We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but room for improvement!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Greenland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Greenland to your Saves list
Hotel Greenland
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hastane Mevki Gokceovacik Koyu, Oludeniz 48300 , Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 103 Hotels in Oludeniz
Leeds
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good, but room for improvement!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

We have just returned from this hotel, stayed here for two weeks, hotel is located in a goregous location, the scenery is amazing..
The food is good, always a good selection on, the only thing I would say is the desserts that lets it down, they all taste the same and they dont use fresh cream!!
The rooms are abit small and cluttered, not good if you have a little one.
Some of the reception staff and management are abit arrogant, especially on a evening,
Not much on for younger kids, all they need is a little slide and a swing to keep them amused!
Night Entertainment, Ha ha, in the two weeks we had the same belly dancer 3 times! it is very amateur, and the guy that runs it trys to do a good job, but he is very loud and only picks and talks to the people he likes.
The hotel itself is gorgeous, but the only thing is, it is away from the main road, and you have to walk it down, but walking back up in the heat is a nightmare so beware!
Some of the bar staff and restaurant staff were so helpful and polite.. Especially Fatih in the top bar!!!
I would recommend this hotel to people but only to stay for a week.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    284
    106
    38
    11
See reviews for
323
407
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2010

I felt i must write a review for this hotel as my partner and i had a great weeks holiday and agreed we would definately go back, which is something we havent said about previous holidays. This is mainly because for a mere £350 each we had an all inclusive deal, with great food and drink, in a deluxe room, which was very clean and modern.
There were scenic mountain views. The hotel also had two pools, the top pool (beside deluxe rooms) was fairly quiet and had a pool bar area, the bottom pool area also had a pool bar and was set alongside the restaurant, here there was a more livelier atmosphere with a couple of bar areas. We liked the option of being able to use the quieter area at times
The local dolmas buses were excellent as they were cheap and came every few minutes, the drivers were very helpful towards ensuring you knew were to go and how to get back. In the local area there is loads to see and do at a very reasonable price. Basically a weeks stay was not enough to enjoy all on offer.

We would like to say a BIG THANKS Greenland, we had a lovely time.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

just returned from a 10 night stay here, cant think of anything to complain about, rooms were cleaned everyday, food was always nice and fresh with plenty to choice from (different everyday). We upgraded to the standard deluxe rooms which was £20 extra per night but was well worth it as the standard was a bit small. Hotel staff were very friendly and willing to help! evening entertainment was a bit of a let down, but after all it was the begining of the season! over all i give the greenland 10/10 and would return!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, England
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

I had a wonderful ten days with my husband at the Greenland Hotel in September 2009. There had been storms before we arrived and it rained on our first night but after that the weather just got hotter and hotter. We loved relaxing by the pool and we spent a few days on the beautiful beach at Oludeniz. We don't go to the Lagoon as you have to pay to get in and its crowded and over rated. There is great shopping in Oludeniz and also Hisaronu. We love the Grand Boozey in Hisaronu if a night out clubbing is your thing. We gave up the bus after a while as it is very slow. A taxi is more expensive but at least you do get there in 10 minutes. The hotel has pretty grounds and we loved the restaurant and the food was excellent with loads of variety every day and gorgeous gateaux! We met some other British guests who complained about the food but I can't understand why. Yes, there is a bias towards turkish cuisine but I thought they made a good effort to cater for British taste as well, which you couldn't say for some other turkish hotels. So, get stuck in, its all delicious! The only negatives we had about the hotel were our standard room and the evening "entertainment". The room needed a refit, it was small, old and tired looking and the shower was a big disappointment. It was fixed to the wall and we really prefer a pull down shower head, but also it creaked while in use and the water only came out of the edge of the head, not the centre. The beds were too short so my husband slept with his feet hanging over the end of the bed! There wasn't enough room to move around the beds. If you can afford a deluxe room then these are far far better as they are recently built, although still have a fixed shower. The really top notch deluxe rooms have a bedroom, bathroom and your own sitting room with two wall mounted plasma tvs, one in the sitting room and one in the bedroom. So, better get saving for one of those! As you've probably read on other reviews, the evening entertainment at the Greenland is absolutely awful. Think Butlins 1975. Their idea of what we like is ridiculously out of date but we found it all quite comical and didn't let it spoil our holiday. The bar area needs a complete rethink, it is tired and old like our room, and if they put the dance floor in the centre of the room and dimmed the lights then people might actually get up and dance. Not like it is now with the dance floor treated like a stage, garishly lit up like Blackpool illuminations. Anyway lets hope an extreme makeover is imminent! We had a lovely holiday and will be going back to Turkey again. This was our third trip to Turkey. We never go anywhere else!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fenton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

Recently returned from an eleven night stay. A bit disappointed with entertainment in the evening but the hotel was very clean, staff friendly and helpful. The new pool and bar recently built was a good place to relax. I thought the Hotel was very good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isle of wight
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

First trip to turkey, myself, partner and 2 14yr old boys. booked a family room which far exceeded my expectation. Room was large, clean, and had everything we required - no need to upgrade. Maid service was exceptional fresh towels every day. Reception staff were always polite and helpful (dont understand why people complain otherwise) - one of my boys was ill and required a doctor, reception staff made the phone call for us and we had an english speaking doctor with us within 10 minutes. (wouldnt get that in the UK) the doctor even took us to a pharmacy after to get medication.
Food was great, but during week two became repetitive, as it would anywhere! The only things i would suggest would be more snacks during the day for kids, ie chips pizza etc. and for tea & coffe to be available in the restaurant for the evening meal and during the in the bar.
Pool was lovely, but chilly, ok when you were in, couldve been a bit warmer for the time of year, more people wouldve used it then. Although by boys couldnt keep out and loved the slide.
Entertainment people did there best especially the girl during the day, but again it was end of season. Evening entertainment couldve done with starting at 9 ish as 10 to late; we watched a couple of nights, but it wasnt for us! evening entertainment was a bit poor so dont expect too much.
All the staff at the greenland very helpful and friendly, hotel was very clean and pretty.
Went on a number of trips and would recommend the Dalyan boat trip, and we saw the loggerhead turtles - booked all our trips through Carole & Tayfun in hisaronu and werent disappointed, got good prices and boats not overcrowded. Quad biking was great, as was jeep safari, dont miss out on saklikent gorge, but take your own swimming/beach shoes - you will need these practically everywhere. 12 island boat trip was fab - seen dolphins, flying fish and many beautiful bays.
Turkish bath a must, book through the guy in the hotel, best price and all the people who we spoke to had this done before elsewhere, said this one was the best - we thought it was wonderful, and our boys really enjoyed it.
All in all a great 2 week holiday in turkey, greenland is a good base and easily accessible to anywhere you want to go - we cant wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2009

I had read many reviews of hotels in Turkey before I booked. I picked greenland and wasn't disappointed.
The Hotel is even nicer than in the pics. The hotel was spotless and the grounds lovely. i was more than happy with our room. The bathroom was good size and the shower was great. There was always plenty of food which we liked. We didnt bother much with on site entertainment as it started too late so can't comment on this.
The pool was freezing as it was quite chilly at night due to the time of year.
Absolutely loved the area I will definately go back. Fethiye market was great I came away with 7 handbags !

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Greenland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Greenland

Address: Hastane Mevki Gokceovacik Koyu, Oludeniz 48300 , Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Oludeniz
#12 Family Hotel in Oludeniz
#34 Romantic Hotel in Oludeniz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Greenland 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Greenland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenland Hotel Ovacik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Greenland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.