We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent resort!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Dove Mountain

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Dove Mountain to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Dove Mountain
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15000 N Secret Springs Dr, Marana, AZ 85658   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Comfort & Joy Holiday
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Marana
los angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent resort!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We love this resort! We stayed for my husband's birthday with two young children, a baby and a toddler. The staff made us feel welcome the instant we arrived. The property is filled with activities for the children. The pool, the kids club has animals that the children can pet, the staff gave our children stuffed animals every time we ate. The hotel staff went out of their way to make my husband's birthday amazing. When our baby started crying during dinner, we asked for boxes to take our meal to our room. The waiter had the food delivered via room service with a note and dessert apologizing and letting us know that we did not have to leave even though our baby was crying. The service was excellent and I can't wait to come back again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    102
    36
    4
    9
See reviews for
153
253
16
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We loved our stay here. Its a lot more laid back than most other Ritz properties we've stayed at, less luxurious, but the staff is still friendly and helpful. The pool area is very nice, fun for adults with no kids and families with kids, as the pool area is split in two areas. There is a lot to do at this resort, which is good because its in the middle on nowhere. Because of its location, we never left the property to eat, so our meals were pricey. So plan ahead if you're on a budget. We had a few issues with our room while we stayed here that were never resolved. But we didn't find ourselves in the room too much, so we didn't worry about them. I would stay here again. And be warned, this is a rustic resort, there are bugs EVERYWHERE! In the rooms, outside,we saw a giant bullfrog on the path to the spa so its probably not for the squemish.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay. Our room was upgraded in the summer for a reasonable price, and we could almost just walk out the door to the pool facilities. We spent the day at the pool and my daughter loved every minute of the waterslide. In the afternoon, the staff staged a race for the kids on inflatable dolphins. The pool staff were fantastic. The views are amazing. My only complaint really is that the location makes it a bit of a pain to dine anywhere else, and it is very pricey to eat here. If you want an isolated getaway, this is definitely the place, but if you're looking to see any other part of Tucson or Marana, it's quite a bit of driving.

Room Tip: We had a ground level suite with a separate bedroom on the north side, which is closer to the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Ritz Carlton Dove Mountain is in the middle of nowhere and that's one of its best assets. The stars at night were amazing and I could have spent hours stargazing at the pool or from my patio. The hotel is fairly new and a very impressive property. The pool is incredible and even as an adult I was able to enjoy the water slide late into the evening on a Saturday. Thankfully they don't close the pool area early as there isn't much else to do late at night.

Because this hotel is in the middle of nowhere, they pretty much have a monopoly on everything and aren't afraid to charge for it. I wasn't shocked but the food prices were high but I expected the quality to be a bit better. There were some highlights such as the banana/peanut butter/chocolate smoothies and the avocado fries. Everything else I had was pretty standard fare and did not leave me wanting more. In my experience, I've noticed that Four Seasons have higher quality food than Ritz Carlton.

The rooms are beautiful and comfortable with all of the amenities that you would expect. A refrigerator that isn't a pressure sensitive mini bar would be nice so bring your own cooler if you need to store things. BYOB is definitely a good idea unless cost is not an issue for you! A $10 bottle of Louis Martini Cabernet is about $60 here.

Every room has a patio so you can sit out and enjoy the desert creatures. I saw tortoises, a roadrunner (meep meep), and various lizards from the comfort of my patio. The resident desert tortoises on site (Rocky and the big one) are delightful and a must see. It is so cute to watch them eat! There are also plenty of snakes, spiders, and scorpions in the Ranger zone. Adults were welcomed to check out the creatures!

The staff is amazing. They remember your names and seem genuinely nice and happy to work at the hotel. It sure seems like a nice place to work - I could spend all day there! I tend not to bother the staff too much but I'm sure any need you have would be promptly addressed. Service in the restaurants was somewhat spotty and was sometimes slow. Friends we were with had a badly messed up breakfast order at Core but it was comped which was a nice gesture.

