We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant holiday, didn't want to come home!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Greenland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Greenland to your Saves list
Hotel Greenland
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hastane Mevki Gokceovacik Koyu, Oludeniz 48300 , Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 103 Hotels in Oludeniz
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant holiday, didn't want to come home!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

From the start to the end, this holiday was super.
We were in room 529, at the top of the top of the complex in a lovely CLEAN room, they are not massive by an means but why do you need a HUGE room?? You only shower and sleep there!
We woke up the first morning and could easily get a sunbed by the "sun and chill" pool. Lovely pool, so clear and very cold!! You need it in 40' heat though.
The whole hotel is surrounded by mountains making it so picturesque as the sun rises from behind them every morn.
Breakfast...good selection (no bacon or sausage though!)
Lunch...lovely selection of food, different every day.
Dinner...one night we had a man doing a shish kebab, this was amazing...so lovely!!!
One night they were doing stir fry, another night they had the most amazing leg of lamb that just fell off the bone.
Along with all the other lovely foods they had.
All inclusive drinks are good, the free alcoholic drinks include Brandy, gin, wine, beer, vodka and their local spirit Raki...(wow this is strong but try it!)
Soft drinks all day...coke, lemonade, fruit juices, coffee, tea etc.
Snacks between 3.30-5...pizza, chips, cakes, hot dogs and then midnight soup 11.30pm-midnight!
So no you can't ever be hungry!
We went on a trip organised by Thomson which was Fethiye by night. We got picked up at 6 on a small bus, taken to the small beautiful town of Fethiye and did a 1/2-45min boat trip to go and watch the sunset...it was absolutely beautiful. This sunset is world famous apparently. We then went back to the harbour, and walked to the local fish market where you choose your fish from a deli....caught fresh that day!!...then the chefs cook it up for you. For a whole red snapper, and a whole sea bass, breads, massive salad, chips, 1 water and one wine, it was 80 TL, about £28!!
Amazing!! We then had time to look round the shops and we were taken back to the hotel at midnight. (£15 for trip but does get booked up!)
We did go to St Nicholas beach which is the beach the hotel offer for free (pick up 10.30 from hotel, come back at 4.30)
Beach so lovely and warm...very salty so you just float.
15 TL for 2 sunbeds (£2.50 each) and 15TL for an hour of pedalo (great fun!)
We then spent most of our days lazing by the pool (quiet pool) lilos are allowed but buy in England if you can. Quite expensive there! At beach much cheaper, less then half the price than in hotel shop!

If you're thinking of booking greenland...do it!
Great value for money and fab hotel.
So sad to be home!!!

Thank you Greenland!
:)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    284
    106
    38
    11
See reviews for
323
407
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Brilliant friendly hotel , great staff food beer location well happy we went there going back again ,brilliant mountain views , the hill is a ball ache but you get use to it, local shops 5 mins away just jump on the local bus it costs pennies , great local bars showing live football on Saturday afternoon

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Me (24) and my boyfriend (23) stayed at this hotel from 17th Aug till the 24th Aug. And we were thinking of booking to come here again!

Our plane was delayed, however when we arrived at the hotel our bags were taken to our room which was located in the top block near the 'quiet' pool. The room its self was so clean, had a lovely waterfall shower, flat screen TV and the balcony overlooked the pool. We had two bottles of water in the fridge which was lovely as its not often you get this in all inclusive hotels!

I'll address some issues that had been brought up in previous reviews, the water that is in big bottles is bottled water and we heard that not even turkish people drink the tap water. It was so nice to be able to refill our bottles without keep having to pay for new bottles of water all the time!

As for the food, I thought it was lovely plenty of variety and always plenty to eat. And there were snacks available around the pool from 12:30 - 16:00 I think, which were chips, sometimes pizza etc. And if you want cocktails then ask for a fruity or sweet cocktail as they are free.

The staff were always so friendly, especially a lady who worked in the Sun and chill bar in the evenings, so friendly.

