We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cactus Mirage Family Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cactus Mirage Family Club to your Saves list
Cactus Mirage Family Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tilkicik Koyu, Yalikavak, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Yalikavak
south wales, uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

I chose this hotel on behalf of my friends and I because the reviews were good.

The room and its beautiful surroundings were spotless. Cleaned every day by such friendly staff that I gave her £10 which is not much for us but means an awful lot to them. The food was great in comparison to lots of other hotels in Turkey with something there for everyone. The bar staff were all fabulous and enjoyed a bit of fun with us. We met some fantastic people who we hope to keep in touch with as well.

The only things I would like to point out are the steps that a few people pointed out in the reviews. There are quite a lot, especially if your room is at the top, but they were nice and wide and benches are provided for you to have five.

We did have one boy to help us with our cases when we arrived, but the hardest thing was carrying them back up the steps when you leave.

The biggee for me was that there were no shops around or no where to have a little walk around. The little harbour village of Yalikavak is only about 10 minutes on the dolmus but there were hardly any shops there either. We did a bus trip to Turgetreis and that was lovely with lots of little indoor market stalls. We also did a boat trip from Yalikavak which cost about £23.00 each. The boat only takes a maximum of 12 people and is fantastic value and you have a great lunch, then later lots of different fruit and later again drink and biscuits. You stop about 4 times either to swim and just take in the scenery.

A fabulous time was had by all and we would definitely recommend this hotel, especially if you don't do shops.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    147
    56
    21
    8
See reviews for
108
124
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
leicester
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

Im 15 and when my mum said we were going to turkey i thought OMG no way ... but we went ... when we arrived we were escorted to our rooms our bags were carried for us and we were shown all the nuck and crannys in our hotel room which was emaculate. We made our way down to the bottem of the stairs where most people were heading recieved drinks from the helpfull bar staff ... first few hours of arrival we had no clue of the facilities and area but the next day we automatically new where everything was... the staff were sooooo kind and made sure we were ok ... the entertainment staff all new our names and i personally never actually left the hotel till departure ... the beach, the pool,, the people, the VEIWS were amazing and we have already booked this hotel for next year ... if youy have never been to turkey please GO.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hammerwich
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

I returned to the cactus mirage having had a good time last year. I was very well taken care of again and also surprised to find that the staff remembered me from last year. I met up with other people from last year and we all managed to have an even better time than last year. The staff all work very hard to make you feel welcome and the entertainment team do their best to keep you involved but are never pushy. you can have whtever holiday you want you can explore the local area by bus or just sit around the pool or beach area. Yalikavak is just a 10 minute bus ride or twenty minute expedition for people who like to stroll in the sun.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2009

well I'll start by saying that me and my boyfriend took ages to find a hotel- and chose this one because it had no bad reviews. We had a pretty rough start - before we were due to go- our holiday company went bust, however it was booked with Thomas Cook and so eventually we sorted everything out and managed to get there.

i think its important to let everybody know exactly how it went.
The flight was roughly 3 1/2 hours to Bodrum airport. (it can be up to 4 hours). we got on to a coach (told it would be a 45 minute transfer) however it lasted much longer- as we stopped at around 3 hotels, then we had to get on to feeder coaches ( smaller buses as the big coach was not able to get to the hotel on the roads we were due to go down) and so by the time we got to the hotel it was considerably later than we antisipated.

The hotel is classed as being in the Bodrum area- however I would advise that you study a map, you will see it is not exactly in the Bodrum resort. from the hotel- you need to get a Dolmus (small bus) to Yalikavak, then another bus from there to Bodrum resort- can take around 30- 45 minutes. we did this to go the the Bodrum castle- it wasnt too bad a journey as long as you know the names of places you are headed. PLEASE NOTE: there are NO CASH POINTS near the hotel- you would need to get a bus from the hotel to Yalikavak (20 mins).
IF you book excursions- please double check times as Thomas cook did make a few muck ups with our friends and coach times!

The hotel is very clean- you will see staff cleaning various areas constantly. there are roughly 80 steps fromt the top of the hotel to the pool/restuant area. NO RAMPS- for those who may be in wheels chairs etc. the steps are managable if you are able bodied. there are steps down to the 'beach' too.
The pool was by FAR the cleanest pool i have been in- on holiday. we did go at the start of the season- so that may be why- but it was clean- I normally hate pools.
The 'beach' is not a Sand beach- it is sand and pebbles- man made. and a tiny pier that also has sun beds. The sea is shallow enough to go in- getting deeper as you go in at a fairly steady level-= no nasty dips. howvever- there are patches of sea weed.
the hotel is set in a cove- so its either very windy or not at all. but if its hot- you are glad of the breeze.
you can use the Pedlo and Kayaks for free. you pay quite high prices for other water sports. e.g. £35 for jet ski pp. £10 each for rings etc.
The hotel quotes everything in EURO's- but they will convert it to Turkish LIRA and Sterling for you. You can change money at reception.

