We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leytur Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Leytur Hotel to your Saves list
Leytur Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ovacik Mah., Oludeniz, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 105 Hotels in Oludeniz
Certificate of Excellence 2014
portsmouth
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

ha,ve just returned on fri 17 sept,want with my husband and friends julia and gary
what a great hotel staff and owner leya was just the best,we ate out and in the hotel never was any of the staff horrible they loved to hear about our travels out and about,meet lovely people who was staying here and hotel behind(pat and john)we all sat round the pool and were like loose women or grumpy old wemen lol! you no who you are.
r5ooms were the best i,d ever stayed in the shower was fantastic
you must try this hotel hope to go back next year

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    88
    45
    21
    9
See reviews for
164
370
26
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

My wife and I were looking for a nice quiet holiday and found the perfect place.

The Hotel
Rooms absolutely spotless, benefiting from a full refurb. over the winter. The Bathroom and shower quite excellent. We were in an attic room which was a little small but perfect for sleeping, changing and showering. Time the showers right to get the hot water though.

The Location
At the outer end of Ovacik about half way between Olu-Deniz and Fethiye.
Far enough out to be peaceful (no mosque karaoke to be heard) but close enough (by bus) to the night life and beaches.
Bus service on main road (20 meters) every 5 mins takes you to Olu-Deniz (2.5 YTL) Hisaronu (1.75 YTL) or Fethiye (3 YTL) so everything you could want is at hand. Free bus (ring and ride) to Billys Beach on the lagoon any day.

The Staff
All very friendly without exception. Leyla (the boss) always on hand and always willing to do anything to enhance your holiday experience.

The Service
Large beer at 4.5 YTL and spirits with mixers at 7 YTL
Not the cheapest but average for the area. We went Half board and the inclusive dinner was always well presented and good value with Soup, main and desert every evening. All a la carte meals looked good and were well priced too.
Though half board did represent a saving in meal costs, in the future I would go B&B to get out and about more in the evening.
My only disappointment was that the music played behind the bar was very limited and the obsession with playing bloody Elvis did drive me to drink (elsewhere) at times.

Looking at all the reviews you can believe ALL of them.
Of course if you go looking for problems, you will find them and if you don't socialise and be friendly you may find yourself out on a limb.
Leyla and the staff do want you to stay at the hotel and spend your tourist dollar. The recession has hit everywhere and Turkey has suffered from a big drop in tourist numbers this year. BUT I do not agree that you are treated differently if you wish to go elsewhere. Leyla is only too happy to ring for the beach bus for you; and we went out each evening before coming back for a nightcap and never felt ostracised or treated any differently.

All in all it was a lovely place to stay and we would definitely recommend it and go beck there ourselves

NOTE: WHEN GOING HOME DO NOT EXCEED YOUR LUGGAGE ALLOWANCE AND DEFINITELY DON'T BUY ANY REFRESHMENTS IN THE AIRPORT
£13 FOR A BEER AND A COFFEE. STAGGERING RIP OFF

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

There is not one thing that I could actually find wrong with this hotel. We arrived early hours of the morning and had really friendly staff waiting to take our bags up to our spotless, spacious room. All the staff from cleaners to bar men were so welcoming and friendly as were the owners. The food is amazing here and very good value for money and if you are a fussy eater the food is made exactly to your request. The Turkish night was great fun getting all the residents as well as the staff involved in dancing, a great way to meet new people in a really friendly, fun and relaxed atmosphere. The location of the hotel is just off the main road which is ideal as its quieter but is still super easy to get in to town via the dolmus which seems to run continuously. I will be going back to this hotel year after year from now on, and having only just returned to England i'm already looking forward to next years stay!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincs
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

I have just had a week at the Leytur with my husband, son, daughter and their partners. What a fab week we have had, very clean, good rooms, lovely pool and good food. Thanks to Layla, Hassan and all the staff at the Leytur. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

Having booked the Leytur Hotel purely on the basis of Trip Advisor reviews, we were extremely excited to start our holiday in this beautiful region of Turkey. We were most certainly not disappointed! We hope that this review will provide detailed, useful information for anyone choosing the Leytur Hotel and travelling to this area of Turkey.

