We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Parrilla in town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Don Julio

Don Julio
Guatemala 4691 and Gurruchaga | Palermo Viejo, Buenos Aires 1414, Argentina
11/4831-9564
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 2,523 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The best Parrilla in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We tried them all and this came out top every time. We went here over a dozen times in 6 weeks and compared Don Julio to at least 10 of BsAs best per Trip Advisor and guide books and friends' recommendations. Don Julio won every time for food, service, ambiance. Plus, you get to see the asador at work! The chimichurri is delicious, too!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,320
    633
    172
    45
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A classic Argentine parillada”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This place was less touristy than La Cabrera which is also highly rated and nearby. Its also about the same price as La Cabrera but the big difference was the service and the ambience. The staff were great and very welcoming, and there were more locals than tourists which gave a very natural feel to the place.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Delicious chimichurri and good steak!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We were staying close by and decided to try this place out because of the good reviews.

We had the most delicious chimichurri here and would return just for that on the warm bread! It was seriously good and we had quite a lot of chimichurri during our stay in Argentina.

We ordered the provoleta cheese, asado (ribs) and bife de lomo (steak). The asado was not the best; it was a bit chewy. The steak was great and cooked to perfection! I do have to admit it wasn't the best steak we had in BA. But it was still very good.

Our waiter had impeccable service and continued to fill our glasses when they were low, asked if everything was ok and gave us some food suggestions.

The atmosphere was good. Loved the empty wine bottles all around the restaurant. When you finish a bottle you get to write a little something and it goes up in their collection on the walls!

Loved this place and we would go back. Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“I'm vegetarian, but...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We went there for the desperdida of two friends, and everyone was extremely satisfied. All the others I went there with eat meat, and were very happy about what they had. I am vegetarian, and found plenty to eat!
We arrived late, of course, and so had no more the table, but we have been offered a glass of wine while waiting for another one. And at the end of the meal, the waiter gave us the bottle of red wine we had, to write something on it. This is the nicest thing of te restaurant: the walls are full of bottles with the memories everyone who had dinner there!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Delicious and Authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We loved our dinner at Don Julio! It was such a cute, authentic feeling restaurant. We went around 11pm on Saturday and didn't have any trouble getting in. We sat outside out a really great table. The service was really great and we loved everything we sampled! We tried an empenada, the fried provolone and steaks. A really nice Parilla.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Julio also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Don Julio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Julio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.