We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best barbecue ribs!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cholita

La Cholita
Rodriguez Pena 1165, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Improve this listing
Ranked #557 of 2,523 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Cuisines: Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best barbecue ribs!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This place was packed and we had to wait for about half an hour (we went at about 22:00...oops.) but it was WELL worth the wait. The atmosphere was great, and those service was a bit slow (as it is everywhere here), the food was GREAT. We had empanadas, ribs and clérico (white wine sangria) and were so full and so content afterwards. The ribs were so tender, falling off the bone. The flavors were all really great...definitely would go to La Cholita again. The prices were also very reasonable!! Great spot, and worth waiting for!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    132
    49
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Price/Value/Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

One of my favorite restaurants in Buenos Aires after staying here for half a year. The steak/bife de chorizo as well as other dishes like the hamburgesa casera or the quesadillas, are all of good quality and are comparibly cheap. It's always full (even on weekdays) so you should get there at 20:30. Sometimes you have to wait a while for your food, but that's just argentinian style.

Best Price/Value choice in Buenos Aires

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good deal, great prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We had lunch here and really enjoyed the food and ambiance. The restaurant is brightly decorated and with the open grill in the back that you can see as you walk by to the washroom. The room had a good vibe and we noticed there were people of all ages dining. We shared the lemonade, because it comes in a carafe and easily provides 2 large glasses. With the ice that the server brought, the lemonade really hit the spot as the day was really hot. My wife had the entrana (skirt) steak which comes with French fries and mashed yams, all served on a wooded plank. It was a very large serving of meat (a pound or so) tender and grilled to her order. I had the grilled chicken salad which was a huge piece of chicken breast grilled and served on a bed of greens. The chicken was tender and juicy and the salad didn't come with any dressing, except for the olive oil and balsamic vinegar at the table. I barely finished my lunch and my wife didn't come close to finishing hers. At under $20 US, a great deal for lunch.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good local spot for good steaks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We heard about this restaurant from our ba free tour guide. It is a place where locals go for good steak, and it should certainly live up to any tourists expectations. We had the beef de chorizo and it was delicious, served with fries and pumpkin mash. The prices are great for the amount of good quality food you get, plus the steak was perfectly cooked and juicy. Definitely worth a go when you are in Buenos Aires!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Bife de lomo - oh my!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Extensive menu, great prices, wonderful atmosphere and huge portions! Definitely worth a visit if you are in the area. Like most places, it fills up around 9pm so if you don't want to wait, get there before then. My bife de lomo was amazingly delicious and was only 72 peso ($12US)! My husband had the bife de chorizo which was also huge but a little tough. A ordered a glass of malbec and got a 375ml bottle for 33 peso ($5.50US), best deal so far. Came with french fries and mashed sweet potatoes. They have a lot of appetizer and salad choices all which I would recommend sharing. There is no doubt, we will be back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cholita also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to La Cholita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cholita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.