We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Several areas that require improvement” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Delta Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Delta Beach Resort to your Saves list
Delta Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aratepe Mevkii Sanatci Evleri Caddesi: 29 | Yalikavak, Yalikavak 48400, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Yalikavak
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Several areas that require improvement”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

The main reason we chose this hotel was because of the 4* reviews on trip advisor but I'm sorry to say it did not live up to our expectations. We stayed at Delta Beach Yalikavak the fist week in October. Hotel itself is lovely but not 5star standard, maybe 3 star at best. However, there are several areas that require improvement.
Food is repetitive, bland, cool and very often cold. Not the standard you expect from a 5 Star Hotel especially when you are mainly talking about chicken and turkey which was the staple diet for a week.
The tables were not always reset between guests. Therefore if you were not the first guest at the table there was no cutlery or glasses. Guests had to pick up cutlery for themselves! You didn't get fresh cutlery between courses either. The à la carte restaurant was a farce. There was no choice of menu. It was a set menu. This food looked appetising but was also cold and bland. We sent our main course back to be heated up as it was stone cold. There was one waiter rushing around serving fifteen tables yet there were four chief’s standing around chatting and another sitting at the table next to us chatting and eating a meal. This is not the standard you would expect from 5 Star Hotel.
There were only two shows in the entire week. The quality of these shows would not have been out of place at a UK holiday camp. Cringingly awful. One good thing was they lasted for less than an hour. The manager said it was too cold in the evening to do shows. I also find it very concerning that Thomas Cook have ‘upgraded’ this hotel to a Style Hotel for 2011 where you have ‘hand picked’ this hotel for its ‘consistently good’ quality of service, choice of dining and high quality of entertainment. Waiters and Bar staff were very unhelpful and went about their job with a grudging attitude.
Sadly, following our experience at Delta Beach I feel obliged to warn people away from this resort, which is a pity as the resort location is very favourable.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    93
    46
    39
    30
See reviews for
131
134
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coleraine, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

We had a great time at this hotel. The majority of our stay was really pleasant with only a few minor issues with staff. Our room was a deluxe sea view and when we arrived at 4am it seemed to be a maze of steps but when we arrived at the room it was lovely and roomy with 2 separate bedrooms and a large bathroom and balcony. The rooms are kept really clean and we were really pleased.

The breakfast is buffet and they make fresh pancakes,eggs to order and there is a good selection of fruit and breads. They sometimes run out of cups and plates and tend not to be in a rush to replenish! Lunch there is a choice of the beach snack bar with burgers, chips, spag bol and some salads or the main restaurant where again there are a wide variety of salads and hot foods. For dinner there is again the main restaurant which is fine a selection of hot and cold with a large variety of desserts with one of the best cakes I have ever had...and I have tried a few. There is also an Italiano restaurant 5 Euro surcharge per person and it is a six course a la carte meal and we enjoyed each course. There is also a fish restaurant which because it is low season is also in the Italian and we normally loved fish but found most of this inedible. To book the restaurant you have to book through guest relation between 10-3pm but this lady is normally not at her desk and is hard to find. you then must pay the surcharge at the reception. We found this a bit tiresome and reception don't book the restaurants and I advise you not to ask!!

The hotel has 3 pools. The main pool which is just beside the pool bar has music played all day and can be very crowded also guests can watch you from the dining room. The other pool is linked to the water slides on the beach and our favourite was the quiet pool with no music but our advise is to book your spot early with your towel. The beach is small but nice but we found the day disco music repetive and just too much for us so we avoided this.

On our first day we met Yusef the Spa manager who is very friendly and we booked for a Turkish bath and massage which was wonderful and I then was sold 3 more medical massages. I love treatments so was an easy sell! The spa staff where all lovely and we would both recommend a treatment.

We walked in to Yalikavak on a clouder day and it takes 20-30 mins along a lovely harbour path. There are lots of little bars and restaurants. We had Turkish Tea in 3 brothers and lunch and an evening meal at Mercan Story. Their food and service is exceptional. If you want Turkish food, presented well and really fresh, this is the place for you and the owner Mustafa is a character. Mir Barthin is also an owner and is friendly and helpful when we thought we had left our camera at his hotel.

