We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Hotel, but great veiws and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Morina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Morina to your Saves list
Hotel Morina
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Belcegiz Mah. | 236 Sk. Oludeniz, Oludeniz, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 103 Hotels in Oludeniz
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Basic Hotel, but great veiws and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

Hi De Hi Bing Bong,
Hotel is very basic but what do you expect for a 2 star! Staff are friendly and helpful especially Bing Bong. Rooms very clean and were cleaned every day, clean towels daily also. Location is excellent is set in the olive grove at the edge of town which means a short walk to beach. Don't book any trips through the reps as you can sort these out yourselfs or get bing bong as he is the Arther Daily of Turkey so he will always know someone that can take you around! Usually for less money. Done the Parr Gliding which was excellent so will be back for another go sometime soon. Ladys that go on your own be warned the young men hassle you when you are on the beach, your hear "hello lady".

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    68
    21
    6
    7
See reviews for
46
133
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Godstone
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

After we had booked we looked on trip advisor and saw some bad reviews, we were a bit worried about what we would find. But we needn't have been- the rooms though basic were comfortable and were cleaned every day as well as the sheets and towels changed daily.
The hotel itself is lovely, excellent pool and bar with good food. The staff were all very friendly and helpfull. The hotel is situated at the top of the resort just far enough away to be relaxing and quiet, but not too much of a walk as long as you are a bit fit.
I would thoroughly recommend Olu Deniz to any one young or old and the morina Hotel too as long as you don't expect 5 star.
We will definately be returning next year.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morecambe
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

for a two star hotel i was quiet worried especially reading some reviews but we had no worries staff at the morina helpfull beds clean and bathroom cleaned most days we had no ants in our room the only one problem was the walk to the town it was hard going for my husband who has back problems we would go again but would go back but save enough in the budget for a taxi every night

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

Upon arrival we were situated in the old building, our room was filthy, there was blood on the floor from where people had squashed insects, the bathroom floor was wet and dirty, with no shower facility just some taps and a shower head stuck on the wall, there was no where to hang the shower head as it didn’t fit in the holster, there was a large gap in the door and in the frame work, the door frame was coming away from the wall, the bed sheets were filthy and covered in stains, the bathroom tiles were loose so when you stood on them they squelched and all the old shower water and germs would come over them and back into the bath room from the people before us, the room had not been cleaned , you literally had 2 feet from the shower taps to the toilet to wash with no cubicle, the shower water would hit the toilet then the water would run back towards you to go down a small drain, we had to move the toilet paper from the bathroom because it was that small that if you showered you would soak your toilet paper, the fixtures in the bathroom where not held in properly and were botched cemented on, the corner of the toilet mirror was smashed and just left as an open jagged edge, there was bits of building work cemented and just botched on, on the wardrobe and dressing table there was something splattered up the sides of them and the bathroom was filthy. We were told it was right next to the beach, it really isn't there is at least a 20 minute walk on the hill. We rang the hotel direct from the UK before our stay as we had read horrible reviews about the old part of the hotel and asked to be put in the new part, we asked with the people we booked with and also emailed the hotel and asked but on arrival we were in the old part. We ended up being trasfered on our second day to stay down the road at the Karbel Sun Hotel which was also a 3 star like we were told the Morina was. The Morina was not a patch on the Karbel Sun Hotel, which was clean tidy, new furnishings and fittings and a 5 min walk to the beach we really enjoyed our stay at the Karbel Sun but the Morina HA! what a dump i am no snob but that place was a joke the rooms were so small, once you had your suitcases out there was no room to move around, if once of you was at the side of the bed then the other had to move! Pay and extra £50 and stay at the Karbel because the Morina is a DUMPPPPPP!! HONEST TRUTH! If i could put the photos on to prove it i would but i can't download them off my phone!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

I am a 24 yr old female who went for 1 wk with a friend. We arrived to find the reception was a table in the bar area! Im not fussed about things like that but I do think it would benefit the place if they looked professional.

There are two blocks; 1 new (Hotel) and 1 very old (Motel) we did not realise this until we got there as we were quoted "Hotel" not Motel! I took a wet wipe and wiped the floor in our room to find dirt fluff and hairs. I only did this as I trod on a few melon pips and thought to find out what else they havent cleaned. The room was the size of a shoe box and we had to put our suitcases one ontop of the other ontop of the wardrobe. There were a line of ants that crawled accross one single bed. We knew there would be ants but not in our beds! We asked if they could help to get rid of them...nothing happened. We also asked if they could mop the floor, staff happy to help but we got back to our room the following morning to find the floor still dirty and flowers draped accross our beds brininging in even more insects lol! Towels were changed approx every other day. Apart from that we had amazing views, but we never sat out on the balcony as table was filthy and the balconies are set right next to each other so you couldnt have a conversation without the whole row listening in! When I read the reviews about being basic I thought thats fine but I will emphasise that basic means having a hose in the bathroom for a shower which also means getting the toilet roll wet every time you use it so had to put it outside if you wanted to have a wash. Loo brush was absolutely discusting NO JOKE!

