We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, very well run hotel in San Telmo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Babel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Babel to your Saves list
Hotel Babel
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Balcarce 946 | San Telmo, Buenos Aires C1064AAT, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #125 of 436 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Comfortable, very well run hotel in San Telmo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My wife and I just finished 3 nights at Hotel Babel and were very pleased with our choice. The hotel is well situated to Plaza Dorrego and was very clean though what stood out the most was the staff. Everyone was extremely nice, friendly and very helpful...... anytime we had a question they were happy to help however they could and really went out of their way to assist. This was very much appreciated and I would recommend the hotel to any friends or family visiting. A very good choice for the price range.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    111
    36
    7
    8
See reviews for
21
274
37
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Funky hostel in San Telmo. A bit dark but clean. Near all the sites in San Telmo, like Plaza Dorrego. Staff friendly and helpful. Nice breakfast. They recommended a nice restaurant near the hotel that was full of locals and was good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I was disappointed by this hotel. It is located in Telmo, 5mn walk from plaza Dorrego. The location is nice.
Be aware there is no window in the room. You have 2 french doors leading to a patio. The room is dark. It is clean but it need some refresh… Towel with hole did not really appeal to us. Also, the linen is too small for the bed so you end up sleeping on the matress directly (unless you are not moving at all during the night). We were really mitigated with the service. One guy was great, very helpful and very nice but the others did not seem to really care. Specially one of the girl. We continuously had wifi problem. One of their router seams to had issue continuously. She did not really help. Breakfast start at 8 am... which is very late. Since we had tours, half of the time we could not have breakfast and we end up with some jam on a toast. When I asked why it was starting so late, they told me it was because the lady who prepare the breakfast arrive at 8am… They also nicely give us 2 coupons for a drink at the bar. One afternoon, we decided to use it. We choose a drink on the cocktail list. The girl at the bar had no clue what it was… So she asked us to choose something else. We choose some Havana-club Rum cocktail. Unfortunately for us, the bottle was not open. So she asked us to choose something else. I insisted for her to open it but nop… we end up with another rum cocktail… I found it so unprofessional… Anyway, after our drink, I gave her the coupon. And she tell us, oh it is only valid for pop and wine!! But it is not written anywhere on the coupon!!!!! At the end, I forced her to take it and she was upset….

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The room was spacious and clean. The staff was so friendly and helpful. They called restaurants and made reservations for us. They gave us helpful hints on how much taxis should cost etc. The breakfast was much better than the other hotel breakfasts we had in South America.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croudace Bay
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This was our second trip and we really looked forward to reaquainting ourselves with the Hotel Babel. As expected, we were met by friendly, professional staff who welcomed us, and responded to our requests promptly and with good results. Breakfast was a really good start to a day spent exploring Buenes Aires. We were then able to refresh ourselves in our room before venturing into the streets of San Telmo to one of the many nearby restaurants/bars/cafes for a good meal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torres del Paine National Park, Chile
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Had a really great time, the staff were sincere, friendly and professional.
Really enjoyed discussions with the staff and would not hesitate to go again, worth the higher prices than I normally pay for a room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in Buenos Aires for two days in this hotel. On our arrival we we're welcomed by Miguel who directly offered something to drink while checking in. The free coffee, tea and orange juice during our stay completed our experience.
The room was clean and the bed long enough for us (dutchies)

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Babel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Babel

Address: Balcarce 946 | San Telmo, Buenos Aires C1064AAT, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#113 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Babel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Babel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babel Hotel Buenos Aires
Boutique Hotel Babel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Babel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.