We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luck of the draw...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Karbel Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Karbel Hotel to your Saves list
Karbel Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   KIdrak Cd. Belcegiz Mahallesi | no:10 Ölüdeniz, Oludeniz 48300, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 105 Hotels in Oludeniz
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Luck of the draw...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Be warned. We booked our Holiday with Thomson months ago and were really looking forward to it. We arrived on the sunday evening and were shown to our room (see photo) on the ground floor of block 7 . We were dumbstruck. It took a few minutes for it to sink in. The room we had been allocated was very small, dark and had a musty smell to it. The beds would not be out of place on a landfill site. The 'balcony' was hardly big enough to fit two plastic garden chairs on. The 'view' was of a concrete wall. To say we were devastated would be a major understatement.
I went to the reception desk and said (very calmly) that we were not happy with the room and wanted to be moved. The lady behind the desk explained that there were full and there were no rooms available until the Tuesday. I walked back the room to find my partner in tears and water dripping through the ceiling in the bathroom.
I went back to reception and explained that we really couldn't stay in the room and even offered to pay to be moved but she still insisted that they had no free rooms. Even their sister hotel (Karbel Beach) was full and there was nothing that could be done. She then suggested that I speak to the Thomson rep. I explained that situation to the rep, but she didn't even want to go and see the room as she obvisouly knew exactly what was going on. She said it was the luck of the draw when the hotel was full! When we both went over to the reception desk, a few words were said and a knowing glance and they then agreed between them that we could move on Monday instead. I went back to the room again and found my partner very upset and worked up to the point that she seriously wanted to just get on a plane and go home.
When I went back to the reception for the third time and explained that we could not stop in the room and wanted to find another hotel for the night. Neither the reception staff or Thomson rep did anything to help. The best they offered was 'go and have a walk and see if you can find a room somewhere else'. So we did. Stopped in a lovely hotel just round the corner called The Blue Lagoon and payed under 40 quid for a nights B&B. Went back at 12:00 the next day and was moved to a much better room on the 2nd floor of block 7.
From what I can gather, they have a whole load of sub-standard rooms that they use almost as holding areas until the nicer rooms are available. If you complain, you will eventually get moved. If you don't complain, then they are quids in. It all seems like a bit of a scam to fill the hotel and keep using rooms and furniture that is old and dilapidated. During the welcome talk, the rep said that some guests have been coming for over 20 years and I suspect that they probably stayed in block 7 twenty years ago and though it was great. Unfortunately, those rooms today are just not up to scratch. And how Thomson can say it a 3T+ rated hotel when this sort of thing is going on, I do not know.
In all fairness, it's not a bad hotel, nice staff and good food but the horrible start to our holiday just killed it for us.
Right, next stop Thomson complaints page!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    290
    119
    33
    14
See reviews for
226
427
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Myself and boyfriend have just returned from our holiday we found our stay at the hotel excellent all staff made us feel so welcome and they are so helpfull they couldn't do enough for us we made very good friends with omer and taco (the deli boys) chef is such a lovely man and his food is very good we have no complaints all staff, location and hotel excellent we miss everyone already we can't wait to return to the karbel sun