The hotel is very hilly, with a steep hill going from the reception towards the quiet pool. This wasn't a problem, and was nice to see chickens and even a turtle! The scenary is so beautiful, as the hotel is up in the mountains (which there is a lovely breeze, that was welcome in the 40+ degree heat!)

We booked a jeep safari trip through thomas cook (Evergreen jeep safari) And it was soo good, having water fights and seeing all the beautiful scenary (But take plenty of sun cream! As it gets so hot and you can burn very easily!)

We had a turkish bath on our first day, and it was so worth it! So make sure you see Joesph when you arrive to get a good deal!

Overall was such a relaxing holiday, we were lucky to get a deluxe room even though we paid for a standard! However we would pay the extra time we go! As the air con was fantastic, it stayed on when we left the room, which made it so cool when we came back after being by the pool!

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for a deluxe room, as they are located in a quieter block right near the quiet pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 weeks from the 27th June!! I'm 27 and my boyfriend is 30.
We had a fantastic time!! Food was fantastic, drinks choice was good - cocktails included as long as you said local cocktail!
We stayed in block 1 which I have to say was the only down fall as it was VERY noisy!! I don't think we had a full nights sleep in 2 weeks and we are both good sleepers! This was due to guests at the hotel fighting screaming, and shouting not the hotels fault however I would consider that this would be noisy whenever you were staying there.
The quiet pool was such a luxury to have as you didn't get hassled and it was just so chilled out and also the SUN AND CHILL bar was the best!! The staff at the hotel were friendly particularly the lady Derya at the sun and chilled bar, she took her time to get to know you and always had time for you! Fantastic asset to the hotel!
Entertainment was not to our taste but plenty enjoyed it.
All in all a FANTASTIC hotel!! Many people return year after year and you can see why!!
A relaxing and hassle free holiday!!
Thank you Greenland!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have just arrived back after ten nights in this wonderful friendly hotel .We travelled as a family six adults with a two year old .A great time was had by all with Great shows something for everyone including our grandson who enjoyed seeing such varied entertainment and laughed so hard when a random camel kissed his granddad " wont spoil the surprise " . The food was good and everyone found something they enjoyed at every meal even our two year old . We spent our time at the top pool as it was quieter and more relaxed . The staff are all so friendly from the waiters to the maids even the two ladies that made pancakes outside in the scorching heat great treat filled with many different tasty fillings .We has a great day at the mud baths and took a trip to turtle beach were we got sight of a huge turtle . The men had a Turkish shave and it was just as much fun to watch . Would recommend this hotel and will visit again in the future .

Room Tip: The rooms at the top pool are quieter as you will not get the noise at night but as we were watching...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I stayed at this hotel from 2nd to 10th August and hadn't planned to write a review, as I really endorsed all the good points that others had made. However, I wanted to redress the balance, having read the review of the guest, who had found a great many things disappointing.
The food was very good - the breakfast, in particular, we found to have a good deal of choice and I can only think the previous reviewer was just there at the wrong time - (and only on one day). Some of our group went for a "full English" (they always found plenty of eggs - either fried, scrambled or poached, or very often went for the gorgeous, freshly made pancakes. Personally, I preferred the lovely figs and apricots with natural yoghurt -but there was masses of choice, with cold meats, cheeses and cereals, together with a large variety of breads.
On the subject of breads - these were delicious and we watched the different varieties being made and cooked in the big oven, next to the pool bar each evening. At each meal, breakfast lunch and dinner, there was always a good selection of hot dishes, cold meats and a wonderful range of salads. No, the desserts didn't have labels - but you had a pretty good idea what each one was, and it was fun tasting them.
The hillside setting of the hotel is beautiful and, swinging gently in one of the hammocks, looking at the deep blue sky through the pine trees, with the incredible sound of the cicadas and the little chickens pecking about in the grass, is just about perfection.
The surrounding coast is also stunning and I am sure your dissatisfied reviewer would have loved the Blue Lagoon, that you can get to using the hotel's free shuttle bus, which will also bring you back at the end of the day. Olu Deniz and Fethiye are also worth a visit an so each to get to on the very frequent and reasonable local buses, from the end of the road.
I note that some people have preferred the accommodation blocks at the top pool. However, we were in the block nearest reception, which was really convenient and had a corner room overlooking the lovely gardens at the back. Noise was never an issue.
Like most of the very satisfied reviewers, I hope to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on trent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I am in total agreement to the last review, I have no idea what all the fuss is about!!

