We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE HOTEL, SHAME ABOUT THE RECEPTIONIST” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Lagoon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Blue Lagoon to your Saves list
Blue Lagoon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oludeniz Beach, Oludeniz 48300, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 103 Hotels in Oludeniz
staffordshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“NICE HOTEL, SHAME ABOUT THE RECEPTIONIST”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

We stayed at the Blue Lagoon Hotel from the 24th June, 2011 for two weeks. We read before arriving that the hotel had been refurbished and relaunched itself as a 'DELUXE'
hotel.

We were taken to our room 104 which was in the basement part of the hotel. The room was shabby, and dull and in desperate need of refurbishment. The top cover on the bed looked like it had been used on numerous picnic before ending up on our bed. Under the set out draws either side of the bed was masses of dust and rubbish. We went to reception to ask if we could be moved. There was a young girl on reception and the receptionist, we asked could we be moved. the head receptionistI smirked, said something to the young girl and walked off. I could not believe how rude she was, I went over to her and asked again, would it be possible to move rooms, she told us that it was not on that day, but come back in the morning after 9.30 and she would have a look, she then just walked off again. I asked the young girl to get the housekeeper to come and clean away the dust and rubbish from under the draws. This happened immediately. The next day we decided that we had unpacked and could not be bothered with the hassle of moving. Loads of guests were moving rooms during the course of our holiday.

My next encounter with the rude receptionist was four days before we were due to leave I noticed that our bed linen was damp. I went to reception and informed her. Her reply was 'why', my reply to her was I don't know you tell me. She then said something in turksih to the young reception and laughted and told me to leave the patio door open and she would get the housekeeper to change our linen. The only problem with this was that we were on street level and anyone could just walk into our room. We did however leave the window wide open and this seems to solve the problem.

I can honestly say that I have never met anyone as rude as this lady. Lots of guests in the hotel were moaning about her attitude towards them.

The public areas and the pool area were very nice, but you had to get up quite early to get a sunbed. We got fed up of this and went to the beach most days.

The hotel has some deluxe bedrooms, but do not make the mistake of assuming that all the hotel is deluxe, majority of the bedrooms are basic.

I would not stay at this hotel again, been Olu Deiniz quite a few times, the resort is fanastic and have stayed at far better value for money hotels. The Blue Lagoon is not 'Deluxe' .

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    134
    64
    23
    16
See reviews for
75
250
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011 via mobile

We had a lovely welcome to the hotel even at 4am by the night receptionist. Hotel is situated in a great position, only a few minutes walk to the main strip. Hotel is extremely clean, our room was cleaned daily, and the areas around the pool and bar were spotless! All staff went out of their way to ensure we had a great holiday, and we will be returning without a doubt! We also had a free air-con, which was a lifesaver! We booked our excursions with Focus Tours and they were perfect (located just on the main strip)! I wasn't sure which type of money to take, but found that taking around £100 with us in lira and the rest in English was the best idea! The hotel has a safe which is very secure, and the exchange rate on the strip was really good compared to back home and we just changed money as we needed it! I could carry on writing as I enjoyed it so much! Defonitly worth a visit!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

all staff seemed very uninterested and made to effort to welcome us. seems that this george chooses who he talks to, maybe he didn't like the look of us, didn't speak a word to us the whole week..infact no one did in the whole resort. very unusual for turkey.

great hotel though, lovely pool. compliments to the maid, she was brilliant. room tidied everyday. breakfast was better than i've experienced elsewhere in turkey. pancakes,boiled eggs, cold meat, feta cheese, olives, cucumber, tomato, bread and even a toaster! :) (normally its just olives, bread, cheese and tomato)

didn't experience any night time noise (maybe because it was still early season though)

all in all, nice hotel. shame its let down by staff. thats the only reason i wouldn't stay here again.

didn't think much of olu deniz itself. beautiful place, yes, but lacking any turkish feel. very british. no turks really chatted/joked which is very, very unusual. seems this place has been ruined by tourism. shame. not true turkey.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

We have just arrived back from a week at the Blue Lagoon and loved it!!!
The staff are very helful, pool area is great for relaxing around (always get a sunbed), rooms are clean and showers have hot water. We could not have asked for more and came back from our week very relaxed.
Olu Deniz is a quiet resort mainly for couples and young families. If you are looking for nightlife this is not the place for you.
The beaches are lovely abd the hotel arranges a free shutle bus to the three beaches by the lagoon - we visited Billys Beach and the staff at the bar were lovely and friendly
All in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a quiet, relaxing week away from home

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

I visited in June 2011 for B&B. Overall a very nice hotel. As one expects there was a problem, but only one. This was on arrival when the night reception staff failed to respond to a room problem in reasonable time.
Other than that a very good hotel, very clean, good breakfast, friendly staff, good large pool and adjoining kiddies pool, plenty of sunbeds etc etc.
Be aware that late booking-out is £20 up to 5pm and £30 up to 8pm. As a solo traveller I'm sure that is more than I paid per day for B&B! Also the beach is very sharp sand with some small pebbles making footware essential. If you want a quiet good value meal (but not cordon bleu) away from the main drag and the seafront try the Rose Garden Restaurant q.v.(from the hotel, down the hill, take first right).
I just can not agree with those reviwers that rated the hotel poor or less. I can accept that some people will have problems with the balcony. The hotel, being built in sepate blocks, has some, particularly in ground floor rooms, that do not have a good outlook, This didn't worry me - I spent spare time during the day beside the pool.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

The room was fresh and clean, and spacious. Very big shower cubicle with a good shower head! The evenings by the hotel bar overlooking the pool were relaxing and friendly. All the staff were really brilliant.

We had a couple of queries at the start of our stay which were sorted out really quickly by staff in a friendly and helpful manner.

The hotel Turkish night is definitely not to be missed. Beware if you are only out there for a week as they put it on different nights each week. Its free if you are on half board. All the staff join in led by George, it is a great night "in".

We said we wouldn't really go back to a hotel twice but we think the "Blue Lagoon" is the exception rather than the rule.

Room Tip: When you book for the hottest summer months, its worth prepaying for aircon or having it included in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sidcup
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

Just returned from a week at the Blue Lagoon hotel , We had a fabulous time , the room was amazing ( room 303 ) extremely clean and spacious ,more like a 5 star room, it opened out right by the pool.
We will be returning next year for sure , and this time will attend the turkish night which we missed as we had arranged to meet some friends that night.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful , the location is spot on , away from the noisey night life but a 3 minute walk to the main drag .
Breakfast was buffet style and a good variation of food and very tastey and always replenished and fresh
Thank you George and staff we will see you next year ,

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lagoon

Address: Oludeniz Beach, Oludeniz 48300, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Oludeniz
#43 Romantic Hotel in Oludeniz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Lagoon 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Lagoon Oludeniz
Blue Lagoon Hotel Oludeniz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.