We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More very satisfied customers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lola House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lola House to your Saves list
Lola House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castro Barros 1073 | Barrio de Boedo, Buenos Aires 1217, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 436 Hotels in Buenos Aires
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“More very satisfied customers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

We found Lola House on Trip Advisor as we needed somewhere to stay for 1 night in Buenos Aires before heading back to London. The reviews were so enthusiastic that we had no hesitation about making the booking and everything was just as we had read. We were greeted like old friends by Ana, Lidia and Santiago rather than people coming through for a single night. Our room was cool as the fan had obviously been switched on for some time. On hearing we were planning to go to a tango show at Esquina Homero Manzi (only 2 blocks away and such a good place to listen to tango music and singing and watch dancing that this in itself is a good reason to stay at Lola House), they insisted on ringing to make sure there would be a table for us. The next morning Lidia told us about the free city tour given in English every day which we really enjoyed and would recommend (www.bafreetour.com). Another example of the detail which shows what good hosts they are was that when we arrived back late afternoon to collect our luggage and get a cab to the airport, they offered us the use of a shower and provided fresh towels for us - this was very much appreciated as it had been a very hot day and we were wilting but were then able to get into our cab feeling like new people.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    56
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
41
178
47
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

We stayed here when we first arrived in Buenos Aires at the beginning of January and returned for our last couple of nights after our 6 week journey around Argentina. It was great the first time and when we came back it was like coming to stay with old friends. No problem being out of the centre of the city. In fact Bodeo district is a great non- touristy area with good restaurants and an local feel to it. Lidia, Ana and Santiago are the best hosts, nothing is too much trouble. The only challenge is to eat all the breakfast that Lidia offers. We failed. Has anyone managed it?

Lovely people, lovely place - stay there.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

There's nothing like having a great host when you go to a new country, and at Lola House you get two! Lidia and Ana are amazing owners that are constantly caring for you, laughing, making jokes, making you you have what you need, and having a good time. It makes you want to spend more time at the hotel than you normally would. If what you like about traveling is the people, then this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

Unless you want to specifically stay in one of the major hotel chains, then please check out the Lola House. Visitors are treated like family to the point that you hate to leave. Rooms are large, wifi is excellent, breakfast is excellent and plentiful. But most important is the genuine Argentinian experience that the Lola and the neighborhood offers.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

The rooms are nice and clean and the location to the main area of BA is vrery handy in deed. There is a subway stop (the subways are quite easy to use) just around the corner from the hotel to take you into the city, or it is also a nice walk from the hotel to the main city area. There are tango shows and restaurants nearby as well. The breakfast on offer is also very good.

But what sets this hotel apart from the others are the staff. They are warm and friendly and don't treat you like hotel guests, but like family. Thankyou Anna, Lydia and Santiago for making my first stop in South America a memorable and pleasant one and l
lookf forward to my stop there on my way home.

Muchisimas Gracias
Mark

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluffton, sc
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

What to say about a small B&B type hotel, not in the middle of downtown Buenos Aires..there is only one thing...ITS WORTH EVERY PENNY. The rooms dont have phones ( who needs them anyway) are sparsely furnished..(you dont need more) and is located a 15 minute subway (a two block walk) ride to the absolute center of the city.

There are not enough words to express our thanks for the perfect treatment we received. No effort was spared to make our stay comfortable...from breakfast to their assistance in the ways of B.A.

IF HOSPITALITY IS IMPORTANT YOU CANNOT GO WRONG FOR STAYING HERE.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

I highly recommend Lola House .To walk into the hotel felt like walking into an Italian Villa In Tuscany with its blue tiles, ocra coloured walls and pots of flowers everywhere. Outside of every floor was a seating area with wrought iron tables and chairs so people from each suite could communicate with each other.

The two sisters who own Lola House were very helpful and welcoming as were the reception staff, it was very clean throughout. The taxi driver Charlie that does the main pick-up and drop-off from the hotel was the best and full of information on Buenos Aires.
As a special bonus he has numerous cds of jazz and was a source of great knowledge on the jazz greats.

Breakfasts delicous, good restaurants close by.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lola House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lola House

Address: Castro Barros 1073 | Barrio de Boedo, Buenos Aires 1217, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Buenos Aires
#63 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#73 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lola House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new concept in lodging. In Boedo tango district, a large late XIX century house. Rooms with private bath. Breakfast included. Welcome drink. Air conditioner. Cable T.V. Snack bar. Reading room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lola House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lola House Hotel Buenos Aires
Lola Hotel Buenos Aires

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lola House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.