You can eat all day- no matter what time we woke up- there was something to eat, and we literally did eat all day. it will depend on your taste in food as to what you like. they have lots of salads, olives, dips, sauces, pasta, soup, some meats and will have a few hot dishes. the food was sometimes colder than i liked- but they have microwave to heat food up. i was very happy with the food. (all inclusive)- if you are vegan or vegetarian- you maybe limmited.

There are staff around to talk to you- they are the entertainment staff at night. if you are used to massive shows - dont expect much. The shows were simple acts and jokes. they are ok for one or two nights- but no more for us. there are no clubs near by- however the staff at he hotel organise for you to get there- we didnt go so i could not comment on the night life/organisation.

There were alot of french and some german people. and me and my boyfriend and another two young girls were the only young people there- if you want to RELAX- this is a good place to go. some people were surprised we chose this hotel as there were older people/families there, however we all still really enjoyed it.

took as many photos as we could so you can see the setting. Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2008

Well what can I say ???????

We were originally booked to go to Stoupa with XL, so needed an alternative. Having been to Yalikavak many years ago, thought we'd see how it had changed.

Firstly the Club Mirage is NOT in Yalikavak, it's a good 20 minute walk into the resort, and it's not an easy stroll!!! However the local dolmus stops right outside the hotel and is very cheap, we usually taxied back for convenience and that was about £5.

As we visited late in the season the hotel was not even half full, so there was never a problem with queues for food or drink, the downside of this was that the food was a litle bland, hence our trips into Yalikavac to dine at the numerous restaurants. The staff were friendly and effective, and the maid service was extremely good.

Would I return...not sure: the 'beach' was lovely, the pool area good, but maybe when fully occupied it would be a little 'congested'.

One final note, having read other reviews, we asked on arrival if we could keep our room until midnight, owing to 1.40am pickup, we asked on 4 separate occassions before finally reception agreed and charged us approx £45. Had we not been able to keep the room, the whole holiday would have been ruined by the 12 hours waiting for pick up, with no shower facilities and no chance of a quick nap. This is something that Mirage are going to have to address......................

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — location / reception attitude over keeping room.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2008

This hotel really exceeded our expectations for the money we paid. It is set in beautiful grounds with low rise buildings, leading down to the beach. The hotel does have a lot of steps and would not be suitable for guests with mobility difficulites as it is set on a hillside.
The pool is lovely and was never crowded when we were there. The beach area is fairly small, but is set in a lovely cove and has pretty views out into the bay.
The food was adequate, but mainly Turkish style and sometimes not a lot of choice.
Overall we enjoyed our stay here.

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochdale
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2008

the hotel was clean and very nice ,food was ok but not to everyones taste ,,,the location is quite remote and out in the sticks ,,but transport to get around is quite available ,,,,,,,,,,,,be warned if you dont like step this place aint for you ,,,,,also if your english speaking only your going to be left out alot ,,,,,,,,,oh and if you think your going to be able to keep your room on last day if your flights late think again you got no chance if your english as we found out ,,,,,,,seams to be a deal struck with the holiday reps and this hotel that all the english will be sold last day cruises ,,,,,,,,,,,,as we found out after we asked to keep our room and told we couldnt that german and french people had been allowed to ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,be warned if you do take the last day cruise youll be put in a shed of a hotel in bodrum centre and then find the cruise and the hotel dont provide the all inclusive youve paid for ,,,,,,,,,,and also watch out for the exchange rate scams if you come to turkey bring euros as everything seams to be priced in them,,,,,,,,,eat well before going to the airport home and take drinks with you ,,,,,,its very very very exspencive in the airport tray of chips will cost five poundsas an example ,,,,,,,,we went 20 sept 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cactus Mirage Family Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cactus Mirage Family Club

Address: Tilkicik Koyu, Yalikavak, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Yalikavak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Yalikavak
#4 Spa Hotel in Yalikavak
#5 Luxury Hotel in Yalikavak
#6 Family Hotel in Yalikavak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cactus Mirage Family Club 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cactus Mirage Family Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cactus Mirage Family Hotel
Cactus Mirage Family Yalikavak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cactus Mirage Family Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.