We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Steak” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Don Julio

Don Julio
Guatemala 4691 and Gurruchaga | Palermo Viejo, Buenos Aires 1414, Argentina (Palermo)
11/4831-9564
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 2,809 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Palermo
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good Steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We had great service and steak here, and the atmosphere was buzzing, however we have been to more {authentic{ places in Buenos Aires that were better and cheaper. We couldnt help thinking that this place was full of expats, and wondered where all the locals went.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,802 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,685
    802
    241
    55
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Must-Go while in BA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Everything here was excellent. The restaurant has a great atmosphere, and if you want to experience Argentine food at its best, this is the place to go. Maybe $25/person

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“We need one of these places in every city!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

On our short trip to BA, we ate here twice. It was great. Many of the other reviewers mentioned the service like champagne when you wait etc, but I really must say it lived up to the expectation.
As a vegetarian, there are some lovely pastas that I highly recommend.
The wine list is amazing, and staff were very knowledgable about the wine, as well as being very professional.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Wooooooow! Delicious Bife de Chorizo. The best in town. Great staff. We received free champagne samples while waiting to seat. The restaurant is very beautiful. Right in the hearth of Palermo.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A steakhouse that lives up to the Argentine reputation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We had been in Buenos Aires for a while and the one and only steak we had had (at a pre-booked tango show) had been just OK. On the basis of some on-line reviews, we took a taxi over to Don Julio. We got there just after they opened (at 7:30 p.m.) and beat the rush. They gave us a small outside table. We then proceeded through a fairly simple, but wonderful meal of salad, bread, steak and wine. My wife had the filet and I had a rib-eye. Both were some of the most wonderful steaks we have ever had - juicy and tender. The accompaniments were also very nice and of course we washed it all down with a bottle of one of the local Malbecs. I can't remember if we had room for dessert or not, but I do have a warm glow every time I think of that meal. If you're looking for a straightforward, excellent steakhouse experience in Buenos Aires, check out Don Julio.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Julio also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Don Julio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Julio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.