Overall we had a great stay and would recommend this although if you have a problem with steps don't go you would have real problems navigating around the different levels of this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

I have just returned from 2 weeks at the Delta Beach and can only say that the when the managemnet get the food and drink right, then they can have my money any time. The location is superb with beautiful views out to sea. The hotel itself is a wonderful jumble of decking on different levels with quiet spots mixed with more upbeat active ones. Our room (in the hotel building itself) was a great example of how to decorate a modern hotel room. The reception staff were all extremly helpful.
But---
The food at best could be described as 2 star. It was repetitive, bland and quite often cold. On eof tehreasons given was that we were eating to late!( We ate between 8.30 and every night).
The quality of the drinks also left an awful lot to be desired. I fully understan that all inclusive quality is not the best, however the spirits were at the lower end of my experiences and the wine was undrinkable.
As food and drink do play such a large part of a holiday experience the hotel does need to improve to warrant a 4/5 rating.
The hotel manager did indicate that by next year these improvements would be made. On the up side the way the management dealt with the drunken behaviour of a group of holidaymakers was outstanding.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

I had a great holiday at Delta Beach. Room was lovely and big with a fabulous sea view.
Visitors were mainly couples (all ages) and a few families.
Food was fine - catered more for Eastern European guests though. But now the hotel is on Thomas Cook UK books, I expect more English will go in future, so hopefully they will be more catered for. Loved the mid morning savoury pancakes and tea and cakes at four o'clock.
The decks by the sea were great, you can sunbathe and then step straight into the usually calm sea.
Staff ok, but after 4 months working in extremely hot weather, I can understand that they were a bit tired.
Previous reviewer said that there are no toilets near reception. Did they ask? We did,and were directed to some just a few steps away.
We were also able to keep our room on the last day until 8pm for a small charge. However not an option if hotel full. But use of the shower facilities in the spa and a secure luggage store are offered.
The town of Yalikavak, was a half an hour walk away or a 20 minute bus ride. The walk is very useful though especially after a full dinner!! Town is lovely with lots of small shops and a few restaurants and bars, with a huge market on Thursdays.
There were a few very minor issues, but none worth mentioning - I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

the cleaners are the best here everyday ur room is cleaned,downside too many stairs lifts dont go direct and im a little poor on my feet ,waiters in the main restaurant tended to ignore us english and waited on the others,the massage guy was very friendly,and the cleaners also the italian restaurant ,but the restaurant staff i found ignorant,we also had a crazy bus driver for thomas cook ,we thought we would crash....the holiday was lovely relaxed,and delux rooms were great espeacially balcony,needs more english tv