We have just returned from 11 nights in August and to be honest it what you might expect at Butlins but with the Sun.

Lets start with the rooms, they are somewhat small and as a couple you really had a struggle to both move around, yes there was a mini bar with 2 bottles of water on arrival, that's it.

The rooms were supposed to be cleaned everyday with towels/sheets every other day, lets say the cleaners gave the rooms a cat lick but not a clean, If the cleaners saw you enter your room then they would make a fuss of you stating they were the cleaners and you could tell they were looking to have a tip.

Aircon was noisy and you did struggle to sleep, loads of kids and some times adults shouting and running up and down the corridors. You could here noises from the next room and we often heard frustrated parents shouting and the crying children.

The pool was ok, with one water slide which was turned off for the majority of the time and when it was turned on you would get a queue, there was a knack coming down else you would need to do bum shuffle to continue your journey down the slide.

The resort advertises spa pool and sauna, don't expect these to be working. The drinks lets say weak and limited, if you wanted a half decent branded one, then there was a cost.

The food was a miss mosh of stuff and repeated often spaghetti and bolognaise a plenty, so were chips also rice and pasta but it was tasteless rubbish.

They try and do one off's and one night they decided to do chicken kebabs with a 'chef' cutting it off for you. I was in a queue waiting to be served (queues were a plenty) and I was served raw chicken as the 'chef' was rushing to serve the queue as everyone seemed fed up withe same old spaghetti and bolognaise.

The staff are friendly enough but I couldn't help feeling they wanted tipping all the time, if I heard one heart warming story I heard half a dozen.

Entertainment was poor, with Bingo balls pulled out of a bucket and tickets were at a cost. Caeser the entertainment er!!! dont quite know what he was to be honest however he would dress up for the kids and run the exact same mini disco from 9pm for half an hour same songs same dances. Then he would do his rendition of PSY - Gangnam Style and to be honest the first time you saw it, it was funny and good, however after about a week of it the novelty soon wore off. However the kids loved him.

When the adult entertainment came on some were absolutely terrible and couple were okish!! but they lasted about half an hour, that's it, then you were wandering around with a what do I do now.

The place needs a face lift and you can get bored, the music the DJ blasts out over the pool during the day is house/trance stuff which is ok in moderation but it was tosh!! Every morning at 10am you had a chorus from Doris Day singing 'Good morning', we waited for the Hi De Hi.

Those who go will meet Joseph who sits by the pool selling Turkish baths etc.. nice bloke and we took him up on the bath and massage which were excellent, but negotiate a price it pays off!!

Walking out of the complex you can catch a Dolmas (bus) or taxi, the buses were cheap and we enjoyed a couple of the nearby towns at night and they came alive with great atmosphere.
The Resort had none!!!

It is mainly British who stop there and have the sunbeds sussed, be early to get one, and when you do take some card to put in the pole holding the umbrella up they were a nightmare.

Some of the beds were broken so you couldn't adjust them. This is not a dream destination, as I said its a Butlins, however I am doing Butlins a disservice as Butlins is better!!!

If you are thinking about this resort be careful before you book, there are a lot nicer places to go. Skegness springs to mind.





Also the hotel is bulit into the hillside so can be a little steep to walk up for some people.

Room Tip: You need to pay for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Greenland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Greenland

Address: Hastane Mevki Gokceovacik Koyu, Oludeniz 48300 , Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Oludeniz
#12 Family Hotel in Oludeniz
#34 Romantic Hotel in Oludeniz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Greenland 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Greenland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenland Hotel Ovacik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Greenland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.