The Leytur
Having previously stayed at 3* hotels in and around the Med, we can safely say that this hotel was the most scrupulously clean and comfortable we have stayed in. We are extremely picky when choosing hotels and quite often will select our accommodation based on the merits of the bathrooms! It was such a pleasant surprise to find a lovely, clean and recently refurbished bathroom with separate shower in this area of the world. We hasten to add that this was our first visit to the Leytur... we are not part of the group of regular customers which has previously been mentioned in earlier reviews.

We would like to further stipulate that we certainly did not spend all our time in the hotel, we went on several trips and ate out on a number of occasions (more on this later). At no point did we feel that we weren't spending enough money in the hotel, nor did we feel under scrutiny upon returning to our hotel. Ultimately, Leyla and her husband are running a business and are perfectly entitled to expect their residents to buy items from the hotel, rather than from local shops with the intention of smuggling them in (incidentally, her prices were entirely commensurate with, if not more competitive than, those we found in Hisaronu and Olu Deniz).

Despite opinions being given to the contrary, we continually found Leyla and her team to be warm, highly personable, smiley and friendly (and a brilliant giggle come Turkish night!) This even extended to Leyla giving us both a hug goodbye (despite only being first-timers) and offering my boyfriend cigarettes for the road (because I had banned him from buying any!) when we left in the very early hours of this morning! The lovely team who clean the rooms, and the wonderfully friendly groundsman who helped us with our bags on the first night, could not be faulted. On three separate occasions, we came back to our room to find fresh flowers scattered on our bed and on our dressing table. That made for a truly special surprise!

With regards to the hotel's restaurant, we really enjoyed both the formal meals and the poolside snacks which are available for most of the day. The pizzas are fantastic and we are quite frustrated that we only discovered them on our last day! We also sampled the jacket potatoes, chicken burgers, fried cheese, calamari, cheese rolls and all the fab mezzes offered on Turkish night. Furthermore, we loved the Turkish breakfast, which was a welcome change from the typical "Full English Breakfast" that everyone else seems to demand (which, incidentally the hotel will also accommodate for a small charge if you require it). Anyone who considers that there is not enough choice is just not looking hard enough... Greek yoghurt, local honey, watermelon, cucumber, fresh bread and hard boiled eggs. I certainly don't have a breakfast that varied whilst at home!

If you do only one thing during your stay at the hotel, make sure you attend the Turkish night! The food was incredible with huge variety, and the belly dancer has such an infectious attitude that you cannot fail but have fun (although ladies and gents both beware... you will be actively encouraged to paticipate, even to the point where my boyfriend was dragged kicking and screaming from the toilets!)

After a truly memorable and relaxing stay at the Leytur, made all the more so by Leyla and her wonderful team, we will certainly be booking for next year (although we will have to get in there quick as Leyla is already taking reservations!)


Trips/Excursions

We booked all our trips through Ali G at Pioneer Travel. We couldn't fault him or the level of organisation which went into our different excursions. We were able to book four different trips; the Olu Deniz boat trip, the Turkish Bath, Horse Riding to Kaya Koy and Dalyan on our last day. All these trips cost a very competitve total of £35 per person and included pick up and drop off from our hotel.

Olu Deniz boat trip - this was amazing value at £5 each for the whole day. We were under the impression that this price would probably mean more of a taster trip, we were very wrong. We were picked up at around 10am and driven in an air-conditioned coach down to our boat (easily the quietest boat which went out that day!). Once on the boat, we travelled to Butterfly Valley which is almost entirely inaccessible by any other means, three private coves and St Nicholas/Gemilier Island. At every stop we had the opportunity to jump off the boat and swim about (for the more adventurous there is a water slide on board!) As part of the trip price, we were served a lovely lunch consisting of fresh fish or chicken and salad. We also sampled the on-boat pancakes and ice creams which are payable separately. Drinks are extra, as are the photographs taken by the company's photographer. However, we ate and drank all we could and we still only paid 60 lira (c£25) including 25 lira for lots of photos on a DVD. Our only minor complaint, the slightly irritating and quite loud music played whenever we left port. However, we had several Turkish people on board and we got the impression that they may have made a few special requests to the crew. We eventually returned to Olu Deniz at approximately 5:30pm, after a full six hours at sea.

Turkish Bath - our trip again cost £5 each and was based at the Seabreeze Residence in Hisaronu. This was a totally relaxing experience which is highly recommended at least once during your visit. The guys in the Hammam are very funny and are not afraid of spraying you with freezing water! The experience and price also included use of the hotel's sauna and jacuzzi. When you arrive, you are given the option of completing your experience with a hot oil massage for an additional £10 per person. This is definitely worth the extra cost and you will leave walking on air.

