We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food and drinks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Core

Core
15000 North Secret Springs Drive, Ritz Carlton at Dove Mountain, Marana, AZ 85658
(520) 572-3000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Core is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 39 Restaurants in Marana
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: The main 5star restaurant at the Ritz Carlton, outside of Tucson.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Amazing food and drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The food and drinks were superb at Core. Make sure to stop by for a meal while staying at Dove Mountain!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    17
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Decent food, prices don't match the quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The service was excellent and the wine list was excellent (but overpriced, even by restaurant standards). The food was "pretty good," but did not impress, especially considering the price and how nice the rest of the resort is. Honestly, I would drive 20 minutes to some of the near by establishments.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Good attentive server and they gave us a table outside so your son could run around when he got bored.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“What an excellent meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

My wife and I ate at Core while on a staycation recently. Core is the fine dining restaurant at the Ritz Dove Mountain.

First off, I think this is the best value of any of the restaurants on site. The previous night we had sandwiches, a couple drinks, and an appetizer at Ignite and rang up a $130 bill. At Core we had an appetizer, dessert, half bottle of dessert wine, along with entrees and only spent $165. It's still pricey but compared to other on site options it seems like a better value.

For appetizer my wife had the dungeness crab salad over sunchoke puree which she raved about. Our entrees were salmon over mixed veg succotash for her and then I had a filet over sour-cream mashed potatoes with grilled asparagus. The meat was fantastic but the demiglace the put over it made me want to lick the plate. We went late so the restaurant was almost empty...I think I could have gotten away with it. Desert was the Turtle Torte and was fantastic...salted caramel sauce drizzled over everything was simply amazing.

I was taken aback at the hostess stand when she asked us if we had any food allergies or preferences they needed to be aware of...just never been asked that before, but it shows they try hard to take good care of guests.

I would recommend this place, along with their extensive wine list, to anyone. I really enjoyed it and would gladly go back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver City, New Mexico
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Very nice dinner and full breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

Very nice evening dinner. Exceptional service. Would like to have seen better aged steak selection, but overall very nice and would definitely return. Worth the drive out of Tucson to have a special dinner. Full breakfast exceptional!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Core? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Core, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.