We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun and friendly hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Karbel Sun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Karbel Sun to your Saves list
Hotel Karbel Sun
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Belcekiz Mevki Kidrak Yolu | Üzeri, Oludeniz, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 103 Hotels in Oludeniz
Glasgow, Scotland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“fun and friendly hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2008

The hotel was small and simple but very good! The rooms were small but had everything that we needed, beds weren't very comfortable but on holiday you don't really sleep very much so that didn't matter. Air conditioning was spot on and the cleaners were nice and friendly along with the rest of the bar staff/waiters especially Fatih who was hyper most mornings and all day! The manager Ali was really helpful, would definitly come back to Olu Deniz or neighbouring Hisaronu! If anyone is visiting the Karbel Sun Hotel in the future they have to visit the local Rose Garden Bar as it is a good laugh and cheap!

  • Liked — the pool area and its location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    158
    62
    13
    14
See reviews for
89
241
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2008

My wife and I have just come back from our 2 week holiday where we stayed in the Karbel Sun and all we can say is "WHEN CAN WE GO BACK?" The place is just fantastic. Ali (Whom you wil read alot about in the other reviews) is the heartbeat f the Karbel Sun, he will learn your name and he is one of the most charming men I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. There is Jan (Watch out for his watergun!!) and Memhet behind the bar who will talk and laugh with you all day. The rooms are on the small side but at the end of the day you are paying for a 2 star hotel what else can you expect. The tempertures there were like nothing we have experienced before, some days it it got over 50, this was due to a forest fire some 40-50 miles away but it easlier got over 40 celcius every other day.

I would recommend this hotel for it's friendly staff, it's beautiful view of the moutains and it's charming setting. We will be going back as will alot of the people who we met on this trip.

  • Liked — That it was cleaned every day
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karbel sun
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2008

we have just returned from having a great time at the karbel
sun hotel in olu deniz. i would like to thank ali and his staff in particular jan (wow) and mehmet the pool bar staff for giving us a laugh from start to finish.i would certainly reccomend anyone stopping here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2008

We have just finished a 10 day stay at the Karbel Sun Hotel in Olu Deniz and we couldn't have asked for a friendlier or cleaner hotel. Mehmet and co. were always there for anything we needed.

  • Liked — How friendly the staff were
  • Disliked — Cant think of anything
  • Stayed July 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2008

Just returned from Olu Deniz where we stayed at the excellent Hotel karbel Sun.
This was our second visit to this hotel having stayed there in 2006 and we were determined to return.
This is just an excellent little hotel which we cannot recommend enough.
Ali the manager is as helpful and friendly as you could want, always willing to take timeout for a chat.
All the hotel staff are ready with a smile, with a special mention for George the gardener!
Everywhere in this hotel is always clean and tidy especially the pool area.
The rooms are simply furnished with good bathrooms comfortable beds, TV and the essential air conditioning!
We just love Olu Deniz.....great selection of bars and restaurants, all the Turkish people are really friendly....and no they are not just after your money...we met real friends here.
Can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — The location and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Leaving!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2008

My friend and I have just returned from 8 nights at the Karbel Sun Hotel. We booked directly with the Hotel and the Hotel Manager, Ali, was quick to respond and helpful. He organised our room booking and private transfers from the airport...I think we got quite a bargain!

We arrived very early in the morning and were taken straight to our room. We were pleased with what we found - apart from the fact they had given us a double rather than a twin. They changed our room the following morning and were very apologetic.

The room is fairly basic but has everything you could need and is cleaned daily. The only bad thing is that the bed linen and towels are very stiff and scratchy. If I were to go again I would definately take my own towels.

The Hotel pool is quite impressive for a fairly small hotel. There are plenty of sun loungers and shady areas. The poolside bar serves drinks and snacks throughout the day and the food we had was quite good.

The beach is a 5-10 minutes walk and is very pretty. We found 2 great restaurants on the beach front - Buzz Bar (great for lunch) and Bella Gusto.

Overall, this is a great little hotel. The staff are friendly (if not a little over enthusiastic) and the rooms are well eqipped and clean. I would definately recommend this Hotel.

  • Liked — Its proximity to the beach
  • Disliked — The sandpaper-like towels and linen
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2008

We have just returned from a week at the Karbel Sun on Olu Deniz, and we had a fantastic time. The Hotel is just as reported in other reviews - very clean, great location (5 mins walk to beach past all the shops and bars), friendly staff, lovely pool area with ample sunbeds.

The rooms are small but fine, with free aircon, TV with BBC news & CNN if you need to keep up with the world, nice shower room and loo, and small balcony.

The endless reports complaining about the breakfast really irritated me - go to one of the many local places that serve this if you want a full cooked breakfast, and only £3/4. Otherwise just accept that the Turks have freshly baked bread, olives, jam, cheese, honey, marmalade, fresh melon, tea or coffee, cornflakes - perfectly acceptable for most normal people.

The public areas are spotless with beautifully tended gardens, immaculate swimming pool, comfortable sunbeds, and clean toilets.

The only slight issue was that if the prices at the pool bar for food and drink were more competitive, then more people would stay there during the day.

Overall a great place and we would recommend it and probably go back next year.

Chris & Diane - Nottingham

  • Liked — Spotlessly clean, great location, friendly staff, free aircon.
  • Disliked — Price of drinks & food at the pool bar, not extortionate, but not cheap enough.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Karbel Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Karbel Sun

Address: Belcekiz Mevki Kidrak Yolu | Üzeri, Oludeniz, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Oludeniz
#42 Romantic Hotel in Oludeniz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Karbel Sun 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Karbel Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karbel Sun Hotel
Karbel Sun Oludeniz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Karbel Sun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.