Horse Riding - hmmmmmm! As with all the trips, we were picked up at our hotel and taken to stables on the outskirts of Hisaronu. At this point, you are given the option of riding to Kaya Koy or through the mountains. We opted for Kaya Koy as it seemed a great way of seeing the Ghost Town. Unfortunately, we discovered that the horses were extremely overworked and generally appeared underweight. We were part of a small group of four which was accompanied by a young guy (probably around fourteen) who didn't speak English. Following a fairly uneventful trip down to Kaya Koy (which did involve some trotting through rocky patches - hold on tight) we had a quick drink at a cafe in the shadows of Kaya. We subsequently departed but became concerned that our horses had not been given anything to drink. Despite attempts to lead the proverbial horse to water at a trough, we discovered that we were entirely unable to command the horses (despite being quite proficient riders). This later became extremely evident when the lead horse, ridden by our young guide, began to gallop through a rocky field towards the trees. This had the unnerving effect of encouraging all the other horses to gallop and resulted in my boyfriend's horse tripping (probably due to exhaustion) and throwing him off (without helmet) at speed. Our young guide immediately set off on foot after both my boyfriend's horse (which had been utterly spooked) and his own, leaving my boyfriend (who fortunately knows how to roll from after being thrown safely and was unhurt) to brush himself off and continue the next 5km on foot. It was lucky that the horses knew where they were going! Eventually, the guide returned with the same spooked horse, despite all four of us thinking it would be more humane to swop for another, and we all set off back to the stable. During the entire ride, I was very aware of my own horse being particularly lethargic and difficult to gee up. This was further illustrated by my guide giving me a thin stick pulled from a tree to act as a crop (not happy about that!) When we finally returned to the stables and I dismounted, we became immediately aware of the fact that my horse was still in the process of nursing a young foal and really shouldn't have been subjected to twice daily rides in this condition. All in all, if you want to try the horse riding, be aware of the different approach to the treatment of the horses, otherwise you might get a nasty shock like we did!

Dalyan - what can we say, easily the best trip of our whole holiday. Amazing value at £12.50 per person including lunch at a local restaurant. We were picked up our hotel and bussed to the Dalyan Gold Center, which allows visitors to Turkey to purchase gold and diamond products at prices lower than the UK due to tax free allowances and low labour costs. We subsequently were taken to a restaurant and boarded two small but uncramped) boats which would take us to the rest of the sights. The boat initially took us to the local mud bath and thermal spa renowned for making participants feel ten years younger! Once you have got over the initial peculiar feeling of getting into the mud bath, it is a great excuse to get muddy and throw clay at each other. After drying off and crisping up nicely, you are invited to shower off or jump in the lake. We both took the lake option which was surprisingly warm and sped up the cleansing process no end! We were then directed to the thermal bath which was located inside a domed building and was one of the most relaxing (if slightly smelly) experiences ever! After twenty minutes, we reboarded our boat and returned to the restaurant for a buffet lunch of mezzes, fish, chicken and rice. We subsequently returned to the boat and sailed around to view the breathtaking Lycian tombs in the rockface and some of the ruins of the abandoned city of Caunos. Absolutely not to be missed! After some photo opportunities, we continued our journey around to Turtle Beach where there was a chance to spot some turtles attracted by local fisherman who throw blue crab into the marshes.We were told however, that on windy days the turtles are far less likely to appear. Turtle Beach has an entrance fee of 2.5 lira which is payable separately and goes towards the preservation of the area for this amazing species. Turtle Beach is one of the rare beaches in this area of Turkey which is purely sand (no small pebbles) and visitors are able to walk out quite some way without getting out of their depth (highly recommended). After a truly lovely couple of hours, we departed Turtle Beach in our boats and were dropped off in Dalyan to our coach. We began the journey back to our hotels which we briefly punctuated with a break at the "Ley Ley" cafe which has storks, ostrichs and terrapins in the back garden. We were eventually dropped back at our hotel at about 7:30pm, in plenty of time to prepare for our departure from the hotel. One special mention must go to Joseph, the Pioneer Travel guide. His approach was ever so enthusiastic and infectious and completely made the trip (we were also very lucky with our boat captain who took genuine pride in his local area).


