We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Apartment Rental Ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Atenea Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Atenea Suites to your Saves list
Atenea Suites
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Cabrera 6054, Buenos Aires 1414, Argentina (Formerly Atenea Hollywood Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Houston, TX
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst Apartment Rental Ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

I am a long time user of online reviews but this is my first review post. I am actually currently staying in this apartment and could not wait any longer to warn fellow travelers to STAY AWAY!!! The other reviewers must have stayed in one of the four apartments they have in heavy rotation which are the only ones maintained. This is not a value apartment! For $440 a week I expect at least a clean apartment. First off, our reservation claimed we had a sofa bed (not an outdated broken futon that sags inward when you sit on it), a queen bed (actually two twins pushed together so that when you try to sleep next to one another, they split apart and you fall into the crack while sleeping), a tv (ours did not work and it took them four days to replace it), free WIFI (did not work and still haven't fixed it after 6 days), a laundry room (closes at 6pm?!), a gym (one stairstepper and two ellipticals), a full kitchen (a mini fridge so full of frost that we had to scrape it off to get a water bottle in there- not to mention the weeks old frost bitten ice cubes left in there, and the old YELLOW milk; a broken microwave, three cups, 2 plates, no toaster or coffee maker or teapot) and 24hr staff (a doorman that is actually pretty nice, but is only there in the day and we haven't seen him once past 6pm, a maintenance man that ignored EVERY SINGLE REQUEST and closed the door in our face, and a manager who speaks beautiful English but has no knowledge of her own city- she sent us twice in the opposite direction of where we were headed, meaning we walked an extra 3.5 miles in this heat only to have to hire a $20 cab to take us back). The shades for the apartment are stained with what I can only assume is brown water and the floor was so dirty that our feet turned black after walking around for a few minutes. When we asked them to come clean the floor and vacuum the beds (which had no sheets and stained mattresses with hair on them), it took two hours for them to come and when we asked for more toilet paper (they give you one roll) and towels (they stock you with two bath towels and one face towel for a two bath apartment), the maid was really nasty and said she already put towels in the room and wouldn't give us more than one more. The stairs for the second floor are placed DIRECTLY in front of the fridge so that the door will not open completely and you have to reach thru the rungs of the stairs to get things out of the fridge. And yes there is a beautiful balcony, but make sure someone is in the apartment when you go out there because it locks behind you if you close the door and you will be stuck out there until someone opens the door from the inside. There was a broken TV stuffed into our closet so that we couldn't use the space and when we requested that they remove it, the manager said "why, its broken and you can't use it anyway" and when I told her I needed the closet space she said she would send someone up to remove it... never happened. Because there is no carpeting, the echo from the other apartments is nearly unbearable. People walking on the floor above you sounds like beasts stomping around and the neighbors next to you can hear each and every word spoken.
The neighborhood is not as bad as most reviews say it is. Palermo Hollywood is very trendy and cute and it's a short walk to the main parts of the city, or you can take a subway which is about 9 blocks away. The building is gorgeous from the outside, and I have seen some of the lower floor apartments which look pretty well kept. If you want a high floor (which usually are the better apartments, bigger with better views) expect that it will be in this condition. The manager told us they never rent these out....I don't really understand why. Also, don't forget the loud music and singing early in the morning by the cleaning staff.

Room Tip: High floors have multiple apartments per floor and lots of noise. Also you have to climb flights of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    13
    13
    7
    8
See reviews for
7
14
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

The apartment is in a safe and quiet area of Palermo Hollywood. It’s about a 15-20 minute walk to the Carranza stop on the D line of the Subte Metro. It’s also about a 15-20 minute walk to Plaza Serrano and that area. That’s where there is a big concentration of restaurants and clubs. There are a lot of restaurants around the area of the apartment as well, but not as concentrated as around Plaza Serrano. It’s more of like one on each corner as opposed to a whole string of restaurants. A cab to Plaza Serrano is about $3-$5 USD depending on the time of day. We arrived at around 2:30am and there was someone there to let us in.

