We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Holiday..Ignore Previous Reviews!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Family Belvedere

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Family Belvedere to your Saves list
Family Belvedere
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cumhuriyet Cad. Erdemir Sok. No 5, Yalikavak, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Yalikavak
East Sussex
1 review
“Fab Holiday..Ignore Previous Reviews!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

I went with my sister to Belvedere.. I read reviews beforehand and was nervous about booking... Arrived at the hotel to be take to our room...was up lots of stairs... but it states that when you book! Had a lovely room - bathroom a little grotty and could do with a good clean, but otherwise no complaints!! Room has amazing views over all the bays and town. Staff were really friendly and always came over to talk.. Food was a bit samey, but what do you expect..there are only a certain amount of turkish dishes they have!! There was definately something for everyone to eat! The dolmus was regular as clockwork and so was the shuttle bus... beach connected to hotel with great... the waiter Smiley aka Thomas was such a gent... The massage at the hotel was great too...!! The pool is very deep, but everyone would moan if it was too shallow... they played water polo during day and had water areobics which was very entertaining!! I would definately go back to hotel and Yalikavak!! They said on website there wasnt any evening entertainment... and the town is on a 10 min bus drive over..where there are lovely bars.. Our pick up was 7pm so we missed dinner - so I went to the reception where I asked if i was possible to get some food for the journey, without hestitation they said yes and on the day of the flight given some fab sarnis!! All in all this hotel is great and at the end of the day u get what you pay for!! :)

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    63
    28
    17
    37
See reviews for
77
64
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

rooms not clean .food not great, service not that bad but overall dont even bother going their.the pool area ok .drink like dish water.bed are gone matteresses gone,showers blocked,weather nice but couldent wait to get home.you will only get what you pay for,if your wanting a cheap and ruff holiday ok but i wouldent even bother.its supose to be a 3 star but its poor.also no entertanement at night.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

Stayed with my wife for a week away from kids and it was a total nightmare.
The room was poor and the staff were terrible. No entertainment day or night. The food was more limited than a bed and breakfast and there was only one place to get food and drinks from.
We were all inclusive for a week and ate out five nights and two three afternoons.
We love Turkey and have been there loads of times but this was the only bad place we have ever been to. If you are thinking of going, DONT DO IT!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

Firstly may I say, we didnt pay alot for this hotel, so didnt expect 5* Luxury. Instead we got what we expected - Turkish 3*!

Our room was nice. Clean, although toilet could use some bleach. Beds were comfy. Towels got changed whenever we put them on the floor to be changed. Bedding didnt get changed, but wasnt a big deal.

The food was ok, we never went hungry. Plenty of salad. Always soup. Hot dishes got a bit samey - mainly chicken and rice. But thats what they eat. If you want burgers and chips - its not for you. If you want turkish - thats what you'll get.

The staff were all lovely. If your nice to them there nice to you - simple! Dont forget thy work over 12 hour days 7 days a week and still manage to smile, laugh and joke with you!

The views are amazing. Although to get these views it does mean ALOT of steps and the hotel is on a hill. You can easily walk into Yalikavak, but wouldnt suggest going back up. Although there is a free shuttle or the Dolmus runs every half hour and cost 1.5TL and take 20 mins ish.

The pool is lovely and always clean. Make sure you wear shoes when walk around it and can be slipperly in places.

All in all we had a lovely holiday. Go with an open mind and you will be pleasntly suprised!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

Hi All,

I came back yesterday from turkey. This was my first and my last visit there. We booked the holiday package with sunsave.com. That was the first mistake. We booked 2 double bedroom for 4 adults (two couples), when we got there we got a family apartment with 1 double bedroom and 1 kids room. The agent made a mistake with the booking so we couldnt do anything to change the rooms, so we had to stay in a small room only with 2 single beds and 2 bedside cabinets that was all we had. (see on the pictures)

About the hotel, the only positive thing for me was the stunning view and the good size pool. The staff was rude and hardly spoke english (im hungarian so i dont have english accent which is hard to understand) especially the guy at the reception, sometimes i was close to slap him. He was wearing all the time some t-shirt with jeans and trainers, i think if someone is coming to hotel this is not the best first impression. Our room was very old fashioned and wasnt cleaned when we arrived, bounch of hair dirty shower etc...
The food was very poor, 15 different kind of salads and if we were lucky we had 1 kind of meat, and maybe rice or fries. If something left from lunch u could see served later bit differently. Desserts always the same small cakes in some sticky sweet mousse. Breakfast was really poor, salads, cereals and every morning the same 2 kind of ham. The outside restaurant area was always full with cats, u could eat they almost jumped on your table. First day we found a dead rat next to our table, when i got my camera a cat took it... (but i found another 1 on our last day near the pool)
The evenings were boring they had an entertainment team but i still dont know why.
During the day they never did anything like pool games, aqua fitness etc.
During the 7 nights we had twice bingo night, and twice they showed Grease and Free willy 1 on a big screen. That was all. i preferred to go watch champions leauge in the town centre, coz in the hotel they didnt have any channel showing any games.

