope to welcome you back in the future. Thank you so much for such a complete review.

Warm regards,

Verónica Bianchi
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to CasaSur Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaSur Art Hotel

Also Known As:
Casasur Art Boutique Hotel
Address: Callao Avenue 1823 | Recoleta, Buenos Aires C1024AAE, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#25 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#26 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#58 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CasaSur Art Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CasaSur stands out for its uniqueness, its room concept, innovation and personalized service. Located in the distinguished Recoleta neighbourhood, near by several cultural, gastronomic and art attractions.The combination of textures and noble materials outstands in each one of the 36 neoclassic style rooms. A warm environment, where details were thought to meet guests’ needs, at any time for every requirement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Amex, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your CasaSur Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CasaSur Art Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.