The first apartment we stayed at (1A) looked like the pictures, except it was in bad need of a paint job on the walls and the floors. There are scuff marks all over the walls and floors which makes the place not look as “nice”. Also the bathroom has no ventilation, so there was a lot of rust around the door frame and towel rack and lots of little black spots on the walls and door frame, which is mold.

The sheets and towels were a little rough.

But all in all, the location is not bad for Palermo Soho and good for Hollywood, but a little inconvenient to get to the rest of BA unless you want to take taxis, since the Subte was a little bit of a walk. The apartment was clean, has a kitchenette, pool, and roof balcony. The Wi-Fi was free (sometime a little weak, other times very strong) and there are free local calls. There is also an office on the top floor to help you with whatever you need like taxis, problems with the apartment, recommendations, etc.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriayebne, Propietario at Atenea Suites, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Thanks you very much for your review.
We are already working on your suggestions to improve our service and quality. We hope to see you again soon!
Vicky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

We stayed here just one night when we were transiting through Buenos Aires and had a very early flight the next morning - the rest of our time in BA we stayed at the lovely Home hotel, which is just around the corner. We chose Atenea because we wanted somewhere close to the Aeroparque that wasn't expensive, particularly as we wouldn't be there a full night. The little apartment we had was fine, small but functional, clean and compact. The reception staff were very friendly. Considering the price, it's good value for accommodation, particularly in the Palermo Hollywood area. The location is not bad - just a few blocks from some great restaurants and bars. I wouldn't choose to stay here longer, mainly because we had such a good experience elsewhere, but for someone wanting cheap accommodation in a rad area (which can be hard to find in BA) it's worth considering.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011 via mobile

Firstly, this is not your normal hotel. The hotel is part of a residential appartment block. You first goto their office (an appartment in the building) and from there they take you to your room. It's a bit odd - but it works pretty well. The staff speak perfect english and are very helpful. Considering the price (very cheap compared to hotels in Recoleta and Palermo), I was shocked how nice the room was. Very modern, good kictchen, nice bathroom and comfy sofa. The area is very safe, and very pleasant. A good selection of bars and restaurants close by. . .you can walk or take a taxi (they arrive quickly). Also there's a supermarket closeby. If you're arriving late, make sure you call them, and they'll leave your keys with the security guard.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

We stayed for 10 days and we had a good time here. Location is not the best, tube station is a 15 minutes walk. we had everything we needed. the guys at the reception are friendly and they helped us with everything. we could find good restaurants 10minutes from the hotel by walking.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

My family (wife, toddler and me) spend 8 days in BsAs at Ateneas for the first trip of we three to Argentina (we are from Brazil). At first impression it is a good cost'/benefit relation. However, it is located at the very end of Palermo hollywood, nothing at all to do in the neighborwoods, only a chinese small local market (you may need it ...) and a couple of bad quality restaurant around the corner. Anything needed to be done by taxi (good aspect: there are plant of taxi at Buenos Aires street at reasonable price). Despite the appearence of the building and the furniture at the room, the facilities are not good. Floor is in a unfinished cement, no WiFi at our room (only a inconvenient cable conection), for bath purposes they provided only two old gray towels. We have contracted a Queen size bed, but they provided us two singles, small bed. Laundry at 10'th floor works from 7 am to 8pm, with only two washing mashines and one drying machine (make a lot of change in coins of 0.25, 0.50 and 1.00 Pesos). No soap provided or available for buying at place (you may buy your own at the Chinese market...). Dont forget bringing eletric plug adaptors (or buy one for about 10 Pesos at any 'ferreteria'; you may find one two blocks down at Dorego St, just a few metters from Atenea's Suites St.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

Our studio room in the Atenea Suites was basic, clean and had all the facilities we required. The staff were very accomodating and friendly. I believe this lodging represents great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atenea Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atenea Suites

Address: Cabrera 6054, Buenos Aires 1414, Argentina (Formerly Atenea Hollywood Suites)
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #261 of 419 Specialty Lodging in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atenea Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Atenea Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atenea Hotel Buenos Aires

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atenea Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.