We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personable in Palermo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Glu Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Glu Hotel to your Saves list
The Glu Hotel
Godoy Cruz 1733, Buenos Aires 1414, Argentina (Palermo)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 437 Hotels in Buenos Aires
NY, NY
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Personable in Palermo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Loved the Glu. Great location near a slew of wonderful, unpretentious restaurants and cafes/bars. The subway is a bit of a hike but do-able. Our room was spacious, clean and quiet. We were on the back on the 2nd floor and we had a small balcony. The bathroom with a bidet but no tub, was smallish and had a good shower. Minor floor flooding with a slow drain but no biggie. Breakfast, served in the lobby area, was good. Hard boiled eggs and continental fare. All of this is important but what really takes the Glu into excellence is the service of everyone on the front desk. Joanna, Aixa, Luciano and Giuliano are all welcoming, resourceful, warm, efficient and,unfailingly kind and helpful. We recommend the Glu without hesitation and would return there, in a heartbeat, if ever we are lucky enough to revisit BA.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    71
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
64
297
33
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Glu is a boutique hotel that I always stay in Buenos Aires. There must be no more than 16 rooms in a 4 floors building. The rooms are spacious, big bed, clean and nice sheets. Good service, but there is no fitness center or swimming pool.

The neighborhood has a lot of restaurants and nightlife.

Room Tip: Prefer to stay on the room not facing the street because of the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We started our South America journey at this boutique hotel. From the moment that we arrived, the staff was incredibly helpful. They took the initiative and offered advice on what to see and do in B.A. They made coffee for us everytime we passed through the lobby, which we enjoyed. The room was very roomy and comfortable. The bathroom was a bit small, but who goes to Buenos Aires to hang out in the hotel bathroom? As the other reviewers note, there wasn't an on-site workout room. The gym they recommended several blocks away worked out fine, although our inability to speak Spanish was more of an issue there. We enjoyed meeting the other hotel guests at breakfast (most of whom were American), all of whom seemed impressed with the hotel. It would have been nice if there had been a wine hour to meet the other guests. We especially enjoyed the neighborhood. We always felt safe and there was a friendly vibe. Later in our trip we stayed in Recoleta, but found that we were still cabbing it back to Palermo Soho for eating and drinking.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I just stayed at Torrecillas…what a mistake. One block down was The Glu where I had stayed just a few months ago. Looking at the people eating breakfast and the memories of the room, the room staff, the front desk telling guests what they had for breakfast and telling them that they would take it to their rooms at no extra cost. The way that all is taken care of…this is why they get the best rating. Make sure you make the reservations ahead of time…they will fill up quickly and once you stay, you will wish they had room for you.
This is a great hotel. Attentive and so roomy. You will wish that other countries had hotels like this boutique hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American in Bogota
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

When going to BA you have to know what neighborhood you want to be in. I didn't want to be in Puerto Madero because I thought it would be to corporate in nature and I didn't want Recoleta because it seemed like it would be a lot of high rises and not as much charm and cute shopping as Palermo. And in the end, I was very happy staying in Palermo Soho. The Glu is very close to lots of dining and boutique shopping alternatives and the neighborhood is mostly townhouses, though like all of BA there is plenty of traffic. We taxi'd all over town without a problem and distances from one place to another didn't seem extraordinary to me.

I think the service was as good as at any hotel I've ever stayed in - everyone on staff is universally friendly, eager to help, well versed in dining and entertainment options and just generally prepared for whatever you toss their way. Additionally, because the hotel is so small you always feel like their #1 priority. This is really a huge plus when traveling abroad and in many respects, I believe far more important than the rooms themselves. We were universally happy with all their dining recommendations and the tango show they arranged for us.

We traveled with two small children (ages 3 and 5) and stayed in the largest suite of the hotel (kids on a sofa bed) which was spacious (except for the bathroom which was a tad cramped) and the accomodations and finishings were fine - not the fanciest I've ever stayed in, but certainly comfortable and attractive and newish. We had no street noise (there was even a fire across the street one night and we didn't hear a thing!) I wasn't wow'd by the daily breakfast (it's a very light continental breakfast that does not change daily so after 7 days we were really tired of it.) Also, if you are a lobby/hotel bar/restaurant person or make lots of use of facilities at hotels like a gym, spa or pool, this is probably not your best choice, because the common spaces are fairly small. You pretty much have your room and all that lovely Buenos Aires culture out there waiting for you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed for three nights with friends. Check in was fantastic, sat down with receiptionist who gave recommendations, map ect.The staff were extremely helpful during our stay. Will highly recommend to other friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed for three nights at the Glu Hotel in early August and loved it! They helped organise a pick-up from the airport (make sure you have enough pesos) and welcomed us with complimentary Quillmes cervezas!

The standard of the accommodation was first-class: spacious rooms, balcony, big bathrooms with great shower - and generally very funky and sleek decor throughout. The breakfasts were ample with great cafe con leche. The staff were always very helpful and spoke great English. ALways happy to recommend good restaurants, sights, transport options, etc. Special thanks to Aixa for your help during out stay!

Finally the location is awesome: right in the heart of Palermo Soho within throwing distance of the best shops, bars, and restuarants in Buenos Aires. An excellent boutique hotel option within one of South America's mega-cities.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Glu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glu Hotel

Address: Godoy Cruz 1733, Buenos Aires 1414, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#5 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#25 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glu Hotel is an intimate and serene boutique hotel in the heart of Palermo Soho. The Glu Hotel is a fine attribute of minimalism style and sumptuousness, combining a luxury and tranquil setting. Facilities include The Courtyard and The Terrace where a variety of drinks, cocktails and wines are served within a relaxing scenery located in the heart of the city. A true escape for those in search of tranquility. Amenities & Services: King-sized bed Fine linen Wide rainfall shower 32-inch flat-screen LCD TV DVD player Coffeemaker and microwave Crockery and glassware Mini-bar Heating (individually controlled in each room) Air conditioning Boutique wine selection Surround music system La€™ Occitane amenities Wireless Internet and high speed internet access Safe deposite box (can accommodate a laptop) Desk Hairdryer Robes and slippers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Glu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glu Hotel Buenos Aires

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Glu Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.