We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous... Value for Money.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barracuda Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Barracuda Beach Resort to your Saves list
Barracuda Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 1311, Umm Al Quwain, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Umm Al Quwain
Doha, Qatar
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous... Value for Money.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I do not fully agree with the comments of the other fellow travelers who has written their reviews only highlighting the negatives. Its true that the BBR had some minor imperfections in the past which we've noticed has been recently been worked on and improved. Please remember that "No one is Perfect.. That is why even the Pencils have Erasers"... The best thing i feel about barracuda beach resort is their location. I and my family has stayed here for at least 15 times or more. Always stayed at this hotel for a short weekend breaks because of its excellent location, away from traffic and all the commotion of a city. Its 35 minutes drive from Dubai Airport and 20 minutes away from both Sharjah & Ras Al Khaimah Airport. The resort atmosphere is so calm and peaceful. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful at all stages of our visit, clean and spacious rooms and fairly good food. We always stay in the cabanas which is by the beach side, with a private beach front and lawn ideal for barbeque and other outdoor activities. The beach is not very deep that makes it perfectly safe for even children to have a quick swim. In addition they also have a temperature controlled swimming pool, a restaurant and a games center to chill out and relax. We found it worth for the price we pay. Overall, the way the resort is set with its surroundings very family friendly & not to forget the staff being customer oriented.

One valuable suggestion I've for them to improve their services is to make WiFi available throughout their rooms as nowadays communication & connectivity has become a part of our everyday rituals.

Good Luck guys and keep up the great job. Hope to be back soon.

Frank & Family...

Room Tip: Try & enjoy the cabana experience and am sure you'll go back there again just as we did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    31
    20
    8
    4
See reviews for
22
8
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

It is not a beach resort as the beach stinks and one cannot relax by the beach. Temperature controls of AC do not work leading to excessive cooling. Beds are broken and not comfortable. No appliances in kitchen. Overall not really a value for money

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

That's right. The beach is invisible.
We had put up in this resort for a night. It was more of a Picnic, Since we a group of 17 people had booked 2 one bedroom suite for a weekend outing.
There's no beach here. Putting that word in their name is just to lure people.
That said, the rooms were in a good condition with everything working fine.
It has got a central swimming pool which provides some relief in an otherwise dull resort. We had gone here in the peak summer we should be avoided at all costs.
The whole night a stink was emanating from the sea side because instead of a beach there is this swamp.
The food we didn't try so can't comment.
It's only worthwhile as a picnic resort during the winter season. Otherwise just give it a miss.

Room Tip: Go for the Cabana's & always ask for a discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I booked Barracuda Beach Resort (BBR) for a weekend get away for me and my family (3adult and 1 infant). First impression - Where is the beach?? Honestly the picture on the website is a rendering of what would have been a beach once upon a time. If you are looking for a beach then look for some other property, having said that BBR boasts a huge variety of liquor store (and believe me its big). So you can purchase alcohol without a license and consume the same. Or if you are brave then purchase and bring it to your emirate and use the Emirates road. The reception and check in was quick, and we drove to our rooms. We had booked for a Deluxe suite (Two bedroom) for our stay. All the rooms over look the pool and that's a big drawback. There is no timing on the usage of pool neither is any life guard on duty. So you will have people having drinks and making noise throughout the night.
The rooms were decent and bathroom amenities very basic. They could do with getting better bathroom fixtures than whats available now. House keeping is very slow. So better check your room as soon as you check in and call for what every you require (maintenance, hair dryer, etc). TV channels are limited and there is a Ethernet cable dangling along side the wall. I did not use it so not sure if it works.
The property has only one restaurant (Aquarius), with limited selection on the menu or the buffet. The whole restaurant is a smoking area. Room service is available upon request and the menu is pretty much similar to the one in the restaurant.
The swimming pool is basic and has 2 baby pools, which I later figured out were the Jacuzzi (which did not function). And yes the swimming pool is not temperature controlled. There are enough pool/deck chairs so you don't have to fight for one. Do remember to bring your own towels from the room as same not provided in the pool area. There is no pool bar, so take a walk to the BBR liquor shop and get your self some drinks to enjoy by the pool.
The Dreamland aqua park is adjacent to the property and you can purchase the tickets from the reception well in advance (100dhs. pp) to beat the queue at the entrance.
Having said that the hotel staff are courteous and attentive.
Question: Will I go back to BBR or choose them again for a getaway.
Answer: I might but would like to try some place else.
But overall I would recommend it to people who like to be by themselves.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

my friends and i booked for a weekend stay at the barracuda beach resort. sad to say we cancelled our booking and left the resort very displeased. the receptionist who refused to give out his name was very rude to our group. he shouted at my friend when told of his poor customer service skills and unapologetic for his bad behavior. the room was also very disappointing as complimentary toiletries like towels were not even available.the beach front was not even impressive and the pool was so small that if a group of people would swim at the same time, it could get pretty crowded. barracuda is a sorry excuse for a "beach resort".

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

We went for a weekend at the Barracuda resort using the cobone deal. I thought if cobone is selling this deal, the resort should be good. But surprisingly, it was not up to the mark. We went there in Feb end and the swimming pool was toooooo cold. It is not temperature controlled pool. And also the jaccuzi was there but the motor was not working, so it was used like a kids pool !!.

I think they should remove Beach word from their name as the Beach is of no use. It is smelly and black.

There was no proper play area for the kids also.

Only upside of the resort is that it had good food.

Not recommended for non-drinking families....

Room Tip: Choose pool side view.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

We stayed in this resort in Feb 2012, we had taken our swim suits along but couldn't enter the swimming pool cos the water was still too cold in mid afternoon. though the rent is high for a small city like Umm al Qwuain, we got a good half price deal through cobone.

We booked a Deluxe suite, and were pleasantly surprised by the size of the room. not only it was spacious and well furnished with a slim TV, big cabinets, a small refrigerator and a big table and sofa but also an extra bed.

The back side of the suite opened to a tiled area which further led to the swimming pool and had a great view of the sea. and very big area in the back to barbeque also.

I would recommend it to big groups with children. as there is not much for entertainment. though i enjoyed the dinner as well as breakfast buffet. the variety was good from different types of cuisines.

Room Tip: dont go for the chalets as they are away from the pool, the suites are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barracuda Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barracuda Beach Resort

Address: P.O. Box 1311, Umm Al Quwain, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Umm Al Quwain > Umm Al Quwain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Umm Al Quwain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Barracuda Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Barracuda Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barracuda Beach Hotel Umm Al Quwain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barracuda Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.