We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel but freezing pool” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Karbel Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Karbel Hotel to your Saves list
Karbel Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   KIdrak Cd. Belcegiz Mahallesi | no:10 Ölüdeniz, Oludeniz 48300, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 103 Hotels in Oludeniz
England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“nice hotel but freezing pool”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel was lovely nicely decorated nice food lovely staff but has couple down sides too.
Arrived at about 1-2am the room given was a basement room that was dirty dank damp and smelt. Due to time and being shattered just went to bed, but sorted in morning. There was quite a few people at the reception desk in the morning complaining of same thing and turns out that they give the rooms on arrival till the next lot of people leave the next day. The staff were amazing about it, very friendly and nothing was to much trouble and was moved to a much better room that morning.
The pool area is nice but I only attempted going in once due to the temperature of the water, it was like ice! I made sure to go fully under the water and made no difference. It was October when we went and not cold at all. It really ruined it for me as i like a good dip in a pool.
The hotel is situated close to the beach but to get there you go by lots of shops , restaurants and bar which are fab. Amazing food.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    287
    119
    32
    14
See reviews for
224
423
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Overall quite happy with the hotel,nice,clean and tidy. Not far from the beautiful beach and blue Lagoon. Lots to do during the day around the local area and well worth a visit.

We really enjoyed the paragliding if you're not scared of heights then go for it,you'll love it!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed here for 2 wks it was great. Shadows bar and n-joy and a little bar called dreams is s must. Staff at hotel are friendly pool area is great so relaxing. Food is good too. Josephs resteruant is a must. If you go to beach watch out for paragliders they land in all directions lol. Hisaronu is the next town great night life just a bus journey about ten min if there is a few of you you can get taxi all in all agreat holiday cant wait to go back !!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

First time in karbel,would come back, lovely staff cant do enough for u,comfy bed,lovely shower,great location lovely food,
Best food in oludeniz,went to hisaronu sunset bar no good,but good for silver cazandchris

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Was very disappointed in this hotel and can't believe that Thomsons endorse the place.
The room we had was absolutely tiny, the cushions had plainly never been cleaned and were badly stained (as was every cushion on every sunbed by the pool) an absolute Oasis for germs.
The bathrooms were tiny and the shower cubicle was barely big enough for a full grown adult. All the furniture was very rickety and was plainly past its best despite us being told we were in a "new" room. The first time my son tried to use the shower the door fell off, at this point I went to reception to complain about the room and request another one. The woman on reception said "Nothing I can do, see the Thomsons rep" this was on the Monday, the Thomson's rep didnt arrive until Wednesday,
I also tried to book a late checkout room, instead of taking my room number and booking it for me, the reception staff kept telling me they couldn't arrange it till the morning of departure. On the morning of departure I got up especially early in order to book it, only to be told to come back in two hours. Hardly customer service although I considered myself an inmate rather than a customer as that was how we were treated.
This was particularly apparent at meal times when we had to queue for long periods only to get "school dinner" type food. Needless to say I would not recommend the half board option! Olu Deniz has some lovely restaurants as an alternative. The less said about breakfast the better, suffice to say I don't consider cold boiled eggs and stale bread breakfast!!
Safety is also a worry at this hotel as the pool area becomes the equivalent of a skating rink when wet, we saw several people fall over and it is only a matter of time before someone does themselves serious damage. To be fair to the hotel their are warnings but it is almost impossible to walk round the pool without losing your footing.
On the plus side the bar staff are quite friendly but the drinks are overpriced in the bar so it kind of negates that.
Olu Deniz is a nice enough area but I would definately avoid the Karbel. We had a lovely turkish bath at the Turquoise Hotel down the road and were extremely jealous of the people that chose that hotel instead of ours.

Room Tip: Chose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarbelHotels, Manager at Karbel Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest ,
Thank you for your feedback which has brought to our attention to clarify a few things about Karbel.
The room you were allocated is a dbl bedded with permanent sofa which is in agreement due to contract with the tour operator.
The breakfast is Turkish continantel open buffet style as stated in the holiday brochures .With regard to your comments about the food,we are proud to be in partnership with Travel life Taste of Fethiye using only locally grown ,fresh procudes.

During your stay we did not have any incidents/or accidents reported to us.As you mentioned we do have warning signs in place around the pool and hotel area at all times.

The holiday advisor of Tui Uk is present in the hotel 6 days of the week ,6 hours per day as the information board states clearly in the reception area

It is a shame that during your stay ,you did not feel the need to complain to neither reception ,hotel management or holiday advisor that you would have given us an oppotunity to resolve your issues at that time.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

we went too turkey in aug for 10days and this was the first time we had been too turkey and hotel kabel and its staff and location was excellent , no complaints with the hotel ,the only down side was the breakfast same every day if your didnt like eggs your choice was limited ,but that me i not keen on fruit ,cheese ham,etc for breakfast,also rooms have no tea/coffee making facilities ,but you can buy a little kettle for 8 turkish lira about £ 3.50 from the supermarket next door so i could have my tea first thing in the morning ,but he-ho i still be returning next year

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trim Co. Meath
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed here for a week this June. Thought the ,were a bit on the small side, but we soon adapted and we were out most of the day anyway! The bathroom is small, but spotless,and plenty of clean towels. Loved the lay out of the hotel with all the little paths and lots of greenery. Beautiful outdoor dining over the pool surrounded by lush mountains and between the beautiful sunset and the rising Super Moon, there was a beautiful atmosphere for evening dining. As the other reviews say, this hotel is at the top of the strip, but this is good as it's quiet at night. The strip is pamper heaven with lots of nail bars, hair dressers, massage and beauty shops and fish pedicures for a very reasonable price. The beach at Oludeniz is spectacular, and this resort is so unspoilt with lots of returning holiday makers and no rough element at all. If you want more Bar Street you go to the other resort up the hill outside Oludeniz. Great entertainment at the poolside in the evening, and the Thomson reps have regular pub quizzes which is a bit of fun. Out of all the hotels in Oludeniz, I think this one ticks all the boxes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Karbel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karbel Hotel

Address: KIdrak Cd. Belcegiz Mahallesi | no:10 Ölüdeniz, Oludeniz 48300, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Oludeniz
#44 Family Hotel in Oludeniz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Karbel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Karbel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karbel Hotel Oludeniz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karbel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.