We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Out” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Steak Out

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Steak Out
3620 W Tangerine Rd., Marana, AZ 85716
520.572.1300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 39 Restaurants in Marana
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Thonydale and Tangerine
Transit: There is no Public transit nearby our Restaurant.
Description: Sister restaurant to the Steak Out in Sonoita Arizona.
Tucson
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Stay Out”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We are "locals" and have dined at this establishment once prior to this LAST visit. On a previous visit, my wife and I were turned off by being offered a salad in a plastic or composite material bowl that looked like a dog chewed the edges. We swore we would not come back and I notified the County Health Department of the issue the next day.
Yesterday, we decided to go out for burgers for dinner rather than cook at home. My wife had a discount coupon for this place and its close to home so we decided to try it again. As Yogi said, "Deja vu all over again" When we were seated my wife noticed that the bread plate setting that was on the table had a large chip on the rim. I don't keep or use chipped china had home and do not expect to in a restaurant. As we were only ordering burgers and fries, she would not be using this dish anyway so we blew it off.
The place was not that busy (Monday night) but it took twenty- five minutes plus for us to get our food. Burgers were small for the price charged. The hamburger rolls were dry and less than fresh and we wound up removing the burgers and eating them sans the bread. The lettuce garnish. was wilted and the cowboy beans served on the side were tasteless. The beans were unflavored and were obviously just some canned beans that were heated in the canning liquid and served. If they do not know how to make real Cowboy beans, they would be much better off by at least serving a good quality canned beans such as Ranch Style or Bush's. Condiments were absent from the tables. Only one small cup of catsup was presented with the meal. We had to request additional catsup.
Beer ($7 domestic draft - 16 oz) and $6 import draft - 12 Oz) are extremely overpriced for this venue. Wine list is weak and overpriced. We opted for Ice tea @$3 per. Our total bill for two hamburges w/ fries and two iced teas was $27.50. The coupon brought this down to a total of $23.81 not including the tip.
Truthfully, the wait staff was efficient and courteous in spite of a very
slow kitchen. Our server was attentive to refilling our iced tea glasses and checking on us. She received a proper tip.
I think we will Stay Out of the Steak Out in the future.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    12
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
omaha, ne
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

After being recommended we choose to dine here . Maybe it's being from the Midwest and steak is great but we had a lousy meal. Salad dressing watered down, margarita watered down sweet potatoe fries tasted like they had been cooked and reheated in a microwave - steak at best was just ok. My husband and I both decided if your a steak house you had better be good.
Could not recommend anyone to eat there-no energy there and not worth the money.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marana, Arizona
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Poor Service & Mediocre Food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We've eaten at the Steak Out before, but this was likely our last time. Our server was negligent AND slow. We had to ask to "Would you please take our order." "Would you please bring some condiments?" "Could we please have our check?" If you're serving a group of people who mostly ordered burgers and fries, wouldn't you anticipate they'd all want ketchup & mustard?! We had to ask three times before we got what we needed...meanwhile, with our food getting cold. The restaurant was not overly busy, so we couldn't figure out the reason for the paucity of attention that we were getting. (We were a total of five; two couples with one senior.) I guess she was inexperienced or under-trained. The burgers were nothing special, small for the size of the bun, cooked as we ordered, but nothing to rave about, rather dry. I hope anyone else who goes here has a better experience than we did!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A Real Steakhouse”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Some of the reviews made me cautious about trying this restaurant. The room WAS noisy, as stated by others. The main reason is that it's one big, open room with concrete floor and all hard surfaces for walls and ceiling. Not terrible but there was no band on a Thursday night. The band would be in the bar but you would hear it from everywhere. My New York steak was tasty but had a lot of gristle. Temperature was correct or a little overdone. Wedge fries were delicious, baked beans nothing special.
Prompt service and good to a little high prices. It is a real steakhouse and with a lack of them around, I will eventually go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Birthday Celebration!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We recently visited The Steak Out to celebrate a birthday on a Sunday evening we had a private room which adequately accomodated our group of 15 ... the staff was prompt and very attentive...our food was delicious although my favorite Steak Out is the one in Sonoita (which is the original)...nonetheless we all had a good time and a great dinner...would recommend to anyone wanting to have a small but memorable celebration!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Steak Out also viewed

 

Been to The Steak Out? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Steak Out, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.