The nearest good beach is 30 min walk same as the town centre. (or 10 turkish lira by taxi)

So basically i regret this choice we were hesitating to go to mallorca or Tunisia coz they were the same price 350GBP, but we made the mistake and went to this hotel. I really dont recommend for older people and families and those ones who likes nightlife. Yalikavak is small and boring and the hotel is far away from everything.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

When we first arrived at the Family Belvedere Hotel on Friday 10th
September we had already endured a 5 hour flight in a plane that was
warmer than a sauna and stranded for almost 2 hours in the middle of
no-where as our transfer coach broke down. All we wanted to do was get
into our hotel room, get a wash and just relax before going for
dinner.

Once the unfriendly, non-English speaking security guard took us to
our room we were greeted with the foul stench of stale water and when
we went to open the balcony doors we couldn't because there was no
handles on either of them, we soon realised they did open but they did
not lock (all the balcony's are joined together so anyone could get
in)

It gets worse! On the duvet there was blood stains, a very large urine
stain and the sofa was also covered in stains I would not even want to
know what of. The toilet pan had a “sanitised” sticker on it, it
looked as if it had never saw bleach in its whole time there. There
was no hot water at all and the broken shower knobs had hair twisted
all around it, it was disgusting and the shower also did not drain so
that was the reason for the bad smell.

By this time our stress levels had reached maximum so before going to
complain I had to go and find a cleaner and ask him to clean our room.
At the reception I was told by a very rude & unhelpful member of
staff that it was Ramadan and that the hotel was full so they could
not change my room until Monday, I told him that this was unacceptable
and I was going to call my travel agent and he just replied calmly “OK
you do that” Furiously I called them explaining everything and they
did all they could but without loosing our money by taking a flight
back home we had to stay there until we could get a different room.

That night we went out to the town centre in Yalikavak which is
beautiful, there is lots of bars, restaurants and shops.

They next few days around the hotel were just disastrous! As we found
our way around the hotel, we also found sights you would expect to see
in holidays from hell. There was mould & dampness all over the
entrance to our room, There were cracked tiles all over the complex,
Just below our balcony is were the old furniture graveyard was, There
was walls all over the hotel that looked as if they had been in
several car accidents, We also found an open power box to the side of
one of the buildings and the worst was an air conditioning unit
hanging off the wall and the only reason it had not fallen off was
that it has being propped up with a pole! Things could not get much
worse.

We had to continually complain to the useless hotel manager about our
room but every time I waited on him he was always dealing with other
complaints and when I spoke to a few people they all had similar
stories to tell. I was finally told he would have a double room which
it was meant to be and not a twin room, with a sea view on Sunday at
12pm. Well Sunday came and we never got the key to the new room until
4pm as there was only 2 cleaners. When we got in the cleaners had
obviously forgot to clean the room again, silly us for thinking this
one would be any better, OK the view was outstanding but that's all
that was, believe it or not but there was no sheet on the bed, the bin
had not been emptied, the toilet was filthy, the shower tray was full
of cracked paint. After all this we were so fed up we had emailed the
pictures to our travel agent and within 30 minutes of us getting the
key to the second room our travel agent had booked us into a hotel in
Gumbet and so we had handed in our keys and left the Family Belvedere
Hotel for good.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

We booked this last minute, during the wake of holiday company closures, and we were not disappointed. The hotel is located at the top of a hill, and has many stairs to the rooms so if traveling with young children, is a bit tricky, but this means you have fantastic views from the hotel. Our room was basic (double standard) with bath and shower and was cleaned every day. There is a safe available, and air con was free (phew!). We like to get out and about when on holiday so we enjoyed walking to the local beaches and bars (walking distance down... a hill of course) and regularly stopped where you could have drinks served to you on the beach, with loungers, cushions etc, mostly free of charge. You could get the bus to Bodrum if you wanted to go further afar, 4TL each way, and there was a free hotel bus shuttle to the beach at regular intervals. Local buses also came regularly ( 1.5TL each way). The staff at this hotel were very friendly and our favourite chap who cleared the tables in the dining room was always smiling and had something cheeky to say to practically everyone, if not a cheeky wink at the very least. Forgive me for not remembering his name (or not being able to spell it more like) but I am sure everyone who was there will know who we mean, he was fun and always happy regardless of what chaos was going on in the dining rooms. The hotel staff were friendly and approachable, the food was fantastic. We were sad to leave. Did I say the food was fantastic, especially the puddings! watch those waistlines! and no we are not lovers of bacon, egg, sausage and chips, so we were quite happy with the healthy salads and tasty dishes. However if you were in need of that "steak & chips dining" then you could get this from range of local restaurants. The beaches were a bit stoney, but the water was always lovely and the pool at the restaurant was always sparkling and refreshing. Only one tip really, invest in some rubber shoes or shoes for swimming, to avoid stubbing your toes on the rocks. Not a major problem considering the great scheme of things. All in all this hotel is worth it, we would recommend anyone to give it a go.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Family Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Family Belvedere

Address: Cumhuriyet Cad. Erdemir Sok. No 5, Yalikavak, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Yalikavak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Yalikavak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Family Belvedere 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Family Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Family Belvedere Yalikavak
Family Belvedere Hotel Yalikavak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Family Belvedere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.