Other things to mention

We know we have gone on and on thus far, but we really wanted to also briefly mention a restaurant and bar which we highly recommend. Firstly, we had a lovely, authentic Turkish meal at The Leaves restaurant in Hisaronu. The service is impeccable in this owner, operated establishment. Trust us, it is worth the extra lira to sample some wonderful Turkish food without all the European trappings such as chips and ketchup. Secondly, the best sunset award has to go to Harry's Bar in Olu Deniz. This bar/restaurant is built on two floors over a shop at the end of the main shopping street nearest the beach. If you are just having a drink, you will be directed up to the top level, which provides comfy sofas and really relaxing surroundings to watch the para-sailers and sunset. A perfect way to end the day!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

Writing this review from the hotel to try and get rid of some pent up frustration in not being able to get a good night's sleep.

Emailed Leyla ahead of our arrival letting her know that this was a special occasion for my partner and I and requested a double bed (rather than twin beds). Got a reply back the same day saying "It's OK".

Arrived to find that it wasn't in fact "ok" - we were shown to a room with 2 singles beds. Asked Leyla to move us to a room with a double bed and immediately noticed a change in her demeanor. It appeared that we'd become trouble makers! She went on about how the hotel was fully booked and not to ask her requests like this.

Tried to make the most of the situation by pushing the two single beds together. Woke up the next morning with pins and needles in my arm and a sore back.

Tried to figure out why I was so stiff when I saw what I hadn't noticed before going to bed - one of the beds was lower than the other by about 10cms!! Both beds were the same make so we pulled back the sheets to find that one of the beds was brand new while the other was so old that it was broken and sagging the whole right side of the bed.

Complained to Leyla but again was told that with the hotel full what did we expect her to do? She told us that in the recent renovation that about 20 (out of 60 rooms) had been given new beds. Not sure if this was meant to appease us that we both didn't get broken beds. Was brought a replacement bed from out under the building that had apparently been earmarked to be destroyed. This was a little better - we only had to make do with a huge bottom sag.

In the morning we queued up behind another couple who were also trying to sort out a problem they had with the hotel. We told Leyla that this situation with the bed still wasn't up to scratch. The bare minimum you expect from a hotel is a good night's sleep and I was still waking up a couple of times every night uncomfortable. She said she'd have the maid put some blankets on top of the mattress to even up the heights of the beds. We pointed out that people were leaving the hotel that day and why couldn't she move one of their new mattresses into our room. Her response: It wouldn't be fair to the new people arriving today to have to sleep on our defective mattress. The implication was that it was perfectly fine for us though to keep sleeping on the mattress!! In compromise she said that some more people would be leaving on Friday and our mattress would be swapped out.

It's now Friday night (we arrived on Monday) and guess what? We're still stuck with the same sagging bed looking forward to the prospect of another night of poor sleep.

In summary, I cannot see the point of having spent so much on renovating the place (and it does look nice) when only 1/3 of the beds were replaced. Why gamble on a good night's sleep with such poor odds as that. We feel that our complaints have been brushed aside by Leyla as we didn't spend enough money at the pool - and why would you want to with such inflated prices.

The pros: Nice swimming pool; good location (but to be fair, any hotel on the road running from Fethiye to Olu Deniz has the same transport benefits as the dolmus, local bus, will stop anywhere you signal).
The cons: belligerent management, old/defective beds

Have taken some photos of the bed to remind us why when we return to Turkey we wont be coming back to the Leytur.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

We have just returned from our stay at the Leytur Hotel and would like to say that we were very disapointed (after reading all the glowing reviews on tripadvisor) with our stay. This was due entirely to the poor attitute of the staff - the maids and the gardener were lovely and always had a smile and made you feel welcome. The rest of the staff in paticular the owner just ignored us for the majority of our stay. This was due to the fact that we like to go out of the hotel and explore and eat at different places - this seems to not please the staff at this hotel and you are then not made welcome. I saw the owner stood with her regulars and was asking them to put reviews on this site whilst stood next to them. On a positive note the rooms/pool are clean but would be alot better if you had a fridge in your room and you did not feel like you were being spyed on all of the time in case you brought in your own water for your room!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leytur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leytur Hotel

Address: Ovacik Mah., Oludeniz, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oludeniz
#10 Family Hotel in Oludeniz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Leytur Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Leytur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leytur Hotel Ovacik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leytur Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.