We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bohemia Buenos Aires

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Bohemia Buenos Aires to your Saves list
Bohemia Buenos Aires
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Peru 845 | San Telmo, Buenos Aires 1068, Argentina   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #202 of 436 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We visited Buenos Aires for five nights, staying at the Bohemia Buenos Aires the whole time.

The hotel was clean and well-furnished, with an artsy Bohemian feel (hence the name, I guess). Interesting pieces of art on the wall, books about art and culture in the lounge, that kind of thing.

The room itself was clean and adequately equipped, with the usual amenities (aircon, TV etc). There is wifi in the hotel but you have to make sure you connect for the right one for your floor - connection strength is patchy otherwise.

The service was friendly without being too clingy. All of our requests were handled quickly and efficiently. The desk staff spoke good English, the cleaners not so much.

The buffet breakfast was decent, with a selection of cold meats, cheese, breads and cakes. It's not exactly five-star but it's more than adequate for this price range.

What we liked best was the location. You're in San Telmo, obviously, but you also have La Boca, Puerto Madero and Monserrat in easy walking distance. Even Recoleta is only a moderate effort if you've got the time and energy; otherwise, it's just a short taxi ride away.

All in all, Bohemia was a very pleasant place to stay and a perfect base from which to explore the port area of Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BohemiaBuenosAires, Director of Sales at Bohemia Buenos Aires, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your review.
Yes! We have an Art Galery that expose every 5 months art pieces of emerging artists.
Thank you for remark our staff atention and breakfast too, now we also have our own baker.

As you say the location its really good to know the Buenos Aires turist spots.

We hope to see you again! Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    82
    44
    3
    7
See reviews for
32
91
21
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed at Bohemia for 6 nights and it was perfect for what we wanted. We wanted simple, affordable and clean accommodation and that is what we got. The online booking was effortless, paying in US$ gave us a great discounted rate and we loved San Telmo. The rooms are small - but when we travel we spend almost no time in our room anyway. The beds we comfortable ( good beds are sometimes hard to come by). Our transfers to and from the airport we booked for us and the company used was timeous! Breakfast was lovely and in general it was well situated and a wonderful stay.


If I were to make any negative comment it is that there is no tourist information. It would have been wonderful to have flyers and possible tour information and things to do. The reason I say this is that we could easily have used the internet - no problem but when you get to a foreign country it is great to have 'preferred supplier' information or 'things to do'. I found the staff incredibly friendly and helpful (English limited) but with almost no ability to recommend touristy stuff.

We had a wonderful stay in BA!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BohemiaBuenosAires, Director of Sales at Bohemia Buenos Aires, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments. We appreciate your nice description about your experience with us and the neighborhood. We will make an effort to improve the touristic information that the front desk gives to passengers. Thank you for your advise.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Perfect spot to base yourself in San Telmo on a lower budget. Nice, standard rooms and excellent, friendly staff. Breakfast was as good as any included breakfasts around. Definitely would recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BohemiaBuenosAires, Director of Sales at Bohemia Buenos Aires, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review! As you describe we are in a perfect spot in San Telmo. We are happy to hear nice words about our staff. We work hard every day to improve our atention
Kind Regards! Have a very nice new year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Best place to be not welcome. If you pay in a local currency you can't get a discount. If you ask for a taxi in the reception they propose you do it yourself. If you eat in their restaurant you can pay very expensive for horrible vegetables (it would be a hot plate but half of the vegetables were cold). Would you like to pay more than 200 argentine pesos for potatoes, onions and carrots + strawberry juice? WE suggest you to avoid this place. The toilet in the room was old, the clime doesn't work well and the service is a shame.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BohemiaBuenosAires, Director of Sales at Bohemia Buenos Aires, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear guest,
We are sorry about your bad experience on our hotel. We are checking all the proceses on the restaurant to find what happened with the meal you recieved, and also with the recepcionists. Please send us an e-mail with your situation to make a better improve and to check the bill too.
Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmdale, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I stayed here just last week, it is a nice clean place with an awesome breakfast, centrally located in San Telmo and it was totally reasonably priced. It is basic, but that's the whole deal at this price range..has a nice patio in the back and even coming back late, I felt totally safe - do not believe the folks that say this is a dodgy area - its safe....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BohemiaBuenosAires, Director of Sales at Bohemia Buenos Aires, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your nice comments about our hotel and area. Its important for us and for other future coustumers to hear from a guest that the area its safe.
Mary Christmas and happy new year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noelville
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We have stayed at the Hotel Bohemia for the past two years. It is clean, staff friendly, breakfast good, has a lovely little garden and is quiet. The rooms are small but just fine if what you want is to be out in BA for the days. The value is also good and of course its location is wonderful if you like San Telmo but not a long walk to other parts of BA.
We are booking again for early January 2014.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BohemiaBuenosAires, Director of Sales at Bohemia Buenos Aires, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review! Our staff thanks you too!
We are happy to recieve you again soon
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Our room was basic but clean and comfortable. The breakfast was good with cereal, bread, toast, fruit, yoghurt, pastries, fruit juice and coffee to choose from. The best thing about the hotel was its location: San Telmo is a fantastic place to stay in Buenos Aires. We were located near several good restaurants, cafe's and shops, and were also within easy walking distance of the Sunday market. There are several places in San Telmo to watch Tango shows in the evening. We felt safe walking around San Telmo in the daytime and into the evening but did not try walking around late at night so don't know what it is like then. Overall, a good budget option.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BohemiaBuenosAires, Director of Sales at Bohemia Buenos Aires, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your opinion, San Telmo is definitely good choise to live the real city, and is really close to the most important tourist district. Thank you also for your comments about our clean and comfortable rooms and our breakfast variety.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bohemia Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bohemia Buenos Aires

Address: Peru 845 | San Telmo, Buenos Aires 1068, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Best Value Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bohemia Buenos Aires 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like your trip is not a simple visit, we actually live Buenos Aires and enjoy new experiences that enrich you culturally. Bohemia Buenos Aires Hotel is located in the heart of San Telmo. Our hotel has more than 900 square meters covered, wide spaces overlooking the gardens to enjoy and share with friends and other visitors who choose to know the culture of Buenos Aires. The 22 rooms have private bathrooms and large windows that give great light.But beyond the comfort and privacy of Bohemia Buenos Aires Hotel offers the most important thing for us is the service and excellent attention to our visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Bohemia Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bohemia Buenos Aires Hotel Buenos Aires

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bohemia Buenos Aires, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.