We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We ate there three times!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Don Julio

Don Julio
Guatemala 4691 and Gurruchaga | Palermo Viejo, Buenos Aires 1414, Argentina (Palermo)
11/4831-9564
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 2,809 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Palermo
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“We ate there three times!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Our nearby hotel recommended this restaurant and we loved it! Fabulous service, wonderful wines, and lovely ambiance. The food was delicious, abundant, well-presented, and reasonably priced. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. The dining room was full of locals and a few tourist,and we felt very welcome. My mouth is watering just thinking of the grilled veggies and other goodies. We loved it so much we ate there three times in our week in BA.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,801 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,684
    802
    241
    55
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food at a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Our hotel recommended Don Julio for dinner and I'm so glad they did. We had dinner at Puerto Madero the night before and this was half the price. The steaks were excellent as was the wine we ordered and the dessert. Great spot in Palermo Soho.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Neighbourhood Jewell”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

In a city with hundreds of Parillada restaurants, is it possible for one to stand out? We think so and we think that Don Julio has all the qualities that make a restaurant stand out from others like it. Located in the neighbourhood of Palermo Soho, it has the feel of a great 'local'. The room is delightful, not too big, with hundreds of empty wine bottles lining the walls signed by past guests. Waiters are real professionals with deep knowledge of the beef world of Argentina and great senses of humour. We had one of the classics, beef ribs, french fries and a green tossed salad. The flavour of the beef was out of this world with a magical combination of charcoaled exterior, crispy bits, enough fat to give flavour and out-of-this-world beef. We have been to far fancier places, larger and more expensive places, but for an authentic traditional parilla place, this is the best we have had in BA.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ok. Tried it, no hurry to go back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

After all the hype I must say I was expecting a lot more. Empanadas were good but nothing extraordinary. I had the fillet, it was ok, I've had way better in many other places. It was tender but nothing memorable. Hubby had ribeye, pretty much same reaction I had. We shared a plate of papas frites which were really crispy and tasty. They messed up my drink order twice so we just settled on some wine. It was good but again, nothing worth noting. I feel like ok, been there checked it, wouldn't go back again. Just too many other wonderful choices in buenos aires...

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krasnoyarsk, Krasnoyarsk, Russia
1 review
“Muy bueno!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Delicious food, very nice atmosphere. Provologne is the best cheese I have ever tried. My favorite is bife de chorizo. We love it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Julio also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Don Julio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Julio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.