We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here in BA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Glu Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Glu Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Glu Hotel
Godoy Cruz 1733, Buenos Aires 1414, Argentina (Palermo)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 439 hotels in Buenos Aires
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Stay here in BA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The Glu is a little boutique hotel in Palermo with lovely, spacious rooms, extremely comfortable beds and an adequate continental-style breakfast. Very quiet as well for BA. But the really outstanding thing about this hotel is the wonderful staff. Nothing is too much trouble for the guys at the Glu, Eva, Aixa, Max, Hugo and the rest. They are charming, obliging and go the extra mile. I lost my glasses in BA which could have been a real problem. They just took over, organised everything and without me knowing even rang my travel insurers at home in Australia to ask if the cost would be covered. Two days later I got my new glasses. We've stayed in every continent and have never stayed anywhere quite like this place. We can't imagine why you would stay anywhere else in BA.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    401
    63
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
55
267
28
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hermosa Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Sorry that my review has taken so long. I have just recently returned from Buenos Aires. I traveled there in May and again in June. I will say this is one of the most service oriented hotels that I have experienced. Everyone from Eva, Aixa, and the rest of the staff are accomodating and go well beyond to make sure that your stay is the best that it can be. As an example, on my recent trip, I traveled to Concordia before staying at the hotel. I was running so far behind schedule in returning to Buenos Aires to check in that i sent them an email saying that I would be in around 11pm. Aixa responded within 30 mins thanking me for the information and said they would be expecting me. I actually did not arrive until after 1 am, and please forgive me for forgetting his name, but he came out to the car, said he was expecting me, helped us with all of our bags, and provided drinks and fruit. They have not let me down on either trips. the first time I stayed in a Glam Suite which was pretty nice, but the second time I stayed in the Glu Suite which is really, really nice. Thanks again guys! I have resolved that I don't have to look anywhere else to stay when I visit BA. You are my home away from home there!

Room Tip: The American dollar will get you a 15% discount if you pay for your room in cash
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stay here. Unless you have to be downtown, this should be where you book. Especially for the price.

I stayed at the Glu for 4 nights in June, 2013. It is located in Palermo, which is a nicer area of Buenos Aires but not particularly close to the city. During the weekends, the area attracts diners and bar-goers, especially to the nearby Plazeta Cortaza. It can be very quiet during the week. There are nearby restaurants with good food, and lots of chorizo (really thick cut of beef steak) and provoleta (cooked provolone in a bowl). Good stuff. It is NOT particularly close to the Puerto Madero or downtown areas, and if you travel to visit them during rush hour, it will take a while by cab. That's the only somewhat negative thing I can think of for this place.

They hotel is pretty new and very clean. The room was exceptionally large, with a balcony. Not much of a view, but that wasn't a big deal to me. The bed was very large and comfortable. It wasn't easy to control the temperature in the room, but I was never too hot or too cold. There is a 15" laptop-sized safe in the room, laundry service, free in-room breakfast, offers of coffee/tea/water every time you're in the lobby, everything you could hope for.

But the thing that stood out the most was the service. All of them speak excellent English. I planned to go to Montevideo via Buquebus ferry after my stay, but I couldn't get the Buquebus site to accept my credit card. Nor did I understand the tax code stuff. I asked them for help, and they spent 2 days trying desperately (with three different credit cards) to get it to work. At least 3 staff members worked on this for me. Because of how kind and friendly they were, I had no concerns leaving them with my credit card information. They were never able to get it to work despite trying both the Uruguayan and Argentinian sites, but that has to do with Buquebus not accepting foreign cards for some reason - none of my cards were blocking the transaction, and they were never getting the requests. I ended up making it to Montevideo only by having an Uruguayan friend purchase the ticket for me.

I also had a package that was supposed to arrive during my stay, but do to holiday schedules (and possibly some laziness on the part of Fedex Argentina), they weren't going to arrive until after I left. The staff worked the phones with Fedex trying to figure out how to get my package to me, but ultimately weren't able to. They worked with me to figure out how to handle it when it arrives after my departure.