The resort fee is a bit ridiculous at $40 a day ($45 with tax!). It includes wifi, valet parking, and a few other things. I won't get into a debate on the validity of resort fees as it has become such a common thing to do in the industry but I find the whole idea of it ridiculous and a cheap way to get more money out of people. I would have been perfectly happy with the resort fee IF access to the spa and its pool was included. Most of the nice resorts I have stayed at (various Ritz and Four Seasons) have included spa access in their daily resort fee. Even the best spa I have ever been to - the Four Seasons Westlake Village even includes it with their cheaper resort fee. Having access to the pool and spa probably would have tempted me to buy a service so I don't understand why it is not included. This alone would make me hesitant to come back here. I didn't feel justified spending $50 additional simply to have 2 people use the adult pool at the spa.

I can't help but compare the Ritz Carlton Dove Mountain to the Four Seasons Troon North in Scottsdale as they remind me so much of each other. In a head to head competition, I would take select the Four Seasons Troon North. The food is far better and the rooms are more comfortable. The Ritz wins the pool competition thanks to the slide and infinity edge. I assume the Ritz spa is better but I wouldn't know since I would have had to pony up $50 to see it. Both are great resorts so it's like choosing between a BMW and Mercedes.

Overall, a good time at the Ritz Carlton Dove Mountain. It was relaxing, peaceful, and I felt like I was far away from the rest of the world. Include the spa in your resort fee and I will head back to Tucson instead of Scottsdale!

Room Tip: Facing the mountain area is very nice. It may be worth an additional charge. Rooms overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

From the minute you drive through the gate until your last moment, a stay at the Ritz-Carlton Dove Mountain is everything and more than you could ask for in a beautiful high desert location. The service is impeccable and staff members make you feel as if you are their most important guests. Rooms are lovely, well appointed, very comfortable and quiet. The pools are huge, well staffed and maintained - a great place for our grandchildren to visit us for the day from their nearby home. They especially loved meeting the resident tortoises at feeding time and, of course, the 250 foot plus long water slide was a big hit!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We enjoyed this lovely dessert resort in August. It was nice and hot and great to spend the day in a cabana by the pool. Service everywhere in this resort was GREAT! At the pool, they would bring out sample treats and sample cocktails throughout the day. Awesome!

Great for kids too! The kids menus are great. Our kids loved the turtles that live on the property, the water slide and the Gourmet S'mores they do on Saturday nights.

The restaurant was nothing short of amazing. Can't wait to enjoy another amazing meal.

The coffee bar was great... some inconsistencies on how drinks are mixed between the staff. But all in all pretty good. Try the banana bread... Amazing!

The menu at the lobby bar and service was just so so. Stick to the fine dining restaurant downstairs and if a more casual atmosphere is desired, head down to the pool.

Rooms were amazing. I did not love the toiletries... they were Ausprey... not as good as the Ritz Carlton brand toiletries we had in Hawaii. Only other weird thing was that turn down service was very inconsistent... one night they came and we were all in bed already... another day they came and our kids were napping...
Beds were great, slept very well. Splurge and upgrade to a suite... it was totally worth it!!! The balcony was great to watch the monsoons. Bathroom was very nice with large shower. Room was spacious with living room. Loved it!

The spa is a must-do. Our treatments were wonderful... could have just lived in the spa the whole trip!

Can't wait to go back... the whole family had a great time!!!

Room Tip: Get a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Attended a business conference at the Ritz in May 2013. Great facility, service, food and golf but isolated in the desert. Closest offsite shopping of any size is a Walgreens about 8 miles off the resort property. You have to drive 20 miles or so for anything non resort related. A nice resort, as most all Ritz Carltons are, but again pretty isolated. Would I stay here again, yes if I just wanted to play golf and enjoy good food and drink. But, if that is all I wanted, I'd go to Bandon Dunes.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Dove Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Dove Mountain

Address: 15000 N Secret Springs Dr, Marana, AZ 85658
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Marana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Marana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Dove Mountain 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Dove Mountain is Tucson's newest luxury resort, introduced December 18, 2009. Nestled in the high Sonoran Desert against the Tortolita Mountains,featuring a destination spa, adventure programs that can restore your soul, world class hiking, Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf, indoor and outdoor dining including True American Cuisine at CORE Kitchen and Wine Bar, and richly appointed accommodations in a striking canyon setting. This resort is a place where adventure and a gracious spirit come to life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Dove Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Dove Mountain Hotel Marana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Dove Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.