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

On the up side:
The weather was great, high 90's.
There were plenty of clean pools, and a tiny man-made beach.
Towels were free and plentiful.
The beds were comfy.
The view from our balcony was lovely (Paid extra for a sea view)
There were a lot of staff about, tidying up and clearing things away.
In spite of a warning of possible restricted hot water, we always managed to have a nice hot shower.
On the down side:
There were no public toilets on the reception floor -you have to call a series of lifts and work out the geography of the site to find the nearest loo. Somewhat of a problem when needing one in a hurry! All toilets are sited around the pool areas and attract the mosquito's.
The guest lifts are used to get around the complex, but also used by the staff to ferry laundry, waste, and transport food to and from the kitchens, UNCOVERED. It's common place to share a lift with any of these activities.
Food was plentiful, but on closer inspection, hung around for a while, uncovered, and flies were in abundance. What isn't used for lunch forms part of the ingredients for dinner in some form. Beware! There is a lot of maionnaise based dressing in the food. It all looks inviting.
There was a shortage of cups, saucers and tea bags.
The milk is not sited by the tea making fascilities, but across the way by the cereals.
Cuttlery is in short supply and is moved (as are the glasses and bottles of water) from table to table as people move off. They felt sticky.
There is a lack of co-ordination in the restaurant and it's not unusual for queues of people standing waiting to find somewhere to sit. Restaurant staff are eager to please though and work very hard.
The environment is noisy and not a relaxed dining experience for a 5 star hotel.
I would suggest you take some imodium 'instants' (as I didn't) as both of us had upset tummy's from day 3, in spite of being really careful. Days 3-7 were spent eating bread and drinking bottled water mostly.
There's nowhere in the shower to hang or stand shampoo, soap or shower gel.
There was no possibility of late check out or renting a room, however modest, on the last day. We were told that it was still high season and the hotel was fully booked.
We had the late flight. I would strongly advise an early flight if possible. We got to the hotel at 03:00 a.m, and landed back at 03:15.
On the shuttle from the hotel to the airport, the driver got lost, and took 4 attempts to locate the final pick-ups. He spoke no Enlish. We all thought we'd miss the flight! His driving got quicker and quicker.
The Hotel is nice in itself, and the Reception area a nice relaxing place to sit, with a lovely balsony.
Expect a treck into the local town. Use the shuttle. The route is tricky, and the drivers are very fast. Beware!
You still have to put your tissue / loo paper in the bin beside the toilet.
My partner went for a treatment at the Spa, and left his sunglasses in there.
When he went back, he was told they were not there. After searching what seemed the entire complex, I went into the Spa and was told the same. I insisted, and explained that they were prescription sunglasses and no good to anyone else. The man said something in Turkish to the other man who reached under the counter to produce the said sunglasses.
I would suggest that you take nothing of any value.
Beware the poolside bar. The cups were being washed up by hand with cold water and no detergent. However, bottles of water are readily available on the edge of the bar from the cool cabinet.
The lovely flat screen T.V only has one English speaking chanel - The News.
All in all, I would rate the experiece as a 3+*. To be fair, we had not done an 'All Inclusive' before, and certain aspects deserve to be acknowledged. I think there's a little way to go if your'e expecting a comparible quality to other 5 star resorts.
Value wise though, for what we paid I guess it was fair. Families and groups who enjoy Butlin's type entertainment in the evenings should enjoy it.
The tip boxes on every counter can be annoying.
.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

We stayed at the Delta Hotel for 7 nights in early Septemebr 2010 and had a wonderful, relaxing holiday.

We were all inclusive and had an awesome room with a sea view. The balcony was massive (approx. 15 foot by 10 foot), and there was a large bathroom with walk in shower.

The hotel has 2 swimming pools, 2 water slides and its own private beach. There are 3 a la carte restaurants (Italian, Seafood and Turkish) as well as the main buffet style dining room.

The quality of food in the main restaurant was exceptional. There is an enormous selection to choose from. Every night there would be a meat choice... ie: grilled chicken, turkey, lamb or beef. Also, there were chips and potato croquettes for the less adventurous amongst us.

The dessert selection was amongst the finest Ive ever experienced. Often in Turkey, every dessert has the same gelatine consistensy, however, this was not the case at Delta Beach.

The hotel 4 bars and a massive entertainments area. They have a proper arena with seating and stage. The entertainments team do a superb job to keep the masses entertained.

The hotel has an on-site spa and gym - the use of the steam room, sauna, gym, and turkish bath is free of charge. They also offer massage services.

There is a small shop on site selling confectionary and ice creams.
There is also free wifi internet access in the hotel lobby and pool bar.

Overall, this has been the most relaxing holiday we have had. The weather was superb and we never had any problems finding a sun lounger. Every member of staff we met was very friendly and helpful.

We look forward to going back next year.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Delta Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Beach Resort

Address: Aratepe Mevkii Sanatci Evleri Caddesi: 29 | Yalikavak, Yalikavak 48400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Yalikavak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Yalikavak
#2 Luxury Hotel in Yalikavak
#2 Spa Hotel in Yalikavak
#4 Family Hotel in Yalikavak
#5 Romantic Hotel in Yalikavak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Delta Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Delta Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Beach Club Hotel Yalikavak
Delta Beach Hotel
Delta Beach Yalikavak
Yalikavak Delta
Delta Yalikavak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delta Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.