We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fue un sueño!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Don Julio

Don Julio
Guatemala 4691 and Gurruchaga | Palermo Viejo, Buenos Aires 1414, Argentina (Palermo)
11/4831-9564
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 2,808 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Families with children, Doing business, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Palermo
Eberswalde, Germany
1 review
“Fue un sueño!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

It was really a dream. Perfect service, warmly atmosphere, genius food. It's definitely my favourite restaurant of Buenos Aires.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

2,802 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,685
    802
    241
    55
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Meat eaters don't miss this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

On our first night in Buenos Aires, my husband suggested going to Don Julio. I wasn't sure I could stay up that late, but I am so glad that I did! The restaurant was pretty crowded, and we had to wait outside for a while, but they gave everyone complimentary glasses of champagne while we were waiting. I would suggest making a reservation, though, to avoid having to wait. For dinner, we had the ojo de bife with chimichurri sauce, empanadas and a bottle of Malbec. Amazing food and great atmosphere. Make sure you take a look at the parrilla (grill) on the way out.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't think twice, get over there.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Best steak I ever had that cost 20 bucks, split it with my girl and it was plenty. Very cool wine menu on the iPad, and overall it's a no brainer. Staff was friendly, food was great and the restaurant itself had a great atmosphere.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Parilla !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had an excellent dinner at Don Julio and were delighted that the reviews were right. We made a reservation a few days before going and were shown to a lovely table upstairs looking down over the restaurant. It was so hot outside that we were thankful to be located near the AC unit.

Our dinner order was salad, filet, frites, and, of course, a bottle of Malbec recommended by our waiter. Everything was delicious, hot, and cooked perfectly. The wine was amazing and we have already purchased another bottle from a nearby wine store to drink at home.

We would not hesitate to go back to Don Julio again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The food and service were excellent. Gets crowded after 7 so reservations are recomended. Do get blood sausage. It is to die for

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Julio also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Don Julio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Julio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.