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

First time visiting Olu Deniz. Stayed at the Karbel for a week, and got back this morning. I have been going to Turkey for the last 12 years. I have, over the years, stayed in some hell holes. I cannot find one thing to fault this hotel. Everywhere was immaculately clean, rooms were very basic, but very clean and fit for purpose. Air con is free (normally this is chargeable locally). Safety deposit box was a tenner for the week.
All the staff are very friendly and polite, and never once hassled us, yet were always there if we needed anything. lunch time they always did kebabs, or BBQs, 12 till 3pm, and 10 lira each (£3.10p) bargain!
we didn't expect the Hilton, as we had booked the holiday as a cheap last minute break. I have over the years, paid 3 times as much as this holiday cost, and stayed in filthy hotels. Karbel is a lovely hotel, and cant fault it. We were bed and breakfast, which was basic but good. Al a carte menu in the evening was very good, and there were always offers everyday on certain drinks.
Olu Deniz was very nice but I would not go back. Its very small, and you get to know the area in a day, as it is very small. Compared to other areas of Turkey, we found Olu Deniz to be very pricey. Evening meal for 2, with a drink each, come to approx. £35. Compared to home this isn't much different, but other parts of the country offer the same at a fraction of the price.
As we were bed and breakfast, we took £900 spending money for the week, and spent the lot. We didn't buy anything apart from 3 trips (£50 for 2 adults to do 3 trips). All our money was spent on evening meal, and drinks. Blue Lagoon is well worth a visit. 6 lira each admission (about £2.20) and 21 lira to hire 2 sunbeds and a parasol (£8), but its a lovely place to visit.
Trips are same as everywhere else in Turkey.
Overall a lovely break, which was relaxing, but for us, a couple in our 30s, not much to do at the evening, Hisaranu is only up the hill, and night life seems more lively.
Cant fault Karbel, and would definitely recommend it. the area just wasn't our cup of tea, but the hotel was fab!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I will start with the good points at the Karbel - clean hotel and facilities,friendly staff esspecially waiters and barstaff. Good location at top of strip with mountain views just 10 mins to beach. Lovely reception area with baby blue sofas and lots of cushions,great place to chill. Free wifi in lobby and pool area and if your room is close to pool you can pick up wifi on your balcony. No problem getting a sunbed,we went down at 2pm and got beds,pool lovely but gets very busy,could do with a 2nd or bigger pool.
Not so good points - rooms are very small not like the brochure pic and don't expect to get the room you requested. We got a ground floor room facing a wall with no sun,everyone walking past and looking in,could not relax on balcony like i usually do on my hols. Shower cubicle tiny, had to step outside as no room to manoeuvre. Rooms are clean but our one had a musky smell to it. Air con wasnt great,just felt like a fan and hairdryer is rubbish,quicker to dry in sun. We paid 1p to upgrade to half board with Thomson which I'm glad that's all it cost as food not good and we ate out a few times as so many lovely restaurants in Olu Deniz. Overall a pleasant and relaxing holiday and may comsider returning if the price was right but bed and breakfast only. So much to do and see in Olu Deniz you will not get bored. If there was one negative about this place it would be some of the men hassling and oggling at my 16 year old daughter. It was constant and got too much and eventually we had to walk down backstreets to avoid them. Would highly recommend doing jeep safari with mud bath and having a Turkish bath at the beginning of your holiday. Also a visit to one of the beaches at the lagoon is a must,we liked Seahorse and Billy's. Weather was scorching 42-44 everyday and the main beach is beautiful,we spent many days there but you must get beach shoes as very pebbly and sea can get rough.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanage, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

we have just come back from a week at the Karbel Hotel in Oludeniz,the Hotel is in a good position close to shops and bars.
We found the hotel staff all very friendly and helpful.
The rooms were nicely decorated very clean, and the bathroom had been newly refurbished.
the hotel is quite big so we were pleasantly surprised how quiet the room was.
The only negative things to say about the hotel the room was very small and the beds were very hard and breakfast was not good! we have stayed in turkey before so we know the breakfasts are basic, but this was very basic. cheese, spice meat,tomatoes,cucumber, olives apricots,water melon
rolls and toast. there were hard boiled eggs and one day scrambled but if you wanted any thing else you had to pay extra. On the whole we did like the Hotel and if you want a better breakfast there are plenty of very good places to eat in town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed at Karbel Hotel twice now. I absolutely love it, would never stay at a different hotel. The bar staff are such a laugh,Kadir,Mustafa,Zeki, Ersoy, Eric, Ozzy, Recep and Mumma. They are always joking around. They just make your holiday brilliant. I have got to mention zeki's dancing as well. He will make you cry with laughter. The entertainment is very good. They nearly always have some sort of entertainment if it is even just the boys dancing on the bar. I will definitely be going back next year. The boy's in the restaurant are a great laugh also. The hotel is always tidy and lovely. The cleaners do a great job in your room. They make swans and ducks out of the towels and put pretty petals on your beds. You feel special as soon as you walk in the hotel. If you have any problems while you are there they will always help you straight away. The food is always lovely. It was alot better this year, There was a lot of different meals in the evening. The breakfast was lovely also. The watermelon was the top noch. The air conditioning is a life saver. This holiday is for all ages, couples, families, friends and solo. Everyone is friendly they will make you holiday brilliant. Durmus who is the bar and restaurant manager is lovely as well. He will always help you. Everything is on your door step. Beach is a 5 minute walk away. Restaurants are down the strip which is as soon as you walk out of your hotel. Lots of bar's are down the strip as well. The pool is lovely always clean, there are lots of sunbeds. Make sure you get down there in the morning to get your sunbed. Don’t expect to come at 2 o’clock in a big party and get sunbeds. The boy's will try and find them for you if you’re lucky you may get some. Each time we have been we have meet some lovely family’s and couples. I really do recommend this hotel. There are lots of lovely trips Jeep Safari, Boat Trips, Mud Bath, Turkish bath. I would recommend them all. You would not regret booking it. It is an awesome holiday!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed at Karbel several times most recently In July, you cannot fault the hotel and the staff are amazing and very funny, they can't do enough for you. I am returning next year without a doubt the best place to go. Food is lovely and entertainment is good. A place for couples/families and single people.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the pool are very nice however if you want peace and quiet choose a room at the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Karbel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karbel Hotel

Address: KIdrak Cd. Belcegiz Mahallesi | no:10 Ölüdeniz, Oludeniz 48300, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Oludeniz
#43 Family Hotel in Oludeniz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Karbel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Karbel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karbel Hotel Oludeniz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karbel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.