We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome veggie oasis in Buenos Aires” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bio Solo Organico

Bio Solo Organico
Humboldt 2192 | Palermo Hollywood, Buenos Aires 1425, Argentina (Palermo)
+54 11 4774-3880
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #786 of 2,809 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: Vegetarian, Organic, Healthy, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Palermo
Description: Bio is the first organic restaurant of Argentina. With more than 13 years of experience, on July 2012 Bio moved to a 1917 house with high ceilings and a very intimate mood. Bio is the perfect combination of healthy, organic and delicious food.Bio is not only a restaurant, but a way of living. You can order our "viandas" to have at home, you can hire our caterings for your events and you can take our courses to learn our most beloved cuisine secrets. If you are macrobiotic, vegetarian, vegan, celiac...Come to Bio, you will feel at home.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A welcome veggie oasis in Buenos Aires”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Quality, tasty food, simple and not over the top and reasonably priced by BA standards
Quinoa risotto, veggie curry, bio ginger juice and pumpkin dip were the winners.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BioSoloOrganico, Owner at Bio Solo Organico, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you Plazo. Looking forward to your visit again. We moved right across the street.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    46
    21
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Fresh and Tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Need a break from meat? This is the place for you. Tasty and creative clean food. The bio ginger juice is perfect not too spicy or sweet but not weak either. Very refreshing after walking all day. Service was good but we were there at a slow time of day. When its time for healthy food that is also exciting this is the place to go.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BioSoloOrganico, Owner at Bio Solo Organico, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you SCtripchick. Looking forward to your visit again. We moved right across the street.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“same dough in everything”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

excited to try a veg place in BA after 2 wks of eating only pasta and pizza... the bread and squash dip they gave us was great (though they charged us for it... i don't like when people do that. they should let customers know what something isn't free before serving it). we tried the empanada of the day, which was a little disappointing. there was so much dough (same dough as the bread), and the tofu filling was bleh. i ate an arugula salad which was much better, with pockets of goat cheese wrapped in "packages" of the same dough. maybe i didn't order well, but i wasn't too impressed. i ate much better empanadas at non-veg places (corn, cheese/onion, etc)

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BioSoloOrganico, Owner at Bio Solo Organico, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thanks for your opinion. We always are opened to our customers' opinion. At Bio Restaurant we use wholemeal flour and since this product is not refined in the same way as white flour is, the doughs are thicker. We use the same wholemeal flour for the pizzas, bread and empanadas. In our menu we also offer a big variety of dishes without flour.
On the other hand, our empanadas are made of the fresh vegetables that we receive everyday from the organic garden. We only use the vegetables available at the current season. Sometimes we do not have corn.
We hope you can visit us again and have a better experience. Thanks for your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Something for the Non-Carnivors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

This relatively new restaurant is a refreshing change from the meat and potatoes (or beans!) that more often Buenos Aires.
It is a small corner location with about 6 small tables outside. Be warned, the chairs are precarious and apt to collapse backwards as you sit down. We chose to sit outside on the charmingly misaligned sidewalk. There are strategicaly placed planters to offer a bit of seclusion from the bustle of the cars.
Some of the staff speak broken English, some not at all. There is a "roughly" translated menu available.
Everything we ordered was deliciously fresh and flavorful. It makes for a satisfying yet not overly-full meal.
The price was about 50US$ for two with soups, mains, and drinks. Not inexpensive by BA standards, but a lovely break from all he beef!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BioSoloOrganico, Owner at Bio Solo Organico, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Hi Xina63. We have now moved across the street and have brand new chairs! Our menu is now completely translated to English. Looking forward to your visit again.

Thanks

Bio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Delicious vegetarian food! We've been back three times.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

After sampling too many parillas we were craving something healthy and luckily stumbled upon this fabulous corner cafe/restaurant. They serve wonderful vegetarian fare, refreshing drinks, and wine too if you fancy some over dinner.

The quinoa risotto is delicious, as is the lentil burger (it comes without bread), the Parmesan basket risotto is also great.

Service is efficient and friendly when they have the time.

We will be going back again for lunch sometime no doubt!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BioSoloOrganico, Owner at Bio Solo Organico, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you SydneyOzSydney294305. Looking forward to your visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bio Solo Organico also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Bio Solo Organico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bio Solo Organico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.