Staff got funny if you didnt spend your money with them. Basically they were only nice to you if they got what they wanted out of you. Apart from that I wont tar all the staff with the same brush some of them were nice and polight. Breakfast buffett between 8am-10am is a choice of the following (every single morning) : Olives, white bread, jam & butter, goats yoghurt, raisons & honey, boiled eggs (lovely as chickens running around so nice and fresh) goats cheese, water melon, cucumber and tomato. Tea, coffee and very weak orange cordial. You can buy an english fry up there but mine was swimming in grease so not very nice :-(

The muslim speaker/megaphone tower is literally only 50m from the hotel so if you dont want to be woken up at 5am each morning I suggest you stay in a hotel nearer the beach.

Pool area was clean. Location was excellent, however I wouldnt recommend it to anyone unfit or disabled as it is on a slight hill about 10 mins walk to beach. I would rate it a 1-2* and would not go back there again. Was not worth £380 inc flights and transfers.
The actual resort was STUNNING. The lagoon was picturesque. Please note the beach is STONES and NOT sand. But the Turkish people ruined our holiday as we were unfortunate and were cond out of money from 'SEASIDE TRAVEL' a word of warning to you there DO NOT use this comapny for ANY of there excursions!!!

Not a place for singles, especially girls as the abuse that was hurled to us from shop sellers etc was uncalled for and sickening but we had to ignore them as there was nothing we could do about that. Great fro families and couples though :-)

PS watch out for the price of alcohol = MEGGA EXPENSIVE!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

We stayed here in July 2009, when temperatures were reaching 100 degrees plus!
We were NOT impressed by any of the Jewel in the Crown reps - what an appalling company! They are the subject of a separate complaint.
Upon our arrival at the hotel at about 5 in the morning, we were allocated 2 rooms in the 'dreaded' older block. The accomodation is VERY basic indeed, albeit with a shower and balcony. The room and the communal areas were VERY clean, and the cleaning staff appeared to be working 12 hours a day throughout our stay! The rooms have all you need really, and its not as if you spend much time in them!
Breakfast is also basic, but sufficient, with plenty of coffee, juice, bread and other bits.
The rooms were cleaned daily, and fresh linen and towels provided daily.
The gardens are beautiful, and the chickens and family dog add a nice local touch!
There is a mosque over the road, and the call for prayer is blasted out through loudpeakers 5 times a day, including at 5am. This was not a problem for us, and indeed, bearing in mind Turkey is a Muslim land, its not really something to complain about. We found it exacerbated the feeling of being in a strange land (especially when everything is geared towards the English!)
The hotel guests were half Turkish families, half English package tourists with the odd Dutch/Russian thrown in. A lovely combination all in all. No yobbos at all, which was nice. On that note, the hotel is NOT a 'clubby' loud hotel with brash discos or karaoke or anything. It is great for families or tose who want to chill out and have a bit of peach and quiet.
The swimming pool area is excellent, with sunbeds and shades aplenty. As for the service and the staff, well, you couldn't get any better quite frankly (and I am a huge snob when it comes to these sorts of venues, believe you me) - the family who run the hotel and provide the staff are outstanding - they all speak excellent English, and couldnt do enought. We gave one young lad (about 13 years old) a noce tip at the end of the holiday, as he was there before breakfast (7am) and still working solidly at 10pm. Bless him. Hakki the barman is the main man, and will amuse you with his microphone pseudo-Hi-de-Hi announcements. All the staff are chatty and friendly - brilliant!
They will arrange excursions (boat trip (we all fried in the 116 degree sunshine) and Turkish Baths etc.
We lunched there every day, and the food is basic, but satisfying. Prices are good as well (bearing in mind Oludeniz is one the most expensive places in the country)
Overall, a basic hotel, which more than makes up for this with its staff, facilities and qulaity of service.
I would recommend the Help Beach Bar and Lounge in Oludeniz for dinner - v reasonable prices, Azda supermarket for bits and bobs, and UK Watches for excellent Japanese movement replica designer watches!
Be careful of the sun at the hotel - a breeze wafts up the valley and it is sometimes deceptively cool. The crickets make a nice background noise.
Dont go with Jewel in the Crown though. One of their reps (none of whom appeared to speak a word of Turkish - even my kids learnt to say 'thank you') The racist epithet used by one of their reps did not go down well with me!
I would 100 per cent go back to the Morina, no doubt.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

We have just got back from a weeks stay at the Morina Hotel, Olu Deniz. I was dubious about booking here given it's very mixed reviews but now want to give you my very real view of our stay there.

