We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“solid steakhouse in Palermo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Cabrera Norte

La Cabrera Norte
Jose Antonio Cabrera 5127, | Palermo Viejo, Buenos Aires C14BGS, Argentina (Palermo)
4832-5754
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #95 of 3,007 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Palermo
ann arbor, MI
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“solid steakhouse in Palermo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This steakhouse was recommended by several friends (both Argentinian and from elsewhere). It is hard to get a reservation, but our hotel found a way and we enjoyed the north restaurant (there is also just La Cabrera or La Cabrera South). The bife de chorizo was very good as were the multiple sides that came with it. The flan was the best I had in Argentina, though the bananas foster like dish for my wife was so-so. Overall a very nice experience in an ecletic setting with model airplanes twirling on the fans. I would rate this third of four good steaks in BA, behind Cafe San Juan, Cabana Las Lilas and slightly above Don Juan.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    610
    297
    112
    31
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What an introduction to Buenos Aires”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I booked this restaurant online a few weeks before our trip, I have since found out they only take reservations for 20:30 and anything after is just first come first served. We were unaware that the restaurant only opened at 20:30 so were surprised at the queue when we arrived. They called us in one reservation at a time.

The restaurant itself is lovely surrounded with hundreds of bottles of wine, plates hanging on the walls with messages and thank yous written on them in various languages and aeroplanes hanging from the ceiling.

The staff were very friendly and attentive, despite the fact our waiters English was limited he was really nice, helpful and always smiling.

The food... well, we didn't order starters after reading previous reviews and (what with it being our first night of holiday) we were somewhat ambitious. My husband ordered a 600g ribeye topped with ham, tomatoes and cheese and I just had a 400g ordinary ribeye. We also ordered a side salad to share, as well as the ample sides. They vary from pickles, creamed spinach, olives, sweet potato mash with raisins (my husbands favourite) the list went on and on. I agree with a previous review that the sides make this place special. The meat was amazing, so tender and full of flavour. We would go back in a heartbeat and recommended it to everyone we met on our travels heading in the direction!

We also had a bottle of Malbec, still water and we shared a chocolate pudding and ice cream. This all came to a total (including tip) of USD$70 which we thought was amazing value for money!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Great Food, Prices and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We booked La Cabrera Norte via online booking. Upon arrival, a busy line was already forming for the dinner service. Good thing we had the reservation ( a must) and we were escorted immediately to our table.
Now the food: We started off with the kidneys and lamb intestines. Kidneys were pretty good but the lamb I found a bit too fatty. Had intestines at Rodizio the day before at Puerto Madero and thought those were better. Then we split a "bife de chorizo"as our main. It came with all the sides galore you can imagine. The sides actually makes this restaurant so special. Yes, the meat was also so flavorful and tender (grass fed beef only) that it made us scramble to look for the same quality meat all over Los Angeles now. We were so stuffed we couldn't eat the salad in the end anymore. Of note, they eat the salads in the end of the meal. All were washed down with a hearty Malbec.
Service: attentive and polite. It actually makes it a pleasure to eat in this establishment. I also heard they just opened a third outpost due to the demand. This experience alone will make me want to go back to BA.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good but has lost some its flavour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I have been going to this restaurant for a number of years, the last time 2 years ago until I went the other day. The wait outside (1hour outside) has not changed and was expected - one cannot reserve after 2100. On the inside, it is still a lovely friendly restaurant, though prices have significantly increased since 2 years ago (inflation). We chose a chorizo as a starter (excellant) and then an ojo de bife as the main. Forget all the the accompaniments, but one comes here for the beef. The cut that we had (cooked 'a punto') was slightly fibrous and that did surprise me. It did not cut like butter - and when we asked for it to be cooked for slighly longer, the meat came back totally overdone, which was a shame.
Overall, I still recommend this place, though the bife de chorizo is probably a better option if you want your beef to cut like butter. Service could have been better, though it was a busy saturday night.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Fl
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Steak in BA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Must make a reservations or go in person and wait for reservations to expire at 8:45pm.
Great wine list, portions are plentiful and the steak is truly the best we've had.
The place is always packed and the ambiance is great.
A must if in BA.
They have 3 locations within yards of eachother.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cabrera Norte also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to La Cabrera Norte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cabrera Norte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.