Seriously - every review of this hotel I read before booking it talked about the level of service people received and how much they enjoyed their stay. I completely agree with all of these people and cannot recommend the Glu Hotel enough. I would stay there every time I visit Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

My husband and I, two of our adult sons and their girlfriends recently stayed at this boutique hotel for 4 days. The hotel is located in Palermo and is a very near to wonderful restaurants, clubs and one of a kind stores.The hotel itself is small and does not have facilities, however, what it does have is a staff that is extremely well trained. From the moment we arrived, we were greeted by name and made to feel welcome. The rooms were large and well appointed. The beds were very comfortable and the towels were fluffy and plentiful. Aixa and Eva at the front desk , together with their male counterparts were always smiling and asking us what they could do for us. From making suggestions, to researching topics, to making us reservations,to making us coffee or tea, and even confirming our flights and going through a check list to make sure we had not forgotten anything before leaving the hotel- each task was attended to with an evident desire to please.It was a very positive and memorable experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I only have the highest compliments for the Glu. Its location is unmatched, in the wonderful, lively and romantically bohemian Palermo neighborhood, surrounded by amazing coffee shops, bookstores, bars, restaurants...Second, the hotel itself. It is very modern, clean, full of light, and very comfortable. What sets it apart from other great boutique hotels is its attention to detail. The robes, the slippers, the adapters and even umbrellas available... The breakfast is also amazing. GOOD coffee and tea are served either in the cute dining space in the lobby, or in the rooms themselves. There is always fresh croissants, fruit, white and wheat breads... But the best part about the Glu is ITS SERVICE. THANK YOU, AIXA AND THE REST OF THE TEAM, FOR YOUR EXCELLENCE! It is so rare to find a team with a VOCATION for PERFECT SERVICE. From the ever-present smiles, the right recommendations, the courtesies (taking your bags upstairs, setting your preferred temperatures in the jacuzzi, etc.), the organizing/cleaning our room EVERY TIME WE LEFT, no matter how many times during the day, they made our stay unforgettable. We would definitely go back. We loved it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My daughters and I stayed at the Glu for almost a week. The rooms were spacious and the service was terrific. Excellent English. The front desk helped us arrange an overnight trip to Colonnia in Uruguay. The breakfast is simple, but perfectly adequate. Great coffee. Try to get a room that doesn't face the street....much quieter. We enjoyed their sauna facility several times during our stay. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the street. Much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We moved here after a bad experience at Ilum (review posted previously). We booked for 3 nights as we're cautious in Argentina about quality, but extended it for 7 more nights as it was briliant service! All rooms are suites, very spacious, with small balconies. The breakfast is small but adequate for the standards in the city. What was super special was the extra steps the staff (and owner who is there frequently) are willing to take to make guest feel comfortable. We arrived at 7 am and were told to sit down and have breakfast. Before we knew it (10 minutes) we were told our room was ready and our bags had already been sent up. Frankly we have never met such friendly staff in any hotel (93 countries traveled so far). They even offered us a bottle of cold water to take away everytime they saw us heading out. Gave us advice on the city, bars, restaurants, taxis, etc and all were right on the spot. Always a smile on their faces. One night we found a note with a complimentary bottle of wine and chocolates, just because... Wifi is excellent. they have a rooftop jacuzzi, a sauna and Scottish shower. They also have plenty of dvd's and books to enjoy for free. There is absolutely no complaint about this hotel, only compliments!

Room Tip: Even the cheapest rooms are more than adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Glu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glu Hotel

Address: Godoy Cruz 1733, Buenos Aires 1414, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#4 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#17 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glu Hotel is an intimate and serene boutique hotel in the heart of Palermo Soho. The Glu Hotel is a fine attribute of minimalism style and sumptuousness, combining a luxury and tranquil setting. Facilities include The Courtyard and The Terrace where a variety of drinks, cocktails and wines are served within a relaxing scenery located in the heart of the city. A true escape for those in search of tranquility. Amenities & Services: King-sized bed Fine linen Wide rainfall shower 32-inch flat-screen LCD TV DVD player Coffeemaker and microwave Crockery and glassware Mini-bar Heating (individually controlled in each room) Air conditioning Boutique wine selection Surround music system L’ Occitane amenities Wireless Internet and high speed internet access Safe deposite box (can accommodate a laptop) Desk Hairdryer Robes and slippers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Glu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glu Hotel Buenos Aires

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Glu Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.