We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Choice - So Chilled” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 4reasons hotel+bistro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added 4reasons hotel+bistro to your Saves list
4reasons hotel+bistro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bakan Cad. No:2 Yalikavak (PK. 46), Yalikavak 48430, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Yalikavak
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Incredible Choice - So Chilled”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I were looking for a relaxing holiday at a boutique hotel in the sun. We both work in the city and were a bit burnt out, so when we came across the 4reasons in an article on the Guardian we were sold, esp. when we read the reviews on tripadvisor.

You never truly know what you are going to get when you book a hotel but were absolutely delighted.

I must say the view was incredible, especially at sunset. You see the whole bay and marina and it is truly magical to watch esp with one of their famous cocktails (prepared by Turkey’s top mixologist).

The hotel is beautiful designed, fresh and chic – the owner is an interior designer and you could tell by the thought taken in the design of not only the bedrooms, pool and bar but also in the perfectly manicured gardens and common areas in the hotel.

The food was delicious and fresh, the breakfasts a real treat. But overall it was the staff that made the holiday. Most of the hotels reviews (even those ranked more highly than the 4reasons) slated the service but this most definitely doesn't apply here.

We heard the owners really looked after the staff and carefully head hunted them all and you could really tell. They were so thoughtful and friendly yet not invasive. We later stayed at the luxury resort the Macakizi – but the service was not a patch on the 4reasons.

I’m rarely moved enough to write a review on Trip Advisor but really felt they deserved it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    25
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
48
112
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from 7 nights here in early June. We loved the pool - really big and loads of loungers, the food (which was much better than the food we had in local restaurants), our large room and the really friendly staff. Cons: directions they gave on google maps are very basic and we got lost driving there at night - you need sat nav or to be given much clearer directions, also there was hardly any storage space so we had to keep lots of our things in our suitcase all week. Would highly recommend this place if you want to just chill out - read, swim, laze and spend most of your time in the hotel. Nearby Yalikavak isn't as classy as the hotel so don't expect a simple fishing village like we did - it's a bit like a tourist destination from the 1970s although quite sweet at night. You definitely need a car in our opinion - it's very hilly and we definitely didn't fancy walking to the town in 30 degrees.

Room Tip: We had a casual room some of them have balconies but most don't so do request one and they'l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My partner and I booked 7 nights at the 4reasons for a much needed relaxing holiday. The idea was to spend our days on the beach but in the end we never left the poolside. We just didn't need, or want, to leave. The service at the hotel is impeccable, friendly, and they helped with every request including sneaking in a late breakfast if we slept in late. Staying here you enjoy the peace and tranquility of your own luxury villa, but with the added benefit of a handful of other people relaxing around you, and being waited on hand and foot! We booked a junior suite, which was spacious and comfortable, which made it pretty difficult to get up in the mornings.

The location is a 5 minute drive from Yalikavak town centre. We had a car but barely used it and would advise others to consider just using taxis and airport transfer. As stated in other reviews the views from the pool and restaurant are incredible, especially at sunset. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and there is an area next to the water feature (complete with its own singing frogs!), which is used for yoga and massages upon request, although we were far too busy lounging by the pool all day reading books from the hotel's library and relaxing to music in the outdoor bar to take advantage of those additional facilities.

We have to mention the food and drink, which was available around the clock and carefully prepared using local ingredients. The menu consists of a mixture of well-executed, traditional Turkish dishes and some western favourites, but always with a twist. A BBQ of traditional Turkish food one night was a particular highlight. The two dedicated barmen, Biro and Serhat, created all sorts of wonderful cocktails pre- and post-dinner for us on request, and then would gladly blend a fresh fruit smoothie to help with recovery the next day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed in 6 amazing hotels on our honeymoon and the 4 Reasons was our favorite by far, even better than the pictures and descriptions! The hotel does an excellent job of being a complete package. The view is amazing, the rooms are perfectly clean and nicely appointed, the staff is spectacular, the food and drinks are delicious, and the pool is amazing. We could have spent 100% of our time in Bodrum here and enjoyed ourselves immensely but combined with a car it was an excellent base of operations for our explorations of the rest of the peninsula.

