We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once the best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sucre

Sucre
Sucre 676, Buenos Aires, Argentina (Belgrano)
47829082
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #142 of 3,007 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $75
Cuisines: International, Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Belgrano
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Once the best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

This is still a very good place even many years after opening it's doors.
Good ambient and good food.
Good music too.
A litlle far from the center.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    153
    61
    25
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“This restaurant was perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Better than all the parrillas and wine bar restaurants in Buenos Aires.
Very cool atmosphere. Attentive and knowledgable staff. We were very impressed with the fabulous steak and fish dishes. The wine was exquisite. Desserts scrumptious. Only sorry we didn't get to come back again on our visit to Argentina. Nothing else compared to Sucre!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
401 helpful votes 401 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant in one of the best neighbourhoods”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We booked this prior to getting to BA for dinner.

The place is located in one of the most beautiful BA neighbourhoods, and the setting inside reminds a bit like a retro NY 1930's with wood, carpet, and some very stylish ceiling fans (there is air con as well do not get fooled the place is quite upscale).

We were greeted with the extremely friendly maitre, and were seated for a drink first that we had the best sangria we tried in BA.

The menu is just the right side without 2044284 pages of stuff, but at the same time giving you a very decent choice.

We shared a Tbone that was cooked exactly how we wanted it, with the only setback that the roasted vegetables that we asked to acompany it were just "ok".

Save room for the deserts, especially the chocolate mouse is crazy,

Very decent wine selection as well, even though we stuck to sangria due to 35 degrees outside.

Highly recommended,

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good experience with a few hickups”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We had my husband's birthday dinner there. Unfortunately the signature dish "Patagonian lamb" was out :-(
We had very good ceviche as starter - the mango gives it just the right fruity note. The boar and the pork were very tender and tasty, however the potatoes accompanying the pork were hard and dry. The salad accompanying the boar surprised by combining fruit and salad. The dulce de leche volcano took some preparation time but was worth the wait. The combination with the ice cream makes it wonderful.
The wine we chose was not available but we were recommended a good alternative. The wine list is extensive.
Service was good and attentive.
Price of around 100 Euros for drinks, wine and 3course meal is not low, but ok for a special occasion.
Unfortunately the ac didn't work so with 38 degrees outside this was quite a challenge...
The restaurant is quite far from Recoleta so we ordered a remiss at Sucre. After half an hour wait we decided to flag a cab down ourselves.
All in all a good experience but nothing spectacular. Btw:reservation on their website is easy!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful aesthetics and great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We took our family there, the drinks were good, service fantastic. I thought the beef was a bit weird, a little gamey, but that may have been me not being used to that sort of beef. The chicken I ordered was amazing and our kids were quite happy with their orders. All in all one of the best dining experiences we've had here in Buenos Aires!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sucre also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Sucre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sucre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.