The Room - This is probably the most important part - make sure when you book that you are staying in the NEW building!!! Jewel in the Crown holiday reps only book you into the old building and it's just that 'Old'. All the rooms in the hotel in both buildings are very basic, beds, cupboard, mirror and desk table, small balcony and shower, toilet and sink. However in the old building there are no shower cubicles, and you could pretty much shower whilst sat on the toilet. In the new building everything is slightly newer and you do have a cubicle. I believe that all the rooms in the new building are twin beds but we just pushed them together, and they were left that way throughout our stay. Rooms are cleaned daily and towels replenished.

The grounds of the hotel: All the grounds are clean, maintained, well presented and lovely. The pool is lovely and clean, the breakfast area and bar are also nice.

The location - the BEST thing about the location was that we were quite well away from all the tourists and for the most part it was quiet, apart from the odd night when the adjacent hotel hosted loud activities, but they rarely went on past midnight. It was at the top of a hill though so the walk on a very hot day was pretty strenuous. If you have trouble walking far, this may not be the hotel for you. It's not a steep hill but still about 15/20 minutes from the beach. At night when you get towards the hotel, the roads aren't that well lit, but we never had any trouble. The mosque next door never really bothered us, I only ever heard it in the day and once when i was already awake pretty early. It only lasts a few minutes each time.

The Staff - For the most part all the main staff are really friendly and helpful. The cleaning and kitchen staff don't speak English much at all so there won't be much interaction there.

Meals - Breakfast is very basic turkish breakfast, boiled eggs (not everyday) cheese, cucumber, tomato, olives, bread and honey and if you are picky about your coffee, they only have instant nescafe. There is a separate menu you can order from with other stuff on it, but we never did. We only ate lunch there once, again basic and never had dinner there.

On the whole i'd really recommend Hotel Morina if you want to be away from the main tourist strip, and aren't going to spend the whole of your holiday in your room or by the pool. Our room was only £18 per night and our view was INCREDIBLE, it looked right over the valley down to the sea and upwards towards the huge mountains and pine forests.

On the whole, great for a cheap basic stay with amazing views over the valley.
Thanks to everyone who made our stay lovely.

(please note: Not sure whether the peaceful quiet will keep up in kids holiday season!!)

Notes about Olu Deniz, Turkey:
Don't drink the tap water! Take high factor sunscreen as well as your normal as it's dry heat and you can burn easily. Prickly heat is quite common because of the heat. Always shop around, as it's a tourist trap there, the prices change from shop to shop and restaurant to restaurant! We were quoted 35 Lira for a bottle of sunscreen in one place, and bought it for 15 a few shops down. Do not flush toilet paper down the toilets, use the bins provided. Take antihistamine!!! You do get the odd bea and wasp! The sea is amazingly colorful, quite chilly but you get used to it fast! Buy the beach shoes they sell so you don't hurt your feel on the pebbles! Prices for sunbeds etc go up in July. You MUST visit Fetiyhe. It makes you feel like you are in real Turkey, great bars, restaurants on the harbour and some really great shopping. By dolmus from Olu Deniz it's only 3.50 lira both ways.

Buzz bar is great for the view and for partying, but it's a little costly food wise in comparison! We used Guide Tours for our activities booking, i'd recommend doing their 6 Island boat cruise as it's a much smaller boat and much more friendly.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Morina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Morina

Address: Belcegiz Mah. | 236 Sk. Oludeniz, Oludeniz, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Oludeniz
#9 Family Hotel in Oludeniz
#17 Romantic Hotel in Oludeniz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Morina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morina deluxe Hotel has started as a family business since 1988 and last 2 years after big refurbishment at the hotel, it became to a boutique design hotel at high standards. Morina Deluxe Hotel has 18 mountain-garden view- sidesea view(can have any of it or all of them) 18 sea view superiors,5 deluxe seaview rooms, 3 family rooms stay up to 4(2 bedrooms and sharing bathroom), family suite, honeymoon suite and the dream suite. All the rooms have coffee facilities, aircon, minibar, bathroom and room equipments such as shower gel,flip flops,etc. Deluxe rooms have also jakuzzi bath and swing. And surprising amazing suites which you should come and discover by yourself. Morina Deluxe Hotel is we are aprox 5 minute to the shops, 10 minutes walk away from the beach. It might be not suitable who has walking difficulties. Morina Deluxe Hotel kept out itself from all the crowd of the resort, have a beautiful garden and inside of its own world which is far away from the loud also close enough to be in it when you want to be. It is privilage to stay in Morina Deluxe Hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming our guests to make their holiday special, give them a perfect service and make them return to home with a great pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Morina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morina Hotel Oludeniz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Morina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.