There's so much to love about this place but I'd like to call out the bartenders in particular. They went out of their way to provide an amazing experience for the food and drinks we had there including making adventurous off menu cocktails. I recommend asking for a "Champion" if you're interested in an amazing, well balanced, and refreshing Raki based cocktail. The dining is also fantastic for the couple of dinners we had there. And if I had to describe the breakfast in one word, it would be opulent.

Our only regret was that we didn't have more time to stay there. We'd recommend this place to anyone going to Bodrum!

Room Tip: The "Passionate Rooms" are definitely worth it for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This classy Hotel has real charm. The rooms are simple have style, and are very comfortable. Everything is kept with loving care, and the staff really do want the best for you. The pool is excellent and good for laps. The views towards to the sea from bar and eating areas are beautiful. If you need a break and want to be sure of comfort and calm you will not let down.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This was our second visit to 4reasons.
It is a truly delightful boutique hotel close to Yalikavak near Bodrum.
The hotel and grounds are beautiful and very well maintained. The hotel has an amazing vista of green, hills and the sea beyond. The bar at sunset is one of the most beautiful bars in the world.
The rooms are lovely- tasteful and attractive.
Perhaps most of all, what impressed us is the friendly, professional service. The staff, including Ali and Ezra and the bar/waiters, cannot do enough to help.
There are many small touches that make a difference including eg. cake and tea at tea time.
4 reasons now has a new chef- we were both really impressed. The kitchen is now of a very high quality- we ended up eating at the hotel most nights even though it is fairly easy to nip down to the village for dinner. The wine selection is also great- we had an Okuzgozu blend which was delicious.
I definitely intend to revisit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

… the 4 Reasons is an oasis of peace. Their moto (the four 'reasons' behind the hotel name) is: serenity, design, quality and attitude. Sounds a little contrived, but the hotel and small tight team of staff do deliver on the promise. Stylish, comfortable rooms are kept exceptionally clean. Gorgeous pool surrounded by a dozen sun loungers, canopies and an area with bean bags for lazier slumping. A guy cleans round it all day, lining up the beds at elegant angles in a sort of feng shui manner. There’s a tranquil garden and tinkling fountain (home to rather overexcited, raucous toads). Small meze plates in the bistro are great value (less than £4 each). I tried battered mussels and a slightly spicy liver dish, and a main meal of lamb chops – all good. The bistro/bar manager Birol is a star cocktail mixologist, having won accolades in the past in Istanbul. His apple martini deserves top billing. His colleague and protégé, Serhat, busied himself inventing new concoctions under the encouraging eye of the master shaker. Gulcan - the only female member of staff - is team waitress. All friendly, polite, good at what they do - attentive but never intrusive; just the right balance of service. Ali and Ahmed - very much a double act - do the main front of house liaison. They sort anything: taxis, boat trips, Turkish bath/massage sessions, recommend local restaurants. I have a nut allergy and they made sure everyone was across this. Nothing was too much trouble for them. All-day boat trips around the coast (with simple lunch provided) are excellent value at 55 Turkish liras (about 20 quid). Best café along the waterfront is the Magi Beach run by young trendy owners who've created a bohemian, modern-hippy atmosphere. The 15th Century Castle in Bodrum is worth a visit and the local bus costs only 5 Turkish liras (£1.85 one way) and, ahem, is rather an experience! The vibrant market on Thursdays is a must. I bought all my gifts at the dried fruit and spice stalls here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 4reasons hotel+bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 4reasons hotel+bistro

Address: Bakan Cad. No:2 Yalikavak (PK. 46), Yalikavak 48430, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Yalikavak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Yalikavak
#2 Family Hotel in Yalikavak
#2 Romantic Hotel in Yalikavak
#3 Best Value Hotel in Yalikavak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — 4reasons hotel+bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenity, design, quality and attitude are the 4reasons motto, for a perfect getaway.4reasons is considered to be the most successfully hidden oasis in Bodrum Peninsula. A funky, Mediterranean Zen-like hotel with a breathtaking view of the quaint coastal town of Yalikavak, this charming boutique hotel has 20 spacious rooms, designed for different needs with large swimming pool, well groomed Mediterranean gardens. Its restaurant is considered top rated in Bodrum. Massage therapies available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your 4reasons hotel+bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4reasons Hotel+Bistro Hotel Yalikavak